ICC Awards: Aleem Dar is Umpire of the Year, Dilshan wins T-20 award

Dilshan wins Twenty20 award | NZ win Spirit of Cricket award | Porterfield is Associate Player | Dar is Umpire of the Year

Aleem Dar
Pakistan’s Aleem Dar was named Umpire of the Year at the ICC Awards in Johannesburg. Dar, 41, was voted for this award by the 10 Full-Member captains as well as the eight-man Elite Panel of match referees, based on his decision statistics over the last 12 months.
It was the first time he had received an ICC award, and he collected the trophy from ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat. “I am very pleased to get this award,” Dar said. "Thanks to the PCB and ICC, as well as my friends and family and of course my wife, who I have to leave for long periods of time.
“Normally I am quite calm and so the pressure is not big for me. It is important to stay cool and if you make a mistake you can’t let it get to you. You have to concentrate all the time.”
Dar, who made his international debut as an umpire in 2000, joined the Elite Panel in 2004. He beat strong competition from his colleagues Asad Rauf, Tony Hill and five-time ICC Umpire of the Year Simon Taufel. In the voting period of these awards, Dar stood in seven Tests and eight ODIs, as well as the World Twenty20 in England.

Tillakaratne Dilshan
Sri Lankan batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan has won the ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year award in recognition of his breezy 96 off 57 balls against West Indies in the semi-final of the 2009 World Twenty20 in England. Dilshan’s performance at The Oval included two sixes and 12 fours and helped steer his side into the finals of the tournament.
This is the second year the award has been given to recognise the most impressive performance by a player in Twenty20 internationals during the 12-month voting period, continuing to mark the advent of the shortest format of the game.
The award rounds off a good year of Twenty20 cricket for Dilshan who took the World Twenty20 by storm after showcasing his astonishing ‘Dilscoop’ - a flick-shot over his head - and also being named as Player of the Tournament, having scored 317 runs at 52.83.
According to the ICC Awards 25-member voting academy Dilshan’s effort was the most impressive in the voting period between August 13, 2008 to August 24, 2009.
His performance beat competition from West Indies’ Chris Gayle for his 88 off 50 balls against Australia, also during the 2009 World Twenty20 at the Oval; Umar Gul’s 5 for 6 for Pakistan against New Zealand in the same tournament, as well as twin efforts from Shahid Afridi - a blitzkreig 51 off 34 balls and 2 for 16 against South Africa in the semi-final.
Collecting his award from last year’s winner, Yuvraj Singh, Dilshan said: "This is a great feeling for me. I can’t forget about that innings - it was so important and I was really happy about my overall performance in that tournament. It was a thrill for me to do well in England and do well for my team.
“I’m really proud of myself for having a new shot named after me (the Dilscoop). That shot has given me confidence. If I am under pressure I can play that shot and put the pressure back on the bowlers.”

Re: ICC Awards: Aleem Dar is Umpire of the Year, Dilshan wins T-20 award

:k: Congrats to them. Well deserving winners. But I thought Gul should have won.

:k: to Aleem Dar

and I second a1kashur. both Gul and Dilshan performed wonderfully but in the end it was Gul who MADE the difference and took the team THROUGH to finish line.

Dhoni name ODI player of the year :k:

Dhoni named ODI Player of the Year | Cricket News | Cricinfo ICC Site | Cricinfo.com

Gambhir is Test player of the year :slight_smile:

Gambhir is Test player of the year | Cricket News | Cricinfo ICC Site | Cricinfo.com

Congrats to all the other winners…

I think the fact that Dilshan was named “Player of the tournament” was also instrumental in him winning the ICC T-20 award.

FULL OF CRAP ICC.................. and there AWARDS......

**WOW .. Aleem Dar finally got the award… :biggthumb:

that was crap too. For years we have been listening this crap from so called experts that

"although player A also played good and in fact did more runs/wickets as compare to B, but it was because of B, his team won the game/tournament"

and for the same reason Owais Shah got the MOM award instead of smith although Smith showed real fight and made more than Owais too

congrats to aleem dar , dilshan , dhoni and gambhir.. well deserved to all.

Congrats Aleem Dar, Gambhir and Dhoni.

I am not convinved at all with the T20 performace award. If I am not mistaken the nomintions were made NOT on the basis of overall performance but performance during a game.

I would rate Afridi’s allround performance with the bat and ball against the favourites Saffies in a close semi final matchmuch much higher than Dilshan’s performance against Windies in an totally one sided semi final.

In my opinion the Pakistan South Africa game was one of the most excitig games of the tournament. Sorry but I don’t think Dilshan is the worthy winner of this award.

this is a pakistani forum for god sake

dont act like kanye west :chai:

And what about Graeme Smith? In a year in which he led South Africa to the top of ICC rankings in both tests and ODIs (I know Aus. has now reclaimed no. 1 spot in ODIs) he was not nominated for any award!!

So since its a Pakistani forum and the two biggest awards did not go to a Pakistani/went to Indians, we shouldn’t talk about those two ?

OK..fine. Carry on…

I agree there is nothing wrong in praising the true winners.

Btw, if you don't mind try something for me on an Indian forum just to see what happens. Put a Pakistani flag in your Avatar, writer Pakistan Zindabad below it, write Phir bhi dil hai Pakistani under your username, Praise Pakistan on their win over India......and then see what happens to you.

Please do let me know the Indian site that won't kick you out, so that I may also join that forum.

gul took us thru and had a major in hand in bringing the trophy home... yet dilshan walks away with the award and the 20twenty player of the tournament?

BS

Its based on ECB/BCCI chamcha rule…
no saffies in the mix either…
wonder how blackcaps got awarded…maybe best sidekicks in the meetings…:hoonh:

NZ got spirit of the cricket award. Means they dont care much about win/lose. they dont play it hard … just play it Allah Tawakal now if they dont win, is main NZ ka keya qasoor? NS’s award has more to do with Ikhlaqiyaaat, adl-o-insaf and afu-o-darguzar than cricket :slight_smile:

And also - if Dilshan was the hot shot of the tourny, then how come in the Final crunch game, young Aamer scooped him out of his wicket (drum roll please for that togue in cheek joke)…
So should I give it to Aamer then??

And I actually agree with you on Afridi being more deserving as well as that game being the best of the tourny…

:yawn: And your point is ??

Exactllyy full of crap ICC and there awards