Anyone going? Who has been there in recent years? The last ICNA convention I attended was when it was held in Baltimore few years back. They were ok, some sessions were pretty good.
Re: ICNA 2008 - Hartford, CT
what is this convention about?
It's in my state :D so I go every year, it's really neat. Tons of family comes from all over the states and we always have a good time. The lectures are great, the market sells good stuff and since the convention is in downtown, there are always fireworks at night time for 4 of July.
I hate connecticut with a passion. Why does that state exist, no one knows.
maybe if it was in NYC, chicago, or LA....it would be worth going 2 :D
it is only a poondi fest for those seeking to do pooondi...otherwise its always a good program overall, with the lectures/sessions/entertainment/food and bazaar. Plus its fun esp if you go with your friends/family.
Wasn't it in Ohio?
i agree :k:
if you are there for the lectures…it’ll be worth your while.
ISNA is in Chicago or Ohio but ICNA is a much smaller convention. I think it has earned a bad rep due to a few who go there to do whatever. Whenever ICNA is held in CT, we get alotttttttttttttttttt of people from the tri state area.
I hate connecticut with a passion. Why does that state exist, no one knows.
just to keep rhode island and delaware company as lame states :D
but then u also have west virginia and mississipi..even ludhyana...I mean lousyana, err louisiana.
dude there are plenty of lame states around
hehehehehe
aside from the small city of newport, i dunno if RI has anything else to offer. Well aren't Ohio, Indiana....also lame states :)
it is only a poondi fest for those seeking to do pooondi...otherwise its always a good program overall, with the lectures/sessions/entertainment/food and bazaar. Plus its fun esp if you go with your friends/family.
Lectures and sessions? For what?
The main reason that people go are for checking out opposite sex, hooking up and bs like that. No body gives a damn about lectures or sessions because the moment you leave the convention, YOU DON'T remember anything nor do you plan on FOLLOWING anything that was said in the lectures.
Those who organize it make money from the merchants and advertisers, they don't care about what you do there or get out of it. People go on these events for the same reason they go to Melas... not to stare at the stage or listen to those same songs they have heard many times before but to do poondi and check out girls and what not.
I have never been to an "islamic" convention and I've only been to one or two melas back in 95 or 94.... if it was bad then, I am sure we have graduated from that level to next one by now.
Lectures and sessions? For what?
The main reason that people go are for checking out opposite sex, hooking up and bs like that. No body gives a damn about lectures or sessions because the moment you leave the convention, YOU DON'T remember anything nor do you plan on FOLLOWING anything that was said in the lectures.
Those who organize it make money from the merchants and advertisers, they don't care about what you do there or get out of it. People go on these events for the same reason they go to Melas... not to stare at the stage or listen to those same songs they have heard many times before but to do poondi and check out girls and what not.
I have never been to an "islamic" convention and I've only been to one or two melas back in 95 or 94.... if it was bad then, I am sure we have graduated from that level to next one by now.
Quite wrong there. Agreed poondi type stuff happens, but then people whose only purpose in life is to do poondi, do it any chance they get, school/work/melas/shows/masjid/train/bathroom...but that's a small percentage. Dude you can check out eye candy ANYWHERE, why on earth would you want to pay for hotels/registration fees...long drive just to do poondi. Those are some desperate people if that really is their purpose don't you think.....
There are indeed many people that go there to actually listen to the sessions and get something out of it.....im sure the parents n couples arent there for poondi...nehi. You might not remember eveything you learn, but you are able to take notes, and some stuff does stay in your head.
lol...these conventions never attracted me and that is why i never been to any.
to me its all drama....ppl praise those dramay bazz scholar's more than ALLAH SWT.
my friends who dont strictly follow Islam (though they are awful in their own ways), seriously face a lot from such Islam kay thekedar....so they actually end up repelling.
oh right!
I always get the 2 mixed up.
same here...i went back in 94 AND 95....it was terrible! however like I said...if you are going there SOLELY for the lectures then it'll be fine. I'd never send my jawan kids there though :D
Let’s make a clan that consists of people that hate lame states. Wow, I have nothing better to do.
People go on these events for the same reason they go to Melas... not to stare at the stage or listen to those same songs they have heard many times before but to do poondi and check out girls and what not.
awww Jaan leva, you don't like poondi?
depend karta hai ap ka kya mutlab hai poondi se aur kis jaga par karni hai