I will not be responsible for the failure of Pakistan in WC, Nasim Ashraf

According to one article in UrduPoint, Nasim Ashraf will not take the responsibility of the failure of Pakistan in WC2007. He said that he is being the president for 4 months only.

It is statement of PCB chairman who is already distressed about the prospects of Pakistani Team. He needs to get sacked as soon as possible.

Even if we accept that he is true to his faith, I will not agree with him as following events happened under his tenure.

1. Sack of Waqar Younis when he was responsible to the bowling results against West Indies.
  2. Hiring of Mushtaq Ahmed to coach Pakistan fast bowlers when he is only the leg spinner.
  3. Intere in the so-called selection policy of PCB by sending half-fit Shoaib Akhtar to SA when he should be rested for the WC.
  4. Controversy of Bob Woolmer and Shoaib Akhtar.
    *]Failed Contract Negotiations with Pakistani Team Trainer when WC is only 1 months away
    How can you disagree with all these Mr. Chairman Nasim Ashraf. Please President General Pervez Musharraf, this so-called Badmaash is working with no goals other than collecting funds from PCB.

Re: I will not be responsible for the failure of Pakistan in WC, Nasim Ashraf

Hold your horses Taj bhai, I completely agree with N. Ashraf that he cannot be hold respnsible if Pakistan team dont do well in WC '07.

Waqa! Saga: Yes he did made some difference when it came to bowling and he was praised by Rana and Gul. but he came on a bit arrogant when he was on GEO, I can only imagine, how he might have talked behind close doors, he argue that he went to Saudia for Haj without informing the management; that can be the sole reason to fire him. and he says it was not in his contract? Fine you were a great bowler in your own time but now you are a coach, you had issues that you didnt get a chance to serve at the NA coz there were too many chef in the kitchen, Only if you could have talked to streamline that issue, I am not implying that it was soley his fault but pcb and he coulld have done a better job solving his problems behind close doors. my answer is you cannot clap with one hand.

2) Mushi, that demand was made by Captain (Inzi) and the coach (Woolmer) and not by selectors or PCB management, when such heavy weight (ppl with loads of experience) demand such a thing its accepted without reason as to why they asked for such person.

3) S. Altaf and PCB were not in favor of sending shoaib at all, after shoaib statements that he is fully fit and playing a first class match where he took few wickets as well did show that he might be fit, PCB win morally when the plane ran out of gas, a.k.a injured.

4) First of all by designation, Shoaib should respect coach, if there is bad-mouth logic states that you should report to people of authority (captain, manager....team management). The whole thing was blown out of proportion just coz it was under canvas.

5) You call him trainer, he is more of a joke, does any company gives you 2 tickets/year for you and your wife? you are on a job you get privillages not your whole khandan. plus what kind of job he was doing? and what kind of fitness level was maintained? He was ought to get fire, he was asking for a whole lot of $$$ for whatever he was doing, which is Nada!

If you want to blame him (N. Ashraf and Co.) blame them for not drafiting a constitution, and if they dont do it after WC (say give or take 2 and 1/2 months) then yes this team is doing pathetically.

1. Hiring of same Mushtaq, he sacked as a first thing after taking over the PCB chair.

textbook poor leadership skills

1. You agree with me that you cannot clap with one hand. Second hand was of Nasim Ashraf. Nasim Ashraf gets the half blame for this.
  2. Nasim Ashraf should be sensible enough not to hire another bowling coach when Waqar is performing nicely. At that time when Mushtaq was hired, Waqar was not fired. Having two bowling coaches during test series (Waqar was appointed for test series only and was not needed in ODIs) in SA showed Nasim Ashraf's administration skills and thinking.
  3. If "S. Altaf and PCB were not in favor of sending shoaib at all" then why did Nasim Ashraf go to see Shoaib Akhtar match. If Shoaib said that he is fully fit and did took few wickets, it should not be the job of chairman to decide Shoaib Akhtar to send SA or not. He interfered with the team selection. There is no concept of might be fit. Either you are fit or not. Pakistan Team should not rely on punctured tire. Also players always say that they are fit to play but it is the management that decide the fitness and take a sensible decision. When Andre Nel was perceived to be injured, Logart took out his name from playing 11 against India even though Graeme Smith protested to it. Logart was sensible and took a wise decision. PCB did not Win Morally but make a mockery of itself. Firstly, it was announced that Shoaib Akhtar is injured then decided to send him as a cover up for another injured player.
  4. Why these controversies were blown out of proportion because players were not taught to behave. The created ambience is not respectful enough. This corporate culture flow from top-to-bottom, not bottom-to-top. As a chairman of PCB, he should interfere between Bob and Shoaib and prohibit them to create more drama. PCB did not interfere but made a statement that if Shoaib thinks he can sue Bob Woolmer. Dr. Nasim Ashraf says that there is no place of racism but did not communicate with Bob Woolmer and Shoaib Akhtar. Dr. Nasim Ashraf missed the boat by not interefering in this matter. ]Trainer is more of a consultant who does their job away from home. It, sometimes, hard for people to be away from him. I know companies including mine who provide air ticket for consultants if the project is lengthy. PCB is one of the richest cricket board in the world and it may be able to pay for it. Trainer's performance is not very appreciated (I agree with you) as Pakistan had his fair share of injuries. However, I love the stability. If he is not performing well and **ought to get fire* then I can name not few but several players who should get fired after not delivering in the matches. We are not sacking them because Pakistani team need stability and does not want to board the plane with newbee. The same rule applied with trainer. If a trainer is hired (I dont know, if you know tell me about new trainer), he will start from the beginning. Are we talking about 5-YEAR PLAN? If Nasim Ashraf does not need to get blamed of the sorry situation of Pakistani team then who should. Why have we started the blame game even before WC? Pakistan may win or may not. This is not a point. What kind of message is he sending to his associates and his team that chairman is not with you. You are a step child. Whatever my child does, I should not get blamed of it.

