The only way Pakistan can end up playing India is if they both make it to the final. Pakistan need to beat Sri Lanka to win their group. India need to beat England to win their group. Pakistan will then most likely meet Australia while if India make it out of their group they will most likely face S Africa. Assuming Pakistan beat Australia and India beat S Africa then both teams will face each other.
The probability is this is unlikely to happen.
I thought they could play each other in the semi final.. oh well, i must have been wrong..
Pakistan is likely to meet India in the finals but concerning they have to go against South Africa, it would be almost impossible but then again they did it in Kenya so anything is likely to happen.
So I was right about Saeed Anwar huh
Imran Farhat should be called back in place for Imran Nazir.
And Saqlain coming in for Azhar is not a bad idea.
I think its about time Pakistan need to have a solid opner.
Afridi is suicidal, its likely that he would score a decent runs every 5 or 6 games.
I think Mizbah ul Haq wouldn’t be a bad idea, he looks sensible and solid, Pakistan can have him as an opener, how about it ?
We still have time to experiment concerning the pathetic batting display at Kenya and Morroco.
Saeed Anwar
Mizbah ul Haq
Yousuf Youhana
Inzimam-ul-Haq
Younis Khan
Abdul Razzaq
Rashid Latif
Wasim Akram
Waqar Younis
Shoaib Akhtar
Saqlain Mushtaq
Yes sadly and this maybe shocking to you all but Afridi looks like a weak link, Saqi in good form, than Afridi looks to be discarded along with Malik.
south africa, india aur australia to booooooohut duur ki baat hai...pehlay Pakistan ko Sri Lanka se jeetna hoga :p jo koi aasan baat nahin ho-gi...mere khayal mein to taaaaaaQreeban namumkin ho ga jeetna sri lanka ke khilaf...
my prediction : sri lanka will advance from this group
Rab Rakha
DerVaisH
Pakistan will play India in the semi finals if they both top their groups. Pakistan has to beat Sri Lanka on thursday first, so lets take one game at a time.
I have been told from my reliable sources that the following team is going to play. And also a point to note is that all the players have erased away the differences and have hugged each other tight. Anyway, back to the team:
Saeed the MULLA Anwar
Shahid the BALL PHAROO Afridi
Yosuf the KAKA Youhanna
Inzamam the U GUESSED IT Haq
Mizbah ul YET 2 B NICKED haq
Younis the KARACHI KA PATHAN Khan
Abdur the CUCUMBER Razzaq
Rashid the WHISTLE BLOWER Latif
Wasim the KHALIFA Akram
Waqar the CHEETA Younis
Shoaib the RAPTILE Akhtar
Go the Green Machine!
Yeah!
Drop Afridi or M.Haq and play anotjer specialist bowler, either Saqi or Sami.
**ICC refuses Pakistan late changes **
By Our Sports Reporter
KARACHI, Sept 8: **Pakistan were Sunday disallowed late changes in their squad for this week’s ICC Champions Trophy in the Sri Lankan capital Colombo. **
A spokesman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said the International Cricket Council (ICC) barely agreed to make one substitution but rejected more than that.
**That meant Azhar Mahmood made the way for Misbah-ul-Haq while the Saeed Anwar and Imran Nazir escaped the axe. But in the entire scenario, Imran Farhat was the unlucky lad when he was held back in Lahore despite being booked on a Sunday flight for Colombo. **
Two more changes were made in the team management when Sikander Bakht and Dr Aamir Siddique were sent back. It was in lieu of ICC’s playing conditions in which 14 players and two officials are allowed.
“According to ICC’s rules, no changes can be made after the deadline for submission of teams. Changes are only allowed in case of any injury to any player,” the spokesman said.
The ICC had set Aug 30 as deadline for all participating teams to finalize and submit their respective squads.
**Insiders said the Pakistan team management pleaded that Azhar was not cent percent fit as he was struggling with a shoulder injury.
“The discussions (with the ICC) were going on for some days as we wanted to make a couple of changes in the team. But our request was spurned,” the spokesman said. **
ICC’s stand proved to be a blessing in disguise for at least Saeed Anwar who is a class act but has been struggling for form recently. He has aggregated just 151 runs from eight matches - a performance that contradicts his talent and potential. Nevertheless, form is temporary and class is permanent and there is no reason why Saeed cannot bounce back and show his magical touch that is so very crucial to Pakistan’s chances in the tournament.
Pakistan take on Sri Lanka in the tournament opener Thursday.
Squad: Waqar Younis (captain), Inzamam-ul-Haq (vice-captain), Saeed Anwar, Shahid Afridi, Imran Nazir, Shoaib Malik, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Rashid Latif, Abdul Razzaq, Wasim Akram, Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami.
Officials: Yawar Saeed (manager), Mudassar Nazar (coach), Dennis Waight (physio/trainer) and Riaz Ahmad (doctor).
http://www.dawn.com/2002/09/09/spt2.htm
I just wonder where the ICC is going to STOP.
PS - Now we know Dawn and Jung were right about Saeed Anwar’s exclusion.
I will never understand what’s the point in having Inzi as vice captain ![]()
I mean before the captain goes out of the ground with an injury wo already bahir hotta hey ![]()
its official zee tv is not showing the matches they ad the highest bid yet ICC did not offer them the contaract and therefore now instaed off zee Sony is showing the ICC trophy as well as fox middle east for American viewers tune in channel no 158 to watch the matches thats what I think
Who is showing it in USA???
That would mean, Sony MAX, their cricket channel.
Darn.. everyone phone KBS TV, and complain why they aren't showing the ICC Trophy on PPV via Dishnetwork, and maybe something could happen.
1-888-482-5988
www.kbs-tv.com
where is the cheapest place to get dishnetwork in canada from all the places are offering 2 dishes and 2 recievers for a 1000 bux and I dont have that much mmoney so plaease help
ICC champions Trophy
Ehsan Bhai,
This thread's topic is "ICC Trophy and Pakistan Team".I thought people are going to talk ICC trophy only in context of Pakistan's performance. I think we either need a seprate thread to discuss all aspect of ICC trophy or change the subject line in this thread !!!
As someone said above, Sony has bought the rights to ICC Champions Trophy and World Cup 2003.
But will they show that in North America.
PPV doesn't look like it will show it as there is no advertisments on their channels.
I hope Sony shows it please!
Sony is one of those channels who don't announce if they will be showing or not!
Pool 1 Pool 2 Pool 3 Pool 4
Australia England Kenya Netherlands
Bangladesh India South Africa Pakistan
New Zealand Zimbabwe West Indies Sri Lanka
Teams are
http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_...S/ICCCT/SQUADS/
In my opinion following are the team who should win their respective groups and move to Semi Final.
AUS,SA,IND,SL
And I expect a Final between AUS and SA where AUS wins the championship.
What do you guys think?
Australia or South Africa would likely to win ICC Trophy!
Pakistan..Inshallah!!
pakistan zindabad.
South Africa no way!
Either Pakistan or Australia.
Or maybe England!