Ideas for Desi Picnic

What would be the perfect menu for a desi family picnic?

Food items?
Games for mixed gender
Games for kids

Any ideas?

Re: Ideas for Desi Picnic

Food:

Chana Chaat (dahi bhalay)
pakoray
biryani
shaami kebab
kheer or firni
fruits

Games for mixed gender

pillow fight

games for kids

hop scotch

i like hareem's list,
uno is fun to play also.

uno? woh kya hai?

its a card game, not the real taash though with jack, king, queen or anything, but rather numbers in different colors. you throw one and the next person has to either throw the same color or number and thats how it keeps going. whoever finishes their cards first wins.

You can do some on-site BBQ also , everybody gets involved and have lots of fun.
You need more than one games there to play as you are going to be in the picnic grounds for long hours.
You can buy a kit from Walmart which has 6 to 10 outdoor games and is pretty cheap. It works as disposable game kits for our picnics.

sounds good....i'll try with my kids. :)

badminton and volleyball are fun. the uncles get so competitive it's hilarious.

sandwiches, pasta, fruit, and bbq

for games you can have card games, badminton, football, cricket

volley ball ... bestest game for BBQ period (provided you have green soft grass).

Its less intense. Everyone can participate ...

chaat , dahi bhaly
mangoes n lassi ( in pakistan)
pullao
gol gappy
bbq
chicken naan
fried chicken

games

bait bazi
name, thing, place,
hide n seek
aankh macholi
truth or dare

We had a smaller family only picnic/bbq over the long weekend and here is what we took: chicken tikkas and beef kababs on skewers that we bbq at the spot, macaroni salad, fresh watermelon and pineapple upside down cake.

liek shay said, UNO is a great game. We have been playing it since we were kids and our parents enjoy it as much as we do. Its also very kid friendly.

next time invite me over too, lol

you can even play soccer, very easy...make teams out of aunties & uncles :)
food:
take halal hot dogs as well with normal chicken/kebab items. Maybe make some shrimp skewers adding onions/bell peppers in between and grill them when u get there.

U can even try salmon or tuna steaks...very yummy!

Lusi how do you play bedminton? winkwink. tell us more :p

I am too shareef to tell how it is played :p :D

oh man that was a typo...lol

Required Ingredients for Bed-mint-on:

Bed
Mint
ON

The last ingredient is dependent upon the quality of participants. If pressure cooked, it can turn out to be a quick finish to the game.

:eek: ^ tututtu tauba

haha. Between the wonderful pillow fight suggestion and bedminton I was seriously having doubs about this being a picnic. BTW who has pillow fights at picnics? never even heard of it :confused:

we have an auntie who always takes her jalebi mixture to the picnics and fries jalebis on the spot - hot and yummy lol