i dont know under which segment i should post this and i dont know what topic should i have to this post but this is regarding night time transmission that i watched on ptv few days back the guest was mr javed shaikh of ankahee fame and now i think a well known director of pakistan film industry.
mr javed during his conversation with host mentioned about his new film songs being sung by indian singers and being recorded in india
well in the viewers telephone call one of the viewers asked mr javed shaikh "why was he recording his songs in india and giving indian singers a chance when there were enough talent in pakistan?
so far it was good and understandable question? but what folowed next i could not belive my eyes and ears when this caller on national network said the follwing words " ap ko lagta nahin hai ki aap hindu ko mauka de kar apne pakistan bhai ke pet par laat mar rahe hai???
this telecast was watched not only but pakistanis but so many indians who watch ptv and so many of them are hindus
i was appalled and shocked? being a indian muslim it was utter disgusting thing for me to accept such kind of language and attitute being expressed on pakistan’s national network???
how would we muslims react if some hindu says similar words against mulims ? utter disgusting
Besides Pakistani "paits" getting more flab, I dont see any the irony in that.
Not to say anything in favor of the caller, but this is exactly what makes a TV channel better. What good would it have been if the caller's nonsense was sensored? I hope that the answer from Javed shut the caller off...
*Originally posted by Asif2000: *
I hope that the answer from Javed shut the caller off...
I seriously doubt that...
Do you see your own movies kabir?
Re: i was shocked by this question of night time transmission ptv
*Originally posted by kabir: *
...how would we muslims react if some hindu says similar words against mulims ? utter disgusting
Without justifying the caller, how do you guys react to movies like Gaddar, Deewar, Border etc ?
I didn’t see the program so I don’t know what you are referring to. But I do want to comment on your last few lines. You said how would a Muslim react if a hindu says similiar words, there are no if’s they already do. Not just to us Pakistanis but even Muslims. I don’t watch Indian movies but, I do get a glimpse of them here and there. Someone was watching Mr. or mrs Iyer I don’t remember the exact name. But, what I found so disgusting and rude was the way they checked if the guy was Muslim or not. You don’t find that utterly disgusting? You know there are idiots on both sides of the borders who make such comments, They could have cencored that part but if I’m not wrong that program is aired live. If we didn’t have so much hatred for each other we wouldn’t be on war every other year.
This is for you
& this is what boils their blood. Even though I personally think we should mind our own business.
http://www.pbs.org/newshour/updates/february02/india_2-28.html
The other links are not working for some reason.
This kind of attitude is horrible and unbearable... lekin kaun samjhaye logon ko?!
Re: Re: i was shocked by this question of night time transmission ptv
:flower1:
*Originally posted by Seedha Saada: *
Do you see your own movies kabir?
for once I must agree... its a two sided sword hon.
mahnoor just told me on chat she hasnt watched mr. and mrs. iyer. no one who's watched it will say it is an anti-muslim movie. if anything, it shows orthodox hindus and hindu fanatics as negative (which is the way it should be too).
anyway, the comments by the guy on the show dont surprise me, having seen what many guppies thinks on threads here. two generations have grown up in pakistan listening to stories of hindus with no hindus around, this is no surprise. i have met some hindus who'd say similar things about muslims too, but i dont think such stuff would ever be considered air-worthy even as a thought on any channel based in india.
and saying gujarat genocide is why pakistanis talk trash about hindus is a bunch of bull. it's pure lack of exposure - frog in the well syndrome.
I think she was right about ignorant people on both sides of the border and the saner ones shouldn't base their perceptions on the views of the ignorant ones.
if such ignorance makes its way without any apparent compunction or objection into govt run television, i'd say the saner ones do need to factor that into their inference, and not just brush it off as paindoo talk.
and the only cure for such ignorance is encouraging more insight into each other's countries. till then, to you folks we are filthy cow worshippers and to us you are smelly terrorists.
