Idioms in Scriptures

Some lines in scriptures become so popular that they are used as idioms in daily conversation. Like we have** ‘People who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones’** from Bible.

I liked this one from Ramayan as well: Janani Janmabhūmisca Svargādapi garīyasi- “Mother and motherland are greater than heaven”.

Lets share some idioms from scriptures in this thread.

Re: Idioms in Scriptures

From Holy Qur'aan:

**Kuntum Khaira-Ummatin Ukhrijat linNaas Ta'maroona bil-Ma'roof wa Tanhauna 'anil-Munkar wa Tu'minoona bilLah.

*"You are the best community that has been raised for mankind. You enjoin good and forbid evil and you believe in Allah."*

[Aal-e-Imran, 3:110]. **

in Qur'aan, these orders are never separated...they always appear together...sadly, we have abandoned the latter part of Allah's order and that's why we are in this sorry state of affairs.

I think this one is most famous idiom used in Quran:

Indeed, those who deny Our verses and are arrogant toward them - the gates of Heaven will not be opened for them, nor will they enter Paradise until a camel enters into the eye of a needle. And thus do We recompense the criminals. (7:40)

Arabic Text: Yalij ul Jamal Fi Sammil Khyaat

Forbidden Fruit (Bible) .. Shajr e Mamnooa (Quran)

Bhai sb, where is idiom in it?

yes I don't find idiom in that as well. Probably KKF wants to say that the first part has become part of daily conversation.

As you sow so shall you reap (from Bible)

"amr bil ma'roof wa nahi anil munkar"

Summum bukmum ho Jana.

yes. and another one from same category is aamana sadaqna

laa ikraahaa fid-deen = deen meN koii zabardastii nahiiN = there is NO compulsion in Deen

sadly, those non practicing Muslims use this more often to deflect any naseeHat/encouragement to pray.

hanji, aur es idiom ka use pakistan main nai karna, lest you get labeled as conservative or extremist.

Is 'Pran Jaye Par Vachan Na Jaye' an idiom / saying from Hindu scriptures (Gita, Ramayan, MahaBharata)?

ٱلرِّجَالُ قَوَّٲمُونَ عَلَى ٱلنِّسَآءِ [ar-rijaalo qawwaamun 'al-al-nisaa~!] = Men stand caretakers of women