ICC trophy

CONGRATULATIONS.. woo hoo.. ICC Trophy will be shown on PPV on Dishnetwork. Including every single match.

Btw.. ummm if someone edits their post, doesn't it say at the bottom Edited by such and such on this date? (Sorry i don't know much about editing stuff).

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
CONGRATULATIONS.. woo hoo.. ICC Trophy will be shown on PPV on Dishnetwork. Including every single match.

Btw.. ummm if someone edits their post, doesn't it say at the bottom Edited by such and such on this date? (Sorry i don't know much about editing stuff).

It doesn't say edited by statement if you edit your post in first couple minutes of posting the original.

I don't think thats sommething to be happy about.
If Sony or Zee would be showing than yes but paying 100+ bucks to see your team playing 4 matches only.

ANEES BHAI ZINDABAD

Yep!
PC bhai is absolutly correcto!
Dish Netwrok is showing ICC Champion’s Trophy.
Problem is that its only 200 bucks!

Anees bhai Zindabad!

http://www.dishnetwork.com/content/programming/ppv/sports_events/single_showing/index.asp?titleID=230&cat=Cricket

Anyone know the timings in EST or PST zone?

According to Cricinfo

Eastern 2:30 AM
Central 3:30 AM
Mountain 4:30 AM
Pacific 5:30 AM

Than again cricinfo are wrong most of the times in their timings so I wouldn't trust them.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
According to Cricinfo

Eastern 2:30 AM
Central 3:30 AM
Mountain 4:30 AM
Pacific 5:30 AM

Than again cricinfo are wrong most of the times in their timings so I wouldn't trust them.

If its eastern 2:30AM it will be 1:30 AM central not 3:30AM.

Thanx Umair.

Sorry you are right.
It says the match will start around 8:30 GMT.

O guys...
i read this stupid news tpday
abdul razzaq qill be made captain if pakistan dont do well in Srlianka...

dont you think its absurd??
Waqar has been magnificent in last 2 years and though team is not doing well right now i think he should not be changed coz new captian wont be able to adjust before the world cup....
and i read someone was mentioning waqar to be dropped...

read the stats waqar is the highest wicket taker during his stint
and in kenya no one bowled well so why single out him??

I think team should be gven time to regain conifdence and INSHA'ALLAH they will do well in champtions trophy.. ONLY if batsmen score:)

http://sports.yahoo.com/m/sk/news/reuters/20020910/reu-champions20020910.html

World champions Australia, twice surprised by India in the early stages of the ICC Champions Trophy one-day tournament, remain the side to beat in the 2002 edition starting on Thursday.

Coach John Buchanan has warned the other sides in the prelude to next year’s World Cup in South Africa that the Australians were still getting better as they prepared to meet defending champions New Zealand on Sunday.

“My role is to make the side concentrate, in the next six months, on the fundamentals, to make them play test and one-dayers better than they currently do,” he said.

Australia arrived for the September 12-29 event after dominating a one-day triangular series in Nairobi, where victory hopes against Pakistan were dashed because of a rain abandonment.

ASIAN ADVANTAGE

Hosts Sri Lanka, India and the unpredictable Pakistan side – all past world champions – will be boosted by their familiarity with traditionally slow Asian pitches.

Off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan could prove the key if Sri Lanka are to push their home advantage and assuage the pain of an abysmal showing in the 1999 World Cup after winning the tournament three years earlier.

“I don’t know about the first two or three games, but after that it will help slow bowlers rather than the faster guys,” he said.

Sri Lanka have a major fitness worry over their skipper Sanath Jayasuriya with the explosive left-hander struggling to be ready for the opening game against Pakistan.

“I am trying my best,” said Jayasuriya, who sustained a shoulder injury in a one-day tournament in Morocco last month.

India’s first choice team will take part after a long-standing sponsorship dispute was resolved. The row over the conflicting rights between the official tournament sponsors and the players’ individual sponsors was resolved after a teleconference between the International Cricket Council and the Indian board.

Sachin Tendulkar, who holds the record for aggregate and centuries in one-dayers, along with skipper Saurav Ganguly and Rahul Dravid have been in superb form during the four-test series against England which ended in a 1-1 tie on Monday.

CAIRNS ABSENT

India, who meet England in their opening game, have youngsters Mohammad Kaif and Yuvraj Singh who lifted their side to victory over hosts England in a triangular one-day series.

England’s job will be tougher in the absence through injury of all-rounder Andrew Flintoff and strike bowler Darren Gough.

New Zealand, who upstaged India in the final at Nairobi two years ago, will also miss all-rounder Chris Cairns, their 2000 match-winner, who is injured. Craig McMillan and Matt Horne have stayed home because of security concerns.

Security has ceased to dominate the discussions of players thanks to a major peace initiative between the government and the Tamil rebels.

**Instead, technology may provide the most contentious issue.

The ICC is introducing a set of innovative umpiring aids with back-up from the television official for lbw rulings. **

The tournament, introduced in 1998 as a biennial knockout event to raise funds for the game’s development, has been restructured with a preliminary league featuring four pools of three teams with the winners qualifying for the semi-finals.