Queer, I even stated above that I only got to see a glimpse of it. And I never said it was an anti muslim movie. But, just that part got me feeling disgusted and I found it very very rude. And coming to the article I posted, all I was trying to prove is what we see in news and even told by Indian Muslims themselves is where we get an idea of how they're treated in India. Muslims with Money are well treated while the lower-middle class is treated like trash. They can't even celebrate Eid-ul-Adh-haa peacefully. I mean, I really don't care how Hindus treat muslims in India. It does boil my blood at times but, I got nothing to do with India. I would worry if it was happening in Pakistan. As far as Kabir talking about being shocked on those comments, the caller said NOTHING compared to what's been said in Indian movies about Pakistan. Khair queero, let's be fair, Koyee kissi sai kum nahi !
Just relax dude. India is majority Hindu, obviously the caller needs sensitivity training but its pretty mellow stuff compared to the rhetoric that's normally heard. In case you didn't get the memo, Pakistan was created on religious grounds, thus the appeal to religious unity and emotion.
*Originally posted by queer: *
if such ignorance makes its way without any apparent compunction or objection into govt run television, i'd say the saner ones do need to factor that into their inference, and not just brush it off as paindoo talk.
and the only cure for such ignorance is encouraging more insight into each other's countries. till then, to you folks we are filthy cow worshippers and to us you are smelly terrorists.
Just because the statement was made on a govt run channel it should have been censored and these retarded anti-Pakistan movies that bollywood keeps coming up with don't create tension???
noor, will you give it a rest! I am an Indian muslim and I am telling you I or anyone of my acquaintance never had any problem with anything there. And who told u people cannot celebrate eid peacefully in India? it's a national holiday chicka.
You people think you know more about Indian muslims than Indian muslims themselves?
cb, I know it's on the calendar for the sake of having it there. We know more about you, no not really, how would we know? Our only source is through news and what we hear from people. Just as queer once told me majority of Indians think "Pakistan is like afghanistan" hell it's not as he admitted it himself.
No one personally told me Muslim's can't celebrate eid peacefully But, I do know there is a riot every year on about Qurbani. (butchering of a cow, just last year)
Yes, a friend of mine who is from baroda, Gujarat even told me herself how they don't cook meat because the smell of it causes trouble in the neighborhood.
cb, I'm not trying to prove you wrong, all I'm trying to tell you is where and how we get our information.
*Originally posted by kabir: *
i dont know under which segment i should post this and i dont know what topic should i have to this post but this is regarding night time transmission that i watched on ptv few days back the guest was mr javed shaikh of ankahee fame and now i think a well known director of pakistan film industry.
mr javed during his conversation with host mentioned about his new film songs being sung by indian singers and being recorded in india
well in the viewers telephone call one of the viewers asked mr javed shaikh "why was he recording his songs in india and giving indian singers a chance when there were enough talent in pakistan?
so far it was good and understandable question? but what folowed next i could not belive my eyes and ears when this caller on national network said the follwing words " ap ko lagta nahin hai ki aap hindu ko mauka de kar apne pakistan bhai ke pet par laat mar rahe hai!!!!!!!!!!????????????????
this telecast was watched not only but pakistanis but so many indians who watch ptv and so many of them are hindus
i was appalled and shocked? being a indian muslim it was utter disgusting thing for me to accept such kind of language and attitute being expressed on pakistan's national network???????
how would we muslims react if some hindu says similar words against mulims ? utter disgusting
i see nothing wrong, both the callers asked genuine and quite vald questions ? they asked
a. if their is not enuf talent in pak
b. they are lat marring a paki talented guy
the answer to both these question is yes
prove me wrong. but that is the truth.
plus thumbs up to PTV for not cutting the call and airing it all they way. indians channels have much more freedom then ptv and they asks questions like this or more extreme ( i have started to dislike this word ) all the time, their channers air it dont they, freedom of speech, all u guys talk about it and claim to be the owners of it but never practise it.
adios
*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
Just because the statement was made on a govt run channel it should have been censored and these retarded anti-Pakistan movies that bollywood keeps coming up with don't create tension???
state run media must maintain higher standards than a pandering entertainment industry whose main profit line is wiggling tushes.