I would like to thank the Pakistani leader who modernized Pak telecom in the 90's.

I don’t know if it was Benzair or Nawaz, but whoever did it, thank you for that. No one appreciates the good things our leaders did, they only remember the bad things. But I for one will take this opportunity to remember a good thing.

If you didn’t have relatives abroad, or you didn’t call Pakistan from abroad then it probably doesn’t mean much to you. But to me it does. We had relatives calling from US and KSA, and we would call them too. With the old telephone system there were no direct international calls. You had to call an operator who would dial the number for you.

Just getting to the operator was hard, and after the calls were made, they would get disconnected very often. You had to shout most of the time, and there was lots of static. This meant whenever someone called from abroad, the whole house knew. I feel sorry for the lovers who would call each other, trying to get some romantic talking done.

A lot of these problems went away during the early to mid 90’s. People could direct dial, voice was very clear just like talking locally, and calls would not get disconnected so often. Just this little thing made us feel as if we were making progress.

The 90’s were an awesome time.

Re: I would like to thank the Pakistani leader who modernized Pak telecom in the 90's

and the call was booked for only three minutes..

90's was the awesome time for sure... some golden days in the student life:D ...

in early 90's, we got Cricket world cup too....

Re: I would like to thank the Pakistani leader who modernized Pak telecom in the 90's

and snooker and hockey.

Kurli na baymanti aur teendabby walay nay pakarli!

hahaha.. Mostar bhai... I knew you were going to come and say this.... I have been a hockey fan too but after the legends went away, I lost the interest :(

In 1991 the Pakistan Telegraph and Telephone Department was converted into an autonomous body - Pakistan Telecommunications Corporation and then in 1995 it became a company under the Companies Ordinance 1984 and was re-named as Pakistan Telecommunications Company Limited.

Nawaz Sharif was sitting on the thorne of Islamabad then (1991) and Benazir was in charge in 1995.

I left the country in 1995.. went in 98 when pakistan conducted nuclear tests.. it was nawaz time again.

Infact, the expatrait Pakistanies were the main source of revenue of PTCL during those days. The % of the Overseas Telecommunication Region in Karachi and Islamabad was almost 30% and that all in valueable foreign exchange.

Re: I would like to thank the Pakistani leader who modernized Pak telecom in the 90’s

:cb:

Mian Javed was the chairman of the company then. After his retirement a Chartered Accountant was given the charge, I think some Baig Sahib. There were many big names in telecommunication then - Sajjad Shah, SA Naqvi, Haris - they were all experts in their field.

Mostar bhai... good info... when did fiber optics was introduced in telephone exchange system?

I know by mid 90's most of the exchanges went digital... phone numbers were changed from 6 digits to 7..

Excess of overseas incoming calls over the ones made from Pakistan over many many years helped PTCL to finance in new technology during the 90's. As a result PTCL was able to procure exchanges and cables from Alcatel, Erricson, Siemens, Azka Rabak, etc.

I think it was completed in 1995.

you mean the digital lines?

Not really.. it was mostly completed but I know few cases which took few more years to get digitalized at least in Karachi.

During the digital expansion of 1990-1995, due to mismanagement and fraudulent activities of PTCL employees and PCO Mafia, PTCL suffered a loss of some 5 billion rupees alone in Karachi.

No optic fibre cable from Karachi to Islamabad.

really? optic fibre cable was there between the capital and karachi by mid 90's ? :-O

I think so. I'll try to get it confirmed. The project was financed by Asian Developement Bank, I think.

that will be awesome..
it will be good if we can put all the information like that here...