I was given a Reality Check ... It's about Eid-ul-Adhaa

Re: I was given a Reality Check ... It's about Eid-ul-Adhaa

People tend to exaggerate a lot. Average price of cows this eid, Rs. 25000. Average price of goat, 15,000.

Vendors quote lacs for certain specimens, but those are just specimens. In every cattle market, every other vendor will bring in tens of hundreds of animals, which will be priced in the normal range (15-25k for goat, and 20-35k for bulls). There is usually a high priced specimen, meant just to attract attention, nothing else.

And these prices are the same as those from the past 4 or 5 years. I havent seen any major change in prices. yes, if you compare them with 1985, or 1995, you will find a big difference. But otherwise, the price rise has been pretty gradual.

Just 10 gran difference between cow and goat??

u reminded me ..
i've to post photos of 20 lakh kee gayee ke jodi...

Blue honay kay saath saath, baloN mie neela ribbon kab say bandhnay lagay AQ ji?

Ditto with Eco, for latHee charging u for opening ‘eid spirit’ killer threads :vivo:

Yes, because weight for weight, goat meat is expensive.
Plus, most people dont buy full grown bulls. They buy vachhiyan, young bull, since their meat is more tender compared to full grown bulls. So a younger bull would weigh less, and cost less, comparitively.

Another factor is how soon you buy your animal. If you buy it early, you will get it for less. The closer you are to eid, the more expensive the animal.

Then there are geo-politics at play as well. A week or so ago, when karachi was home to rioting, animal vendors were selling their animals for much less, since noone was sure if the situation would improve before eid. Plus, a lot of the vendors are pathans, so they were scared because of the security situation, and in many cases, sold their animals at giveaway prices.

So just like prices can artificially go up, they come down as well. But realistically, the average price remains in the 'correct' range, so long as you bargain.

Nostalgia or Pakistan is one thing.... but coming back to prices of bakras, I have a different experience actually.

We did qurbani here in the US once, but due to a multitude of factors, I have reverted to having it done in Pakistan at my parents house where they do several qurbanis together (parents, siblings etc). I was seeing the pics of bakras and they looked fairly healthy and big. Not sure if the credit goes to the awesome bargaining skills of my brother, the fact that he buys on the last day before eid (where bakray-walas also want to make the sale and go back home to celebrate eid), or that he buys so many together that he gets volume discount (I think they bought, like, 13 bakras all told). Anyway, the average price of each backra, I am told that for this year is Rs 6,500. Last year it was close to Rs 7,000.

I am sure there are people who spend Rs 30,000 for some shaandaar (and what I assume must be) horsey-size bakras, but not all bakras are that astronomically expensive. Now, I have never bought a cow in Pakistan, nor do I suspect I am as old as AQ bhai jaan to see a Rs 3,000 cow anyway, but even in my bachpann, I remember, bakras used