Idiot's Guide to Women Dress Size

Is it wrong to ask a women her dress size in general and specially in our culture? and why?

I just got this feeling when I asked a question in Cafe earlier about Shoe sizes. I remember a while ago when my cousin was getting married from a girl away from where he was and it was so difficult for him to ask about the size. He just wanted to buy some clothes for her but he was politely refused. Do women only feel confident telling their sizes to their spouses?

It is already difficult for guys esp. bachelors who haven’t gotta clue what women sizes mean esp. when they want to buy something for their family. I know you might say buy some other thing as a gift but the thing is that when it comes to buying presents men’s knowledge ( I speak for myself) is restricted to perfume, hand bag, and there was another thing which i have forgotten now. I remember the embarrassing moment when I was looking for a women clothing a while ago in a store and looked like an idiot.

Is there any “Idiot’s Guide to Women Dress Sizes”?

try looking up in the "idiots book of life" at the "idiot's shop fpr books" down at the "idiot's square"

puuhhlleeeeez! its discourteous to ask a women her size in dresses!

need guidance please.

i know it's discourteous but what happens if someone is going to marry some girl then should he not be able to get her dress size specially imagine a girl wearing a bigger wedding dress than her actual size.

also, is there some sort of rough guide which can tell u if the girl is 5'5 then which size would fit in.

remember:

fat-ugly chicks will never tell you their size. slim-n-fit girls will. its true in most cases.

:smokin2:

Khan sahib, the US sizes are:

4 - x-petite
6 - petite
8 - medium
10 - medium/large
12 - large
14+ - x-large

Most readymade trousers and dresses come in these sizes. Shirts are usually either S, M L or XL.

Height is not adequate to determine a person’s size. You also need to know weight, or body proportions.

Try this chart for measuring instructions:

http://www.bintjanve.com/left.php?show=sizing&full=Sizing%20Chart

I certainly don’t think it is rude in any way to ask for a lady’s size, esp. if you are going to be purchasing her something. Unless you want to be going back and forth exchanging or returning merchandise, it is highly advisable you know as much detail as possible - such as fabric preference - silks, chiffons, cottons, etc..; color choice; embroidery or workmanship style - light, moderate, heavy; and style of dress - skirt blouse/lehenga/sari/gharara/sharara/shalwar kameez/pant kurta/pant kameez/ etc. etc.. Nahin to aap key paisey zaya hojaigey, to phir kya faida.

I m glad u said that and thanks for the link. It really got me mad to shop the whole town trying to find a sweater. I spent more than couple of days to find a sweater. I knew the kinda sweater and the colour that i was looking for but finding the right size was very difficult. I had to go through I don’t know how many Women Only (item wise) shops. A lot of desi ladies :eek:ing too and giving that look :hoonh: Sometime i found that size 10 was the smalles size and sometime i found size 8 was the smallest. :mad2:

A friend of mine not knowing and not finding the right size of clothing for his wife suggested that his wife looks into the kids section and she was not happy. I mean how the hell a guy would know anything if ladies just keep hiding this info.

another thing, moving this thread to Family Forum is another example that asking such a question is some sort of a taboo. i protest

I don’t think its polite to ask women dress size, unless she is your mother, wife or sister. :p

Most of the time, you just have to guess it.

Jewelry always rocks :~)

Well i don't see a problem with it..but its possible that the person might not even know their size. Its too confusing to shop. I mean every company have different sizes. With shalwar qameez its easier..you just give a naap and get the size stitched..with trousers..the ones that comes with numbers..i find them confusing. Same goes for shirts..one company shirt..you'll find the size as small and the next one is medium or even large. Even for trousers..sometimes you can find them in petite and sometimes you have to spend a trip in girls section instead of woman (depending on the country, store and brand). Most women i know want to try clothes before they can buy them coz sizes ranges all the time. Best bet to buy clothing gifts: shirts, sweaters, shawl and scarfs. Dresses and skirts: women usually wanna try them on first.

If the person is a relative..i am sure they'll lend a pair of their clothing..just take it to the shopping place and use it as a naap.

Sometimes, its also hard to buy clothing..coz everyone's preference is different..some people might wear tight clothing..while others like dhelay dhalay kapray.

Waisay bhi, sweaters to dhelay dhalay chal jatay hain..so even large can be fine.

Lastly, its kinda hard to tell a size for a 5'5 girl..coz it depends on the frame of the body..like small frame/medium frame/large frame etc.

oh and if nothing works..take a girl with you for shopping..and they'll help :)

Just wondering:

Are the sizes different in US and UK??

If yes, then can someone please post a conversion chart here .. thanks!

I don't see anything wrong with asking someone their dress size, especially if its for the purpose of gift buying. Its better to get the right size than having to make an extra trip to the store later to exchange it. And if you're buying a present for a spouse or someone you will be marrying then your dress size is not something that would a big secret anyway.

Aatif, I think american sizes are smaller than UK sizes. I may be wrong though so hopefully someone will post a conversion chart for you.

14+ is extra large? faints

Originally posted by lastknightess: *
14+ is extra large? *faints

LOL!

khanBAbs,

For UK:

8 - Petite
10 - Petite/Average
12 - Average
14 - Getting big