^ yeah ..ur only responsible for jack sh***t...

on the trainer part, you gave me example of corprate world, do they provide tickets to the consultant gf or wives too? if answer is yes you certainly want to run the company in the ground.

Yaar on a lighter note, KK guppies like short post:bummer: , we have limited reading power :stuck_out_tongue: aur plus take a chill pill Grandpa :smiley:

Thank you for giving me chill pill:)

...but I will take the credit if Pak wins.

kitna burra haal hey PCB officers ka. i really though that Dr. naseem is a decent banda.. but he is same as his predecessors

he is arrogant and will prove to serve his ego more than pakistan cricket

So far thats the best description. May God Bless Pakistan

iski to pehle se hi phat gayi!!

I am no fan of Naseem Musharraf (yeah you can call him that :wave: ) but did you follow the news when Pakistan squad was sent to SA? then after we lost a game? Everyone was up in arms and questioning why was Shoaib not part of the squad? Read all the threads here, everyone was like “I will take half-fit Shoaib over any bowler any day”. Even so called geniuses of game (read Imran Khan) wanted Shoaib to be with the squad even when injured, Sarfaraz Nawaz “proved” that Shoaib Akhtar was really fit.

Is that because of Naseem? What role did he play in flaming Shoaib or Woolmer?

Trainer? of what? for whom? or did you mean a guy who runs a train? If you are talking about a so-called fitness trainer for Pakistani team (Compton?) then I would say good riddance, he was useless anyway. I criticize Naseem too, but not just for sake of criticism.

• There is no concept of half-fit bowler. Fast Bowling needs the full flow of the body without interference of any kind of injury. Shoaib Akhtar, as a express bowler, is the most dependant on his body to deliver the bowl as fast as possible. I disagree sending any bowler, either fast or spin, who has just a nag in his body part. You are only going to jeopardize the great talent, Shoaib, future. May be some people want to compromise it. I, beyond doubt, do not.
  • With all the respect to fast bowling icon, Imran Khan, if he wanted sending injured Shoaib to SA, then I disagree with him. Imran Khan by himselft dealt with lots of injury but he used to play. Imran Khan was one of the great sportsmen as well as great leader. Pakistan needed great leadership from him rather than bowling or batting. In the last few years, even 11th man Illingworth hit him 2 fours in the last over but he played with continually inferior bowling because he was a great leader and better batsman then before.
  • Sarfaraz Nawaz proved it. How? Is he a part-time physical therapist?
  • Nasim Ashraf is the chairman of PCB. It is his job to manage the administration and not to interfere with the team selection (According to Salim Altaf in Geo Program hosted by Fakhar-e-Alam). Why PCB declare, firstly, that Shoaib Akhtar is unfit and send him as a cover up for injured player.

Naseem did not play a role in creating a controversy. However, I have a problem by not interfering out-of-proportion controversy. The last thing PCB need is the cloud of another controversy. He failed to create the respectful culture. This corporate culture flow from top-to-bottom, not bottom-to-top. As a chairman of PCB, he should interfere between Bob and Shoaib and prohibit them to create more drama. PCB did not interfere but made a statement that if Shoaib thinks he can sue Bob Woolmer. Dr. Nasim Ashraf says that there is no place of racism but did not communicate with Bob Woolmer and Shoaib Akhtar. Dr. Nasim Ashraf missed the boat by not interefering in this matter.

Trainer’s performance is not very appreciated (I agree with you) as Pakistan had his fair share of injuries. However, I love the stability. If he is not performing well and ought to get fire then I can name not few but several players who should get fired after not delivering in the matches. We are not sacking them because Pakistani team need stability and does not want to board the plane with newbee. The same rule applied with trainer. If a trainer is hired (I dont know, if you know tell me about new trainer), he will start from the beginning.