ICC Suspends Trio

ICC suspends the trio under the anticorruption code, level 4.
Yasir Arafat, Hasan Shafiq and Mohammad Irfan being called as replacement.
This should have come from PCB first, unfortunately we have a whole bunch of morons.

Re: ICC Suspends Trio

yeah i saw the news too

What does it mean? Anyone has details?

Ok, I got it.

http://www.cricinfo.com/england-v-pakistan-2010/content/current/story/475624.html

pot-fixing controversy

ICC suspend trio under anti-corruption code

Cricinfo staff
September 2, 2010
Text size: A | A

http://www.cricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/121200/121299.2.jpg

Mohammad Amir is one of three Pakistan players to have been suspended under the provision’s of the ICC’s anti-corruption code © Getty Images
Enlarge
The International Cricket Council has suspended Salman Butt, Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif, the three players implicated in the Lord’s spot-fixing scandal, under the provisions of the Anti-Corruption Code.

An ICC press release confirmed that the three players had charged with “various offences under Article 2 of the ICC Anti-Corruption Code for Players and Player Support Personnel relating to alleged irregular behavior during, and in relation to, the fourth Test between England and Pakistan at Lord’s last month”.
These allegations revolve around an article in last Sunday’s News of the World, in which a 35-year-old man, Mazhar Majeed, claimed he had paid Asif and Amir to bowl no-balls to order.
The statement continued: "The three players, Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir, have been officially notified of the offences they are alleged to have committed and have been provisionally suspended pending a decision on those charges. In accordance with the provisions of the code, this means they are immediately barred from participating in all cricket and related activities until the case has been concluded.
“The players have a right to contest this provisional suspension and a further opportunity to defend these charges at a full hearing before an independent Anti-Corruption Tribunal in accordance with Article 5 of the code. The players have 14 days from their receipt of the charge sheet to indicate their desire for a hearing.”
On a day of hectic developments, officials from the ACSU met officials from Scotland Yard in relation to the ongoing investigation. The three players will be questioned by Scotland Yard early Friday morning. A local legal firm has been appointed to defend the players, with the PCB’s legal advisor, Taffazul Rizvi, also in London assisting the case.

On Thursday, Pakistan officials made a robust protestation of the players’ innocence, with the High Commissioner to the UK, Wajid Shamsul Hasan, suggesting in an interview with the BBC that the three men had been the victims of a “set-up”.

However, ICC’s chief executive, Haroon Lorgat, said: “We will not tolerate corruption in cricket - simple as that. We must be decisive with such matters and if proven, these offences carry serious penalties up to a life ban. The ICC will do everything possible to keep such conduct out of the game and we will stop at nothing to protect the sport’s integrity. While we believe the problem is not widespread, we must always be vigilant.
“We could not do anything before today because we had not completed the work that we needed to do and also we did not want to prejudice the criminal investigation the police were busy with,” added Lorgat, having emerged from an hour-long meeting that is not believed to have involved any officials from the PCB. “Having said all of that, we got into a position by 8pm today where we were able to charge the three players. We have provided them with their charge and provisionally suspended them giving them the opportunity to respond within 14 days.”
The ICC Anti-Corruption Code for Players and Player Support Personnel was updated and strengthened in 2009 with the unanimous support of ICC Members, and this is the first time that the power of suspension has been implemented. Going forward, an independent panel will investigate the matter, excluding the member country concerned - in this instance, Pakistan.
'It is important, however, that we do not pre-judge the guilt of these three players,” added Lorgat. “That is for the independent tribunal alone to decide.” Details of the date and location of the tribunal hearing (as well as its composition) will be finalised in due course.
Any player ultimately found to be guilty of committing an offence under the code would be subject to the sanctions described in Article 6 of the code. In this case, the alleged offences, if proved, would involve the imposition of a ban. There is also a possibility, at the discretion of the independent tribunal, that a fine would be imposed in addition to a ban.

It means they cant play any matches till further investigations

they can appeal till 14 days

Thats what I said in the other thread.. why the heck was pakistani high commissioner insisting they are innocent and caught by a setup. He should be very very careful

Hmm .. Maybe then this is true :
http://www.pakistanideology.com/pakistan-news/raws-role-in-cricket-scandal-daily-mail/

SID dont you know who Wajid Shamsulhasan is and what his history?

^^
whats his story

Good job ICC, its pathetic that PCB doesn't support players in other instances but here when we had a damning video they decided to support the players even going on to say that the video may have been made after-fact while Scotland Yard and ICC were taking the same video as authentic. In your face PCB!

This step should have been taken by PCB. now it looks like as if ICC has been forced to take it after the “brilliant” defence of these three by our ambassador. How unprofessional and pathetic our board is. Let wait for the next blunder by Ijaz brainless Butt.

I was expecting this.

It is quite clear the Scotland Yard believe the video is authentic. Add to that how Butt behaved in the press conference when he refused to directly say he was innocent, it is obvious these b@stards did something wrong.

I dont trust the PCB. As such it is good that the ICC and Scotland Yard are investigating...if found guilty they are the only ones who can apply a proper punishment to these thieves.

If it was the PCB...they would fine them ban then for 5 years then 4 months later remove the fine and ban on appeal.

Idiots.

What more can you expect from a corrupt moron like Wajid Shamsul Hassan? This action by ICC is a good slap on his face

“The International Cricket Council has suspended Salman Butt, Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif, the three players implicated in the Lord’s spot-fixing scandal, under the provisions of the Anti-Corruption Code.”

http://www.cricinfo.com/england-v-pakistan-2010/content/current/story/475624.html

Good move. PCB should have done that on the 1st day.

Good news!

The guys at PCB are idiots. They seem to go about in a state of permanent drunkenness. They NEVER know what's going on and how to react.

It's a good thing the ICC are investigating this time. Otherwise PCB would've handed down life bans by now and then revoked them next week.

And haven't you heard? It's a American plot to destroy Pakistan. Actually the Jews are very much afraid of "true Muslims" like Zaid Hamid and this is just one of their desperate attempts to give Pakistan a bad name. The Taliban are probably involved too. LOL :p Conspiracy Theorists lol

But honestly I'm still doubtful and surprised of why and how Kamran Akmal got cleared, wo bhi just in a day. It seems very fishy. And that reminds me of what Basit ali said about ICC committees, "wo to jee bilkul andhe hen.. unhe pata hi nai hai ke ho kya ra hai"..

I'm trying to get his vid

I am not sure, may be Mazhar Majeed didn't call him in the video? or may be for 'no-ball' keeper can't do much. I really wish he was goner too but oh well, we will have to wait for a while now :D

Also can some tell why is Wajid Shamsul Hasan involved in all of this? why is he coming out with statements instead of some one from PCB? What does he have to with cricket?

^ because he was concerned that there was a little respect for Pakistan still out there...