Musharraf is gone, who is going to be in power? There is a political consensus that it should not be some other military leader. So we’re left with the political parties like PPP and PML. These parties will have to form coalition govt. with religious or regional parties.
The questions I want people to answer are:
1- Will the next opposition learn to work and cooperate with the next govt.? Or will they revive their old enmities and try their best to undermine their opponents through every possible means, completely ignoring national interest?
2- Will every political party hold free, fair and transparent elections within its ranks to choose the party president/chairperson? And will these elections, if held, continue to choose the same leaders as their presidents and chairpersons? Why can’t PTI be led by someone other than Imran, PML by someone other than Sharifs, MQM by someone other than Altaf, and PPP by someone who is not Bhutto?
I hate the JI with a unbridled passion, but for all it negatives, which far outweigh its postives, I have heard that the JI has a rather democratic setup, I may be wrong.
I would put my money on PTI of Imran Khan, although im not quite sure if that will ever happen...
Honestly, anyone other then BB or NS would suffice.
Just as long as they have a good team and will conintue for the part where Musharaf left of in terms of the economy. Ofcourse they would need to tweek things here and there.
Musharraf gone is more in sense of assisnation. He will loose power but will be a political force for next 4-6 years. No party supports him being President and also wear the uniform, so he loose consensus on that plat form. If there is a "gone" moment, the vacum will be filled until the coming election. Problem will be huge for Pakistan, we are going through a tough time right now, which is Talibinization of our country. Anything said against them is reaction from suicide bombers. I do not know who will fight the battle against the extremist after Musharraf because it takes lot of guts to go after them. I think the coming parties will give up, make a deal and let them prosper even further, which means them coming back to Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad. Economy is more in the sense of business having confidence in our market. I do not see any parties have the same respect from International community like this government.
In short, we will go through a troubulent time until someone rescues us.
Musharraf is gone, who is going to be in power? There is a political consensus that it should not be some other military leader. So we're left with the political parties like PPP and PML. These parties will have to form coalition govt. with religious or regional parties.
The questions I want people to answer are:
1- Will the next opposition learn to work and cooperate with the next govt.? Or will they revive their old enmities and try their best to undermine their opponents through every possible means, completely ignoring national interest?
2- Will every political party hold free, fair and transparent elections within its ranks to choose the party president/chairperson? And will these elections, if held, continue to choose the same leaders as their presidents and chairpersons? Why can't PTI be led by someone other than Imran, PML by someone other than Sharifs, MQM by someone other than Altaf, and PPP by someone who is not Bhutto?
PPP in power with some alliance with PML, ANP etc, MMA and MQM in opposition. Imran would be a wildcard and non aligned.
Army will always have a big say in Pakistani politics. The quicker people realize the ground realities the better.
true, even BB and NS whine about how when they were in power they really were not in power because while they were free to do loot khasoot, they were limited in what they can do due to military power. so either they are lying and making excuses for their failures, or they are stating the truth, in which case, even if they do come to power, they could roatate a few ppl and change a few ppl around and hope that history does not repeat itself in how monkeying with military structure finally bit ZAB in the butt and same for NS.
PPP in power with some alliance with PML, ANP etc, MMA and MQM in opposition. Imran would be a wildcard and non aligned.
fraudia bhai, a PPP-PML alliance is only possible under military/musharraf rule. Otherwise I don't see how they can forge an alliance. however there are always some lotas. MQM is also unlikely to be in opposition, even if Musharraf is gone.
ps- interestingly an alliance of PML(N) and PPP is also possible only against musharraf. however with BB drifting apart from NS, who also has MMA baggage with him, the chances of such an adjustment are looking bleak.
so u think that either PPP or PML would make an alliance with MQM under current circumstances? possible.
the challenge wit such a fractured party system is that no one is going to have a clear majority and strange bedfelows would be needed to form a govt.
now there is no doubt that PPP would be front runner, yet it will not hae enough seats to go it alone
so they have to either reach out to PML(Q) ..the enemy
or PML (N) ..lots of history there and even now there seem to be a tussle b/w BB and NS
or MMA- thats imply is undoable based on current situation, although they did partner earlier
or MQM- a party that started getting some support in interior sindh but with all the bad PR right now who would want to hook up with them.
or would the celebrated shrt term memory of the nation some into play and they will cheer a PPP-MQM alliance govt.
anp, pti, etc are non issues and would be bit players.
I've heard JI is a democratic one. Although they'd never impressed me much.
PTI is what i'd hope for but looks fairly unlikely. Though one never knows and it is getting publicity through the recent fiasco.(waisya imagine PTI comes in power how would Jemima feel?)
Warding of PML and even more strongly the PPP. That would be like out of the frying pan into the fire. I find their alliance almost impossible not to mention repugnant.