If one person or two people...

…from a particular family are not so nice to you but others are…how would you deal with it?

Would you just do away with the whole family because two people are rude or be nice to those that are nice to you?

Its all one damn family…one sibling is mean and the other is kinda nice.

Haaaaalp…I don’t know when to snap and when not.

If I drop one drop of cow pee in a pitcher full of lemonade, will you drink the lemonade or totally avoid it?

Re: If one person or two people...

I would talk to the nice one and stay away from the mean one.

be nice to ALL and expect a great reward from Allah...if NOT possible then practice "tit for tat" attitude. :) jaise ko taisa! :)

Re: If one person or two people…

Yiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiikes…kya jawab diya hai! LOL :cb:

Its what I am doing right now but I feel like a confused kid all the time now

Yeah, being nice to these people isn’t getting me anywhere.

And by snapping, I don’t mean real snapping. I mean avoidance. I cannot snap back…no matter how much I tell myself…I forget or maybe I am shocked. So I stay quiet…that is my rudeness and my snapping and my anger all in one.

Try to do that. Sometimes it works....sometimes it doesn't. depends on circumstances.........comes down to the level of hate for the mean vs the level of love for the unmean one.

I don't do away with the whole family. I keep the difficult person at a polite distance. In the case of relatives or in-laws you can't do away with the whole family; you just adjust your interactions.

The mean one wants you to snap, so why stoop to her low expectations? You can try to bridge the gap with a kind gesture though it's not necessary. I tried this recently and it worked, other times it doesn't. But don't snap at the mean one because siblings tend to be defensive of one another and it can strain your friendship. Keep calm and let her embarrass herself and her family with her rudeness. Even if you choose to drop the whole family, do it without snapping or drama.

Reha, my example may seem funny, but what I meant is that in a possible situation of ending up in a big issue with the mean person, the nicer sibling will take his/her sibling's side. At the end, woh dono saath ho jaain ge aur aap mounh dekhti reh jaain gee. When you know that your relationship with the nicer prison is pseudo, then why continue it. I won't.

If one person or two people...

Don't let one bad apple spoil the whole bunch. Especially when you can effectively remove the offending fruit.

If the nice person is genuinely nice to you and wants to continue friendship, then you shouldn't break it off. Don't share too much personal details, but do stay in touch.

If the nice person indeed one day decides to ditch you for his sibling, then so be it. It says something about his personality and not about yours. Nahi te na sahi.

Why need to be a Dale Carnegie for no reason. You don’t need to ditch the person, but distance yourself from her

agree! Just act nice to them regardless.

This is very true and exactly what I fear I guess. Me separating the two and treating them according to how they treat me might not really help me in the future.

I always think this way...but if it came down to it...where would the nicer parties' loyalties lie? Not with me right?

It depends on how close you are to the nicer person. How often you see them both. Personally, I wouldn't mind continuing to talk to the nicer person if I end up running into them somewhere. However, I would not go out of my way to become "friends" with them. Don't share anything with the nicer one that you wouldn't want the "unfriendly" one to know. There is no harm in treating them in a nice and polite manner as that reflects on the type of person you are.

its not a big deal if you're friends with one person in the family and not as friendly with the other person. As long as you're not openly hostile to each other you can just keep a distance with the relative you don't like and share more with the one you do. That being said chances are if there ever is some kind of confrontation then the siblings will stick together.