Does anyone has any details as to what these umpiring aids are going to be?

http://sports.yahoo.com/m/sk/news/reuters/20020910/reu-championspakistan20020910.html

Pakistan aim to reverse their recent inconsistent performances and go all the way in the ICC Champions Trophy tournament starting on Thursday.

“We have had our bad patch and hopefully we will get out of it here,” skipper Waqar Younis told reporters.

Pakistan have arrived for the prestigious 12-nation event in Colombo after struggling in two tri-series events in Africa.

They failed to reach the final of the first tournament in Morocco where Sri Lanka beat South Africa for the title.

Last week in Nairobi, they barely nudged ahead of lowly Kenya and only emerged joint winners after rain forced the final to be abandoned with Australia calling the shots.

Waqar admitted his side would have to vastly improve its batting and fast bowlers led by him needed to strike a better rhythm ahead of their tournament opener against the hosts.

Pakistan’s batting in particular was poor, and Waqar said: “This time we need to give the bowlers enough runs on the board.”

Coach Mudassar Nazar hinted the struggling opening pair of Saeed Anwar and young Imran Nazir could be split to try to shore up the top order.

NO PUSHOVERS

However, despite some indifferent form, team manager Yawar Saeed insisted his side would still be no pushovers.

“Mentally we are not starting the tournament as the bottom team. We have come to win the title,” he said.

Finalists at the 1999 World Cup, Pakistan are always regarded as dangerous opponents, but have often been criticised for their inconsistency.

**But Saeed said some of flak may not be justified because his side’s success rate of over 66 percent was the best in 2002. **

The format for the Champions Trophy this time has been changed to league-cum-knock-out after the first two editions in 1998 and 2000 were knock-out only.

But Waqar felt it would hardly make any difference because one team in each group was weaker than the other two.

“It is more or less a knock-out system. But it will give the fresher sides a chance to improve.”

Waqar felt the pressure would be on Sri Lanka when they clash on Thursday.

“They are playing at home. It is the first game and it will be very vital, more important for Sri Lanka to win.”

Pakistan have recalled middle-order batsman Yousuf Youhana after he was sent home from Nairobi on disciplinary grounds.

The batsman explained he had an argument with Waqar over attending a training session because he was nursing a shoulder injury. Youhana has since recovered.

**Pakistan reached the Champions Trophy quarter-finals in 1998 and the semi-finals in 2000 when they lost to eventual winners New Zealand. **

is thread ka to bura haal hi ho gaya hai..pocha kiya tha aur aab kiya ho gaya hai:(

Thats normal here :slight_smile: once you post and get back to see the responce and you go :smack:

is this their new policy of not to sell matches separately? :frowning:
200$ …nah i m not going to pay !!!
BHAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNnnnnnnnnnnnnNNNNnnnnn
4 ICC tourny k paisey mila ker Pakistan ka chakker na laga loon :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by BAYWAQOOF: *

is this their new policy of not to sell matches separately? :(
200$ ....nah i m not going to pay !!!
BHAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNnnnnnnnnnnnnNNNNnnnnn
4 ICC tourny k paisey mila ker Pakistan ka chakker na laga loon :)

Yeah thats some kind of stupid policy.
I think same will be for WC.
I only wanted to watch 3 matches against SL, semifinals and finals which the combined cost would have been around 70 bucks.
That is very awfull.

But Anees bhai Zindabad
Will you be showing matches Anees, is your connection fixed to show matches.

Good Luck Pakistan. :k:

Inshallah, we’ll win the tournament!

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *

If you edit it before 3 or 4 minutes after posting it, the edit footer is not added, one of the new features of the new forum...

What channel number is showing these matches? 538 or 537?

ICC tornament

hey is there anyway we can watch the match online????

Oh matches will be on 537.. but doesn’t matter, I tend to try both 538 and 537.

Here is the timings EST for the matches.. courtesy KBS Cricket.
http://www.kbs-tv.com/test/dev/cricket_news_flash.shtml

I’m jumping up and down with enthusiasm being able to wake up at 3:30am to watch every game.. luckey me.

If its tru dat Razzaq is 2 b made captain r nebody else n Waqar 2 b dropped den i fink dat is gr8 news. Waqar has been a liability 4 ages both as a bowler n a fielder. Da only reason hes been da leading wicket taker in his stint is bcoz hes da only bowler whos played every game where as he happily drops da rest. Its not only his poor showing in kenya he was poor in Australia n Morocco. He was pak's most xpensive bowler in Sharjah. In 1day cricket u hav 2 keep it tight but his economy rate is awful. Hes lost his wicket taking ability n now hes an ordinary medium pacer . I know ppl wil say its 2 close 2 da WC but he needs 2 b replaced otherwise he'll cost us da WC just like he did in 96 in Bangalore wen Jadeja destroyed him.

well he was the most successful bowler in morocco although wasim and razzaq played in every match too......
well lets see how things go in sri lanka and i thnk he will deliever goods insha'allah alongwith team...