ICCCT Semifinal 1 - Aus vs Eng

j/k

After that thread about NZL beating AUS, I just felt like making this one :smiley:

Australia vs England on Tuesday, 21st September 2004 at Edgbaston.

England (probable): 1 Marcus Trescothick, 2 Vikram Solanki, 3 Michael Vaughan (capt), 4 Andrew Strauss, 5 Andrew Flintoff, 6 Paul Collingwood, 7 Geraint Jones (wk), 8 Ashley Giles, 9 Alex Wharf, 10 Darren Gough, 11 Stephen Harmison.

Australia (probable): 1 Adam Gilchrist (wk), 2 Matthew Hayden, 3 Ricky Ponting (capt), 4 Damien Martyn, 5 Andrew Symonds, 6 Darren Lehmann, 7 Michael Clarke, 8 Michael Kasprowicz, 9 Shane Watson, 10 Jason Gillespie, 11 Glenn McGrath.

BTW: Pakistan all the way :jhanda: :insha:

Captain Bhai zaqmo pay namak chirakna zaroori tha (j/k). Well I learned my lesson to never go against Symonds and the mighty Aussies. I hope Aus vs. Eng turns out to be a classic. Hayden needs to click as he's my trump in fantasy.

The Game Responds:

*England has a better chance of beating the Aussies than the Kiwis and their pathetic bowling attack; that's for sure. People, That Is All.*

Its their backyard, yes they do have the advantage and may give Aussies hard time, but I personally don’t think they are upto the calibre of beating Aussies yet. May be they’ll, but as of today I don’t believe they can. Like SL depending too much on Murali, India depending too much on Tendulkar, England is toooo much dependent on Flintoff, if he doesn’t fire then they are doomed. Lets just wait and watch :smooth:

You neve know. The Aussies are troubled by really good quick bowlers (Shoiab on occasion and Bond are notable examples) - that means that Harmison could do the job.

I think if a couple of the English batters can click, they could win against the Aussies. If not I see a Pakistan vs Autralia final. That would be a treat with the way we've pushed the Aussies of late. Would be amazing 4 sure.

come on guys....eik NZ vs Aus thread kya kam tha, jo yeh eik naya tamashaa kharaa kar diya hai....guys, cricket is a game of talent and handling pressure...the better team wins on any particular day...and please dont believe in history...

now, do we have some references from some pundits here who say that england will beat aussies....i wonder what happened to the pundits who said that nz will beat aus...

btw, something i remember...in 2003 WC (just 3-4 days b4 the final)...i was watching Star News, Zee News etc, and they JOTSHIs over there were analysing the so-called KUNDLI of ganguteli, and telling us that he RAHU or KETU is on TOP...and this year, he is gonna reach the maximum in terms of fame...and they said "what can make him famous this year?? winning the WC'03".....well that didnt happen....did it??

Nah, Aussies all the way.

England’s luck could be in

Preview by Jenny Thompson

September 20, 2004

The ease with which an in-form Australia swept aside a healthy New Zealand to set up a mouthwatering semi-final against England should strike terror into Michael Vaughan and his side ahead of Tuesday’s semi-final at Edgbaston. But Australia - who, let’s face it, always seem to be in fighting form - must slip up eventually, and in a one-off match, anything could happen.

And why should it not be England who halt the Aussie juggernaut at Edgbaston on Tuesday? After all, they will enjoy home advantage, and if Vaughan were to win the toss (a crucial factor in late September) and choose to field, he would greatly increase England’s chances of winning.

On the back of a successful Test year, England’s one-day team are coming into their own – they routed India in the NatWest Challenge in early September, and brushed aside their opposition in the pool stages of the Champions Trophy - and they may have timed their peak to perfection. But to end their miserable record of 14 consecutive losses against a buoyant Australia, a run which started way back in January 1999, Vaughan must look to his allrounders Andrew Flintoff and Paul Collingwood, in particular, to continue to produce the goods.

Collingwood has been enjoying a good Champions Trophy with the bat. He struck an unbeaten 80 against Zimbabwe, and 39 in England’s washed-out game against Sri Lanka, following up his 79 against India in the NatWest Challenge.

In Flintoff, England have a genuine matchwinner, as so brutally demonstrated against Sri Lanka, where he thumped a punishing century to turn the game. Flintoff is in form and confident, and Adam Gilchrist admitted that the Australians would look to attack him. He said: "You’ve got to focus on Flintoff but we have to get to him first.

“We also don’t know that much about Vikram Solanki or Andrew Strauss, so we have to get down to Flintoff and once he comes in obviously try and do something to knock him over,” he added. “He’s just got so much momentum at the moment it’s going to be a real challenge.”

But England, who will probably be unchanged from the team which beat Sri Lanka, are reliant on two or three batsmen. Vaughan himself is having a shocking run of form, with the exception of a sparkling 70 against India in the NatWest Challenge. But a true captain’s innings in a crucial clash is well overdue. Strauss, who has 508 one-day runs at an average of just over 39, with one hundred and three fifties, is also due a score as he has failed to deliver a significant performance in this competition.

Darren Gough embodied the current positive spirit coursing through the England side, and he was typically upbeat about their chances, saying: “We’re all looking forward to it. We’re not worried about it but we’re excited about it.”

Gough did, however, concede that Australia were the favourites. “They’re the best side,” he said. “Everybody wants to play against them, and everybody wants to beat them and we’ll be trying.”

And Ricky Ponting, the Australian captain, has a side full of stars to turn to. Andrew Symonds and Michael Kasprowicz are just two players who have delivered recently. Australia’s allround game is exceptional, and their ground fielding is as well drilled as a Russian oilfield.

But could tomorrow be the day when England’s numbers finally come up against Australia? Maybe, just maybe.

Source

Aussies batting line up is really strong, whereas England mostly rely on Flintoff. Vaughan has not done well recently and same goes for Trescothik. Solanki is a new guy who is just ok. But English bowlign is exceptional with Harmison and Gough. Their best bet is to win the toss and put Aussies under pressure by attakcing them with their strength. Hope to see cracker of a match tomorrow.

Australia is gonna win this with ease. :)

I am neither a predictions guy nor a betting guy, but if I were to make a guess right now, I'd say Australia is going to inflict some serious spanking to the British arses in this match - Flintoff or no Flintoff.

england last beat australia in a odi match in 1999! :eek: i think that stat’ says it all

England does have a chance to win against AUssies if Flintoff fires again. But I think the only team that can beat Aussies in this tourney is Pakistan, as they are progressing as one unit in recent times.

:insha: Pakistan will beat Australia! :jhanda:

and pigs will fly !!!

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

and pigs will fly !!!

No, India will make 'Milk' their official drink :D

Aida koi mouN bandd karayay. :bash:

kyon pada , sach karwi lag di hai kya !!! :stuck_out_tongue:

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

and pigs will fly !!!

when they do (I mean Pak beat Aus) would you be flying with pigs (to moon of course)? :D

For some reason, I am more eager to watch this semi versus the one on Wednesday. This will be one cracker of a match... English ground, Aussies playing a playoff match...I dont recall a clash of the two Ashes powers at such a high end tourney.

I just can't get myself to support the Brits. So, Go Aussie Go!