I will stay, no matter some one participates in elections or otherwise: Musharraf'

Alhamdulilallah. This is indeed good news for Pakistan.
No need to write obituaries yet. :jhanda:

http://paktribune.com/news/index.shtml?182609

I will stay, no matter some one participates in elections or otherwise: Musharraf

**ISLAMABAD: President General Pervez Musharraf has reiterated election will take place in fair and transparent manner adding he will stay no matter some one participates in election or other wise. **

“Elections will be held in fair and transparent manner. I will stay here no matter if some one takes part in elections or otherwise”, he said this while addressing media workshop in National Defence University and replying to the questions from the journalists here Friday.

Replying to a question he said if some political parties want to boycott elections on the basis of their reservations on voters list they are at liberty to do so.
“This is very significant year. It will play pivotal role for promotion of democracy in the country. Country will move forward”, President Musharraf underlined.
He did not give any reply to the question posed in regard to his uniform.
President he would address the nation next week and would make certain key announcements.

Regarding Lal Masjid president indicated talks on all levels were held with Lal Masjid management. Even Imam-e-Kaaba was invited but they did not agree to any thing.

What activities take place in Lal Masjid, media portrays them in negative manner, he said adding Lal Masjid administration is keeping contact with the insurgents hiding in tribal areas. Suicide attackers are also there in Lal Masjid besides children and women. “ We are ready to take action against them just now but such action may lead to massive killings.

About judicial crisis he said media highlighted the issue beyond limits despite restrictions from judiciary . Some selected people are invited in talk shows and only one issue is being repeatedly discussed. Media may criticize the government but it should take into consideration its positive aspects too . Bitterness of the past should be buried and government and media should work together, he stressed. National dignity should not be hurt. We have to counter the menaces of extremism and terrorism, he underscored.

Foreign terrorists were killed in large number in Waziristan operation, he told. They included 12 Arabs, 2 Uzbeks and 2 Turkish but the media relayed the news of children only. “ I assure you they were receiving training in terror related activities. We have evidence with us. The media gave a constitutional and legal matter ethnic color on May, 12, he regretted. They should not have done so.
He pointed out that a book on the economic interests of army had been authored. “ It has hurt my feelings. Several military officers and soldiers retire at the age ranging between 35 to 45 years. Fouji Foundation, Army Welfare Trust and other institutions are working for the welfare of army. 60 percent civilians are working there. As many as 36 billion rupees were paid to national kitty by these institutions . Even then propaganda blitz is unleashed against the army.

“ I believe in free media as it is first defence line, he said adding heavy responsibility however rests with the media that it should work for national interest. In 2009 I despite opposition from my cabinet issued licenses for electronic media. I still believe in the full fledged freedom and sovereignty of media, he remarked. I ensured the freedom of media, he added

Re: I will stay, no matter some one participates in elections or otherwise: Musharraf

"I will stay here"... stay where? as in "President" stay? "COAS" stay? or Musharraf stay? or 'all' stay? Does it mean that he is declaring that he has an inside deal with all politicians now? or is declaring war against all parties and be arrogant-self and not go even if his tenure expires?

Re: I will stay, no matter some one participates in elections or otherwise: Musharraf

Allah knows best. Watch this space :)

all those who had hopes that he will announce his retirement or hold free elections are mistaken, he will stick to power at any cost even at the cost of lives or integrity of pakistan because he has a delusion that he is the best, his days are numbered it seems

:jhanda:

There must be a change in our leadership, either Mushrraff must change his ways, policies and colleagues or expect to loose the election. Fact of the matter is the alliance between Mushrraff and Bush has not paid any profit for the region or American interest. The alliance that was based between to leaders, buddies with no involvement of public, be it Pakistani or American have not made us safer. We need to be discussing the future of Pakistan rather trusting him to lead us. There must be active public involvement.

Two things to see from Mushrraff; whether there is free and fair election, second his alliance. The world is still skeptical on whether there is going to be fair election in Pakistan. If there are, than Mushrraff or his party may not win re-election. This is because their party members are loyal to their seats rather constituency or issues. They do not have the solid public support of the people and with Mushrraff loosing the aura that he had before, he would not be able to persuade the voters just by showing at the rally.

^ Even if PML(Q) lose their grounds in elections, Mushrraf can still struck deal with PPP and remain in power. Only party with which deal is almost impossible at the moment is PML(N) (although anything is possible in politics) but then chances of PML(N) of winning fair elections or getting the position of king maker is next to 0. Other than PML(N) all parties including PPP, MQM, PML(Q), ANP, MMA etc can struck deal with Musharraf and they have proved it in past!

I have no problem with Musharraf being the leader, problem is his party. They are bunch of lotays and feudal politicians. If PPP can over run the election, with alliance of centrists and secualr parties. We can actually see things get done in our parliment.

The fact of the matter that we still have Lal Masjid and Hudood Ordinance in our country is the failure of PML (Q). These issues are discussed via parliment not President.

yaar MWAP what things did you see get done in parliament the last 2 times PPP was in power?

President sahab Is a lambi race ka ghora.

We have to refresh our political system. We can not just go by the past, lets see what other parties have it for future. Clearly, current parliment has not lived up to standard. They have left their own leader as lame duck, while Lal Masjid and Huddod Ordinance continue to haunt us.

I agree we hve to see what parties have for future..I dont find much in what their plans are. Something I have been stating in teh forums for a while that I dont see a real agenda from political parties. In absence of a real agenda, plan and timeline etc, all I have to go by is past performance which was lackluster ..and I am being generous here.

why dont we have debates like they do in US..ask questions, amke hem give numbers, facts, figures, costs, sources of revenue etc and defend that.

He actually said: I will stay - dumb, ignorant and try to catch the last straw to be in power as my greed level have exponentially elevated with each passing day.

^ oh did ZAB speak from his grave?

no it was Zia - Musharaf's daddy another dictator.. u may sweat all ur life but peopel were with ZAB in 1977 and are with him today :)

were they with him in 1971 too? :)

yes

b/w the post was about Musharaf and his statement about his stay - why u draggeed ZAB in it as usual.. ur suffering from ZAB fobia from the childhood stories u heard from some of ur relatives as u once mentioned!

All these people who think they will not go or are indispensable to the nation find out the hard way that one fine morning they are no longer, be their brothers in wardi who come knocking on the door (Ayub and Yahya) or mysterious trips in C130. Mush will meet the same fate and soon, Inshallah.

There is more of a chance to see the cow jump over the moon than fair, free and transparent elections held under the dictator.