That Indian is a fool. Sehwag is a great batsmen? Tendulkar and Dravid are good. But has he seen Ganguly facing Shoaib Akhter? Gets embarassed everytime.
We got some pretty good players. Shoaib Malik, Yasir Hameed, Abdul Razzaq.
That Indian is a fool. Sehwag is a great batsmen? Tendulkar and Dravid are good. But has he seen Ganguly facing Shoaib Akhter? Gets embarassed everytime.
We got some pretty good players. Shoaib Malik, Yasir Hameed, Abdul Razzaq.
Wat is this Now every second match is Pakistan vs India... i mean i cant be fightin with indians all the time.. after all friendship is something.. pheley khali world cup mein fight hoti thee.. ab tu har dosray din... gettin annoyed..
Still excited.. Go Pakistan!
^ uffo nashukray log!! pehle na khelne ka ghum ab ziyada khelne ka ghum.
Look at the brighter side yaar. more we play to India, more ppl will take cricket as game not war. aur phir harj hi kiya hai tension lene ki koi zarorat nahi hai…hamara record hi behtar hoga
7 matches jeeteingay 1 haar jaayeginay, unko bhi tou khoosh karna hai :elmo:
Anyone notice the weather report for Birmingham for this weekend?
It’s raining all week except Sunday where we have some sun and some clouds. :k:
Things are looking good. I would hate the idea of having to progress to the semis without bursting India’s bubble first. ![]()
i dont mind us goin trhu to the semis a la rain
will b jus revenge fer the BP rule from the Asia Cup :D
India v Pakistan, Edgbaston, Pool C
Pakistan may have the edge, says Wright
Wisden Cricinfo staff
September 17, 2004
John Wright, India's coach, has suggested that Pakistan may hold a slight edge over India, as the two teams prepare for their crucial Champions Trophy group game at Edgbaston on Sunday.
"We'll have to play better than we have been in the last two matches against them," said Wright. "Everyone realises it, and that is a healthy sign. We all know we have to raise our game because Pakistan are a dangerous side. They are a well-balanced side and may have a slight edge. We have to win and do something special. The boys are very aware."
Wright also suggested that both Anil Kumble and Harbhajan Singh would make it into the final XI. "Obviously we have to win the match and we will exercise all options available, including playing two spinners," he said. "We have had a 3-1 policy [three seamers and one spinner], but we may have a second look at it. The pitch here has helped the spinners."
Wright backed Virender Sehwag, who is in a poor run of form at the moment. "He's a natural and needs to be encouraged," he said. "We have faith in his abilities. I think he is just two or three shots away from finding his form."
Meanwhile, Bob Woolmer, Wright's Pakistani counterpart, remained more tight-lipped about his game plan ahead of the encounter. "I have a plan, but why should I tell you? You'll tell the world," he quipped. "The weather conditions, pitch conditions. These factors will influence the playing XI."
Woolmer played down the risk presented by India's spinners, saying: "I know Harbhajan and Anil are very experienced bowlers, but [Shahid] Afridi and Shoaib [Malik] are very good spinners too. They are top-quality spinners in my opinion. I find this Pakistan team very disciplined, and captained by a very terrific leader.
"I tell my players not to worry about the pressure. This match is just another game. No-one knows what will happen. You can't predict in cricket. It's like reading a good novel where players write the story. Don't try to reach the end. Wait till you get to it."
© Wisden Cricinfo Ltd
May be its not a news to you guys but I just found that Bubloo Mian was born and raised in India before moving to England in his teenage. ![]()
Full Name: Robert Andrew Woolmer
Born: 14 May 1948, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
and then this…
Title : Woolmer’s Views
Author: Mercenary
Date: 26-06-04 12:28
I think some people tend to believe biased media articles far too easily.
Since Woolmers appointment people have accused him of all sorts of stuff including stating that no team should tour Pakistan and many other such wild presumptions. He was even asked this question on his Q&A site and he replied…
Quote:
I have been to Pakistan 5 times in the last two years I used to live their when I was eleven, I guess you shouldn’t believe all that yout friend says! (23 June 2004)
…most of us dont really know much about Woolmer. I’ve been reading through some of his old articles and I cant find anything negative about Pakistan. In fact he’s always positive about Pakistan and Pakistani players. Below are some quotes from the articles on his website…
Woolmer on Pakistan the country
13 - Sept 2000 - Today, Pakistan is, in my opinion, a wonderful place to tour. It has quite categorically some of the best pitches for batting in the world.
13 - Sept 2000 - Cricket in Pakistan is of high quality and England will have to get into first gear very quickly. We have talked briefly about the pitches and on the whole they are batsman friendly, but spinners and fast bowlers have been able to take wickets there.
13 - Sept 2000 - My final advice to the team would be: Embrace Pakistan from the word go. It is a proud cricketing country and by understanding their culture and becoming Pakistani for six weeks, England’s players will be far more successful.
04 Jun 2001 - Pakistan were really competing, in front of fantastic crowds over the weekend. Only the temperature fell short of the required standard.
Woolmer on the Pakistan team
17 Sep 2001 - Don’t forget Pakistan either, under an inspired Waqar Younis they came back from a hiding at Lord’s to a memorable victory at Old Trafford.
04 Jun 2001 - Darren Gough and Andrew Caddick were put to the sword, and the absence of Craig White was glaringly obvious. Michael Vaughan, still an occasional off-spinner at this level, was not allowed to settle. Pakistan were really competing,
07 Apr 2004
13 - Sept 2000 - Most important for the team will be to find the correct length to bowl and how best to use the local ball and get it to reverse swing, a skill that the Pakistan team have down to a fine art.
13 - Sept 2000 - I, however, believe that Pakistan’s strength is their pace attack and, if they prepare spinners’ wickets, they will nullify their real expertise. Pakistan have some exciting players but are in the process of blooding youngsters who are potentially fine players.
Woolmer on Pakistani Players
04 Jun 2001 - Inzamam-ul-Haq played a superlative innings. Essentially an on-side player, not too bad on the off-side, and an imperious puller, he destroyed the much-vaunted England attack to such an extent that there were rumblings over the weekend that England were vulnerable again.
04 Jun 2001 - Thorpe has become the best middle-order batsman in England and played beautifully until taking a run which probably was there except for the supreme athleticism of Wasim Akram.
04 Jun 2001 - Wasim, playing his last Test in England, showed why he has been the most respected bowler in world cricket for years. Two lefties I know - Gary Kirsten and Brian Lara - thought he was the best.
Woolmer on India and Indian Players - ever wondered why the Indians are so anti-Woolmer and incredibly upset about him becoming the Pakistan coach? Look at what he has to say about them!
26 Nov 2001 - South Africa and India are leading cricket nations, who both have full representation on the ICC. They assist in appointing the match officials, so it is no use squealing like children when decisions go against them. They have brought this noble game into disrepute by undermining the authority of match referee Mike Denness and yesterday’s mixed signals from India over whether the Indian selectors will defy the ICC and select Virender Sehwag to play England next week suggest no great hurry to repair the damage.
26 Nov 2001 - Many excuses and reasons have been thrown into the pot to explain the behaviour of the last few days. Sachin Tendulkar can never cheat say some Indians, Denness was racist went another argument, while others tried to turn the focus on South African captain Shaun Pollock and his alleged habit of screaming his appeals. Just what example are we creating for the game that we serve when effigies of Denness are burned on Indian streets?
26 Nov 2001 - Having been born and raised in India and having toured there with England as a player and then as coach with South Africa, I am fully aware of the fanaticism that the cricket fans have.
26 Nov 2001 - I hope that at the next meeting of the ICC India and South Africa are censured for their vigilante stance.
13 Apr 2004 - Brian Lara for all his faults his idiosyncrasies is quite the most prolific run getter of this generation 7 double hundreds, I am afraid Sachin has a long way to go to beat those statistics. It is official Brian Lara is the best batsman in the World as of April 12th 2004.
Is Woolmer anti-Indian then? - If you take the above quotes in isolation and out of context then Woolmer does appear to be a little anti-Indian but thats not true. In fact he comes down just as hard on South Africa as he does on India. The problem is that fanatical Indians such as those found on ICF like to hate people for any anti-India statement! In fact he has made just as many pro-Indian statements as shown below…
26 Nov 2001 - Indian people are friendly people, but they have been stirred up by the poor handling of the affair.
16 Apr 2004 - Pakistan and India have just given us all a real exhibition of cricket. As I write India have taken their first series in Pakistan and deservedly so, thanks to some brilliant batting by Rahul Dravid a truly fantastic innings by a real gentleman of the game.
26 Nov 2001 - India is the most wonderful of countries in which to play Test cricket, the atmosphere is just incredible, in fact second to none. The fans idolise the players, Tendulkar is an icon, always portrayed as Mr Clean, and I believe him to be just that. His offence of picking the seam is a relatively minor one.
…so in conclusion it would seem that Bob is quite a balanced and unbiased individual who appreciates good cricket whoever is playing it. His positive comments about Pakistan and Pakistani cricket were made years ago and at that time he was under no obligation to be nice or to say positive things about Pakistan.
The best bit for me is that Bob seems to be genuinely excited by Pakistani players and Pakistani cricket! Lets hope he has the junoon to take the team to the next level…
so GUYS, at what time the MATCH will START AS PER USA WEST COAST TIME....
Nice quote by Babloo Chaacha:
"You can't predict in cricket. It's like reading a good novel where players write the story. Don't try to reach the end. Wait till you get to it."
*Originally posted by phoenixdesi: *
so GUYS, at what time the MATCH will START AS PER USA WEST COAST TIME....
2:15 AM Pacific
Originally posted by the_paindoo: *
I fear a wicket supporting swing may bring our downfall. Nehra, Irfan Pathan and Agarkar will get the ball moving around. Our batting on seaming swing wicket is not something worth mentioning.
Apart from Inzamam and **Youhana* no batsman has “successful” English condition experience. This will be a big test of Shoaib Malik at the new NO 3 position. So I think this will be a tough match for Pakistan to say the least. Positive is that there is no Tendulkar and that is not only loss for the Indian batting but also a psychological boost for the Pakistan side. Pakistan will also be going in as favorites and we know how predictable they are….
Good points but I don't recall Youhana doing anything spectacular on English pitches. Can you(or anyone else) give an example apart from English county games?
I think this match will also get rained out. ENGLAND SUX!
Here is the babe!
[thumb=H]iccct12750_9092780.JPG[/thumb]
^^ This is beautiful!
I can just imagine Inzi cow holding it up along with this middle finger pointed at the indian crowd :p
*Originally posted by funguy: *
2:15 AM Pacific
thank you FG
the trophy is similar to world cup 1999's trophy .. isn`t it .. ? ..
ya it is
lol...cant say nethi bout thi game...predictions never work
*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
Here is the babe!
[thumb=H]iccct12750_9092780.JPG[/thumb]
I guess Aussies would disagree with u handing this trophy to the ICC for this Tourney ..... It's the Worldcup mate
here is the ICC Champions Trophy
[thumb=H]115637_5464002.JPG[/thumb]
but…inshallah pakistan will win it
inshllah i hope so too.....the match is excatly 12 hr away and i can not take any more pressure...........too much excitement...please dont talk big...be humble and always say inshallah.......lets hope for the best......i am little scared though......