ICC Champions Trophy - Aug-Sep England

Not that I want to start a premature discussion, but just need to figure out if it makes sense to purchase the PPV ($249). And that means, basically how many matches will be there that may be of interest to me.

The teams are in four pools:

Pool 1
Australia
New Zealand
United States of America

Pool 2
South Africa
West Indies
Bangladesh

Pool 3
Pakistan
India
Kenya

Pool 4
Sri Lanka
England
Zimbabwe

One team from each group will go into the semi-final.

Pakistan’s matches are
9/14 - Tue: vs Kenya
9/19 - Sun: vs India

Both semi-finals are middle of the week (Tue & Thu). With D&N matches and time difference, chances are that the matches will start at about 6 am PT.

Hmmm… what do you guys say? IYO, is it worth it?

ps. One match that no one should miss is 9/13 (Mon) - Aus vs USA.

Re: ICC Champions Trophy - Aug-Sep England

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

ps. One match that no one should miss is 9/13 (Mon) - Aus vs USA.

someone record it for me

We know the 3 Semi FInalist alread.. AUS,ENG & SA.
Who will be 4th.... find out on 19/9 :p

You think SL will roll over for Eng? They may just might make a match of it.

And regarding the 4th Semi Finalist... I am holding my bids.

Not that I want to start a premature discussion, but just need to figure out if it makes sense to purchase the PPV ($249). And that means, basically how many matches will be there that may be of interest to me.

$250 is not worth it.

How 7? I calculate 6.

3 matches in Holland cup (assuming Pak reaches finals)
3 matches in Champions Trophy (assuming Pak reaches semis).

Or did you also add the final of Champions Trophy, just for the heck of it?

This is about $35-42 per match. Blah!

How 7? I calculate 6.

3 matches in Holland cup (assuming Pak reaches finals)
3 matches in Champions Trophy (assuming Pak reaches semis).

Or did you also add the final of Champions Trophy, just for the heck of it?

This is about $35-42 per match. Blah!

I calcuated 7 based on only Champions Trophy. If you add Holland cup then it will be 11.

My definition of intresting match is all the matches which will not involve minnows like BD,USA,Kenya,ZIM...

If you only care about Pakistan match then it will be 4. or Maximum 7 if Pakistan goes to Final of Holland cup and Champions Trophy.

Well practically speaking we can only watch the matches on the weekends, so here you go

Sat (9/11): India vs Kenya (who cares)
Sun (9/12): SA vs Bang (who cares)

Sat (9/18): SA vs WI (who cares)
Sun (9/19): Pak vs Ind (Ok!)

Sat (9/25): Final (What are the odds for Pakistan?)

So, paisay bhi do, chutti bhi karo aur phir araam say haartay dekho. Doesn't sound too appetizing.

Well practically speaking we can only watch the matches on the weekends, so here you go

Sat (9/11): India vs Kenya (who cares)
Sun (9/12): SA vs Bang (who cares)

Sat (9/18): SA vs WI (who cares)
Sun (9/19): Pak vs Ind (Ok!)

Sat (9/25): Final (What are the odds for Pakistan?)

So, paisay bhi do, chutti bhi karo aur phir araam say haartay dekho. Doesn't sound too appetizing.

Baat to Sahi hai.. But who told you Matches are D&N.I think all of them are day matches and this will work fine for people in West coast excewpt for last 2 hours of game. :D
Pretty much same as last night's game.

Best part about ICC trophy is this

There are reserve days for all matches. This means that there will be no Duckworth/Lewis recalculations on the first scheduled match day. If a match cannot be completed on the scheduled day, play will continue into the following day where recalculations can be made if required.

predications are here........

Pool 1
Australia
New Zealand
United States of America

ain't it obvious? Australia qualifies for the semi-final with its "B/C/D" team... i could have make the case for New Zealand against Aussies but there is no news on Shane Bond yet OR has it?

as for USA - well they just need to show up......

Pool 2
South Africa
West Indies
Bangladesh

South Africa qualifies for the semi-final - West Indies doesn't have calibre bowlers - Bangladesh? Puh-lease!!!!!!

Pool 3
Pakistan
India
Kenya

India qualifies while Pakistan will be suffering from extra runs, middle disorder and poor fielding by the time they are knocked out - wouldn't be surprised if Pakistan gets beaten by Kenya!!!!!!!

Pool 4
Sri Lanka
England
Zimbabwe

COME ON ENGLAND! England side has well re-group after world cup - and since the tournament will be played in England - no worries for England - tho Sri Lanka could make a run for the money - however - i'll go with the English boys!!!!

so in the semi finals - Australia, South Africa, India and England qualifies.

1st Semi-Final: Australia vs England: Australia wins it - tho i will be rooting for England so that i could say....Finally, England beat Australia! but that's wishing thinking......:(

2nd Semi-Final: India vs South Africa: i have not seen South Africa play since last summer they tour England - so i am gonna go ahead and give Indian side - the edge since they have been flourishing lately........

ICC Championship Final - Australia vs India aka World Cup 2003 re-match: Bring it on...

Winners: Australia..........otherwise England by default if they beat Aussies... :D

p.s. are we gonna have Fantasy Cricket? If so......COUNT ME IN......

There are two batsmen in the USA team whom I have gotten out on numerous occassions. Can you believe that they will be facing the likes of Brett Lee and Glen McGrath?

Faisal, find out if any local business joints would be showing the matches for a low admission fee. That would be your best bet.

Faisal,
I just saw an ad on Zee TV sayin they're broadcasting all the matches... agey Allah jaaney!

Oh.. I am sure I have plenty of friends who will be ordering it anyway (jazba junoon), and if at all, we can pool too.. just the thought of shilling out $249 to see Pak lose is quite unappetizing.

*Originally posted by funguy: *

Faisal, find out if any local business joints would be showing the matches for a low admission fee. That would be your best bet.

Well.. !!!! You are not married. :D

*Originally posted by Umar Talib: *
Faisal,
I just saw an ad on Zee TV sayin they're broadcasting all the matches... agey Allah jaaney!

any other channel broadcasting the matches?

no idea Nancy,

I think ARY will show the Holland Cup and Zee will show both the Holland cup and Champions Trophy (at least that's what I got out of the ads for the respective channels).

Ciao.

U got it all wrong people ikt isnt the 90's anymore young blood is taking over
my semi finalists:
pool1: U.S
POOL 2: bANGLA bOYS
POOL 3: Kenya
pool 4 : Zim

semi:
winnner: U.S
winner: Kenya

Final
winner : U.S

and then free cricket channel in North America

The teams are in four pools:

Pool 1
Australia
New Zealand
United States of America

Pool 2
South Africa
West Indies
Bangladesh

Pool 3
Pakistan
India
Kenya

Pool 4
Sri Lanka
England
Zimbabwe

One team from each group will go into the semi-final.

Pakistan's matches are
9/14 - Tue: vs Kenya
9/19 - Sun: vs India
9/13 (Mon) - Aus vs USA.

i for some reason feel that Pakistan could get to the finals...and possibly win...aussies havnt had such a gud time in chamnps trofy...but den again..england is a fav hunting gorund fer aussies (and also pak)...so maybe repeet of 99 WC final??

epsecailly the way they playe din Asia Cup (barring the Lanka Match)...and we hav the dutch torny ...which will giv us sum practis against the worlds best