Idiotic law...

I got a letter form the DMV…So it seems that from 5/2005 to 8/2005 I somehow failed to maintain insurance and now I must pay 200 bucks or risk suspension of my registration…

I had never heard of this idiotic law before…

Insurance is expensive as it is…And this nonsensically moronic law makes sure that it remains expensive…

I can understand if a person not having insurance were involved in an auto accident and didn’t have coverage…But why punish someone with an impeccable record just because of an oversight?

And who guarantees my conveyance should I fail to pay this amount for whatever reasons?

I try to lead a simple and austere life free from any hassle, yet this little piece of used toilet paper from the DMV has me quite worked up…I can only imagine the frustrations and stress that the average American can go through to maintain a visibly social lifestyle…

So, my question is, what are my options as far as wrangling myself out of this asinine predicament is concerned…

One option I was thinking, was that I somehow go in cahoots with my insurance agent (we are on good terms) and claim that I have called in on 4/2005 to have the insurance company suspend my insurance for 2 months and they had failed or forgotten to do it…

Or, I talk to a lawyer and see what other options I have…

I am really pissed at this…I have :alhamd: a very clean driving record…This thing just doesn’t make sense at all, esthetically, morally, ethically, judicially or any which way…It seems that the insurance companies just lobbied to get this stinking law passed…

This sucks man…

So, any bright ideas anyone?

Re: Idiotic law...

^ Your name reminds me of a Hindi song

Chodhween ka chaand ho
Yaa aftaab ho
Jo bhi ho tum Khuda ki kasam
Lajawab ho

Chowdhween ka chaand ho

Buy a metrocard :D

Re: Idiotic law…

Your name also reminds me of a song…

However that will not solve my problem…

You have to understand these pigs sitting in DMV. That all they do. I have had a cell phone company and they were all the time bent on creating bogus balance on my statement and made my life hell. You tell me what was my fault.
I'd say, consult a lawer. I know a lawyer. If you want, I can give his number to you. He is a white American and not a desi.... How about this suggestion?

Jo bhi ho tum khuda ki kasam
Lajawab ho
Chowdhween ka chaand ho

Your metrocard reminds me of a Hindi song

saadi rail guddi aae
by
Aalap group

Lajawab, Law is a law and ignorance of the law is no excuse (though I hate this sentence but it's true). I faced a similar situation. I wasn't going to use my car for a period of 4-6 months but I explored the rules around and discovered that I have to maintain an insurance even if my car is parked in the garage for 6 months or a year. So I had to. I don't know if you can fight it. Try dicussing it with a lawyer, he will tell u clear cut if you stand a chance or not. If not, then instead of delaying it any fruther, I wud suggest, pay it and get your records straight!

if u dont want to pay insurance, unregister ur car...duh

Re: Idiotic law…

Rules are Rules Lajj paa ji.

Double check your license. The way you have explained it you should have had your licenses suspended not your registration.
Suspension of registration is different.
Lapse of insurance does cause a huge nice jump on your insurance premium as well. - Basically your previous driving history does not show at all. You get a new license after satisfying your previous suspension. - you get to have a label of third class market consumer of any insurance company at that point.
Suspension of registration is different.
Techically you are allowed no more than 5 days of laps- but after that its a huge penalty you have to face. Check your driving record my friend.
You should have returned the plates young man :nono1: