or bullying them around, What is your first instinct what to do?
Do you approach the child? or the parent?
or bullying them around, What is your first instinct what to do?
Do you approach the child? or the parent?
Re: If a child was being MEAN to your child...
Tell my child to stand up for her/himself.
So we had the situation with Misbah. She said one of the guys at his school was being 'mean' to her. I had to ask her a few different ways to figure out what does 'being mean' really meant. For her it meant, he would push her every now and then and would cut in line either before or after her. I think he just wanted attention, maybe a crush.
Anyway, I told her to tell him "Stop it, I don't like it when you push me". She wouldn't do it. So I asked her to practice it on me. She still wouldn't do it. In a few days she started saying the actual words.
So, one day she said in the morning she doesn't want to go to school. And I asked her why and she said because D pushes me when we are lining up for recess. I ended up calling her teacher, who said she will make a general comment. Which I think she did and then specifically talked to D and I never heard about it again from Misbah.
Re: If a child was being MEAN to your child…
my son isnt that old enough to be a vicitm of bullying … though at the moment he seems to be pretty strong willed and takes waht he wants from other babies (
)
but when the time comes… i dont think i would approact the parents unless my kid was getting beaten up…
first off i would coach my son to handle the situation himself… if it was not working, i would try to talk to the other kid myself and if possible, the class teacher too…
if that didnt work..then talk to the parents of the child.. maybe scare them a bit :soldier:
I've witnessed a couple of incidents where my older daughter was bullied. I'll tell you about one. She was at the masjid attending her classes and during the break she was real hungry so I gave her a box of assorted fruit. As soon as she started eating, a girl came by and snatched the entire box and ate up a bunch of stuff. My daughter was shocked but said nothing while I went up to the girl and asked her if she could give at least a few pieces of fruit for my daughter. Now this particular girl has a reputation for doing this kind of stuff and obviously her parents have not given her lessons in politely asking or sharing. I didn't want to create a scene so later, I talked to my daughter about how she could have handled it by speaking out and asking the girl..."hey you must be hungry too and if your mom didn't pack you a snack, I can share with you. What would you like?"
This did happen again and my daughter did do as I said and that girl calmed down.
Niksik and Ahmadjee.. thats horrible but it looks as if you both handled the situation pretty well.
Oh my gawd…![]()
Luckily, nothing like this has happened yet…but i think my girls are pretty assertive and strong-willed…hopefully they wont have any problems, but if they do, they’re pretty well equipped…mama taught them how to do the bodyslam.
Joke ![]()
Why do kids have to be so mean? ![]()
you guys are so nice. I would say somehting like "bundur day puttar suddhar ga" or would "chutki" the child. :D
no I am kidding but I would feel like doing it.
I would definitely approach the child and give him/her a little dhamki. I want my daughters to feel protected and secure and yes I want them to stand up for themselves but not at the expense of someone hurting their esteem.
^That’s very admirable. I think it takes a good deal of self-discipline to not let your anger get in the way and to show a bigger and more tolerant/generous side of yourself to someone who is way out of line.
My eldest had a problem with a classmate at school but I can never be sure with eldest son about the things he tells me since he has some communication difficulty. So, I invited the boy and his mom over for a playdate to see what the boy is like and what the problem between them might be. They played so nicely. They're good friends now and the mom is my best friend.
It turned out that my son was dawdling around in line, holding it up as the class was walking out to the bus for a field trip one day. This other boy gave him a push to get him going again but pushed a little too hard and my son fell down. The boy apologized etc. BUT my son never forgets lol! He would come home every single day and tell me that the boy pushed him but it was only that one time.
my niece is 4 years old and she is the BULLY...she goes to nursery and smacks down the other kids, once, the parent of the victim came up to my nieces mom ( who had her back to her) and tapped her on the shoulder, and was about to launch into a fury, when she noticed that my nieces mom looked really fair....so she said app moo pe kya lagati hai, gori hogi hain..........
er......
nadz woman your stories... I don't know whether to laugh or cry.
Maybe both ![]()
Sometimes laughing too hard will make you cry.
And sometimes while you’re crying, you start to laugh…cuz you’ve just lost it!
This reminds me...when I was like 7 or 8 this other desi girl used to live by who was also my age. My mom and her mom were close friends so we always at each others houses...And we would FIGHT a lot...and sometimes it did get to pushing and shoving...lol....When I got home I got yelled at for it too, and the friend says that she got yelled at by her mom too...we're bothe older now and don't fight...and we laught abt it now!