“hello hello guys…My son gonna turn his 3 this december, Inshallah. going through different schools’ list in our area (We live in SuiGas society,DHA Lahore) we agreed upon to get him registered in Ibne Sina..though LGS is just a walk away from my place but still i dont want him to go there coz of certain reasons. so anybody here who is sending his/her child to Ibne Sina..or may I have some good recommendations please!!!”
Ibn e sina is great, I know people who went their as kids and are well settled in their professional lives, some even working abroad now. Another really good school is alma.
-top of the list was corporal punishment of children right from grade one. I went many times to talk to the teacher but she never stopped. I told my son to tell the teacher next time she hits him that my parents will report you tot he police next time you touch me and I got a call from school at that to talk to the rector who said this is the only way to control boys :halo: his words were: Ap bhi tau maarti hoangi ghar per kabhi kabhi, hum ne maara tau kya ho gya’ and I told him mothers hardly tolerate when fathers talk to kids in raised voices and how do you expect any teacher will touch the child for reasons like they donot sit in their place or are not quiet ? needless to say the Games teacher used punjabi abusive language with children who were slow in running or games.
-There was no arrangement of generators or fans during load shedding. I saw kids with bleeding from nose every other day because of heat. They kept saying they use generators but my sister who lived 2 houses away from the school said she has never heard the generator working either. The school is not a low-fee school, it is a private school with fee structure more than regular schools of same calibre, NO extracurricular activities except arts and the games and the worst school buildings have generators arranged so atleast they can have fans for children during long loadshedding hours.
-The work was NEVER checked till a week of doing it. When asked, they told a teacher looks after 7-8 sections i.e. 140-150 students per day for a subject and it was not possible to check 150 copies every day..so we need to wait for atleast 4 days for work to be checked. (they had hired frustrated housewives with minimum qualification/experience who needed some time away from homes and hence minimal salaries) this was a major turn-off for me
the rector told he has appointed women with issues at home on humanitarian basis..for eg, one teacher has no children after many years of marriage, another has parents with disabling diseases, one has a husband who went abroad after the wedding and never turned back for years (these were his exact explanations) so we should understand such women might get harsh to children at times, I told he needs to open an asylum instead of running a school and ruining the personalities of our children in hands of people with problems that they cannot handle on their own :halo:
All month of May, kids were not allowed to use the washrooms at all and were told to hold the poop/pee till they go home because the water supply was out of order. You can imagine how it would have been for children of playgroup/nursery esp. who were in school 7-1pm !! The administrator when asked told that we should know that the building is 26 years old and pipes have rotten away so it is natural that such issues can show up. I asked what is the admission fee for? not for maintenance of the building? and she told I can send extra water bottles with kids so they can use the washrooms in school !!
I went to them with complains and suggestions many times and got stupid justifications&finally decided to run away ASAP. My sister had two sons there and she had same complaints so I was not the only one. I even surrendered the refundable security because they were making crazy conditions .. youu know yahan paisay lainay kay sub shair hain..daitay waqt maut parr jati hai..and I finally told keep the sadqa on behalf of my children and take it home to feed your families !!
There was no point in staying for a day in such an institution. I dont care if they get the O levels done a year earlier(grade 10) as compared to all other schools (grade 11) if they cannot take care of basic needs and requirements of the children. I know they have well settled graduates right now b those graduated were in the school 15-18 years from now when the situation might have been better.
Oh my God, reason number 1 is bad enough, and the rest sound terrible. Can’t believe a school in dha is like that. Won’t be recommending this school to anyone. Glad you got the kids out.
Worst part was parents I ever talked to were Allah knows what should I say about them. They all agreed to all problems above but never talked to authorities about any of it in fear of teachers developing grudges against their kids. So whenever I went with a complaint,I was told yeh masla apko he hai, aur tau kabhi kisi ne kuch nai kaha :smack :
My kids went march-may this year. Summer vacation homework was to cover 50% of the course at home and they said this is how it’s always been. 10 years may O-levels nai karana?
Oh my Godddddddd…really!!! Ok so now its off the list. What about DHA kindergarten? I read somewhere that you werent noy comfortable with LGS…whts the expeirence so far?
Tashfeen, although my son is currently going to LGS 39-main gulberg branch, my best experience was with Resource Academia. I changes it because my husband wanted an all-boys school for the kids but I regret for agreeing to change from RA. The elder one went to RA for preschool till class 1 and on basis of what he learnt all those years,he made through all admission tests of the schools I tried for him during summer break including lgs johar town which is said to be the hardest to qualify. My younger is going to RA for his preschool for now because lgs 39 main branch has classes 1 and onwards. I might shift my elder one back to RA in a couple of years because I feel they were better than what they’re teacher at lgs right now.
Yaar my husband was of opinion jahan se chora hai,wahan wapis nai Jana warna my first choice after Ibne sina was back to resource academia. So he heard from few colleagues about this branch of lgs being the best after johar town branch so we opted this one for the elder son and planned to shift the younger one in class one. But secretly my plans are to shift the elder one back in few years iA. Lgs is getting notorious with crazy raise in dues every time they send out the fee bill plus they’re adding elite school taxes in a month 10% of total fees on all lgs schools.
Hmmmm…So you would recommend RA.which branch to be specific? We live in sui gas society, i.e DHA IV..sending my son out of DHA wouldnt be a wise thing to do in the beginning.
At this level, resource will be out of your way unless you have a workplace near gulberg. Why dont you check with the phase 7 DHA branch of SCIL? That’s my dream school lol but totally out of my way because I live in model town