Inspired by Firenze’s post----
Has anyone been to both ISNA and ICNA conventions? If so, can you shed some light on the major differences? I’m particularly interested in which is more or less conservative, strictness in separation of the genders at the convention, etc.
Re: ICNA vs ISNA
bhaahahhaha…u actually got inspired from that thread…![]()
lol. if the inspiration is from there then all firenze gonna tell u about the hijab chics and whereabout ![]()
OMG
.. i am thrilled to see that people are getting inspired by my thread/posts :k: , .. Inshallah i will continue like that ![]()
I didn’t go… yet.. maybe on monday.. lekin yeh meri zimedari.. hai logo ko guide karna ![]()
OK, so I admit I used the term 'inspired' in ots very loosest sense. But c'mon guys, is there really no serious opinion anyone can give me?
:) I doubt anyone here will read any initial post lol.
Can you tell me what ICNA and ISNA are & how much they cost, and is it anything fun or just mulvi speeches crap.
oh & how much does it cost ( if it is fun), and is it in NYC ? Ill be there this week, so I could go ....
ICNA = Islamic Circle of North America
ISNA = Islamic Society of North America
Both hold annual conventions. I have been to both. ISNA is usually in midwest - Chicago. ICNA in Hartford CT
The only difference that ICNA is a bit smaller in size. ICNA is bit more desi oreintated with some seminars in Urdu.
There is no sepration of genders infact for the younger crowd is a playgroud to get their "mack on"
Islamic Bazzar, Speed Dating, Matrimonals services. Lectures based on different tracks (family, dawaah, fiqh, islamic issues etc)
Now which one follows Saudi for lunar sightings and which one is more local. ![]()
:) I doubt anyone here will read any initial post lol.
Can you tell me what ICNA and ISNA are & how much they cost, and is it anything fun or just mulvi speeches crap.
oh & how much does it cost ( if it is fun), and is it in NYC ? Ill be there this week, so I could go ....
The are both Muslim organizations that support Muslim communities. Both hold annual conventions.
I believe a full three day pass for the whole fmaily is about $175 dollars
Depends on your defination of fun - there are some really good speakers that inspire you. Some you just fall asleep with.
Personally three days is too much for me. I usually go for a day and get something out of it every year.
ICNA = Islamic Circle of North America
ISNA = Islamic Society of North America
Both hold annual conventions. I have been to both. ISNA is usually in midwest - Chicago. ICNA in Hartford CT
The only difference that ICNA is a bit smaller in size. ICNA is bit more desi oreintated with some seminars in Urdu.
There is no sepration of genders infact for the younger crowd is a playgroud to get their "mack on"
Islamic Bazzar, Speed Dating, Matrimonals services. Lectures based on different tracks (family, dawaah, fiqh, islamic issues etc)
THANK YOU. This is helpful!
just for information: i was their on Monday, and its feel like a good rishta place for parents.
For youngsters.. their is a lot for both sexes, :D
Our family’s been to both conventions, we’ve been involved with both organizations pretty much all of our lives (my siblings and I, at least).
ISNA’s more Arab than Desi generally, so they’re a bit laxer about intermingling. ICNA’s more desi as someone mentioned above, but they’re trying to be more encompassing. ISNA is bigger, some say because when they were starting off they had the financial support of Saudi sheiks.
They both have ‘fun’ sessions though - artists that do their thing (both visual and musical), and there’s always lots of clothes and art for sale. Usually decent food as well.
MuslimFest in Canada in the summertime… is the BEST.
And about the rishta-finding - ugh. It’s a bit retarded, but it happens at any and all large gathering of Muslims in North America. ![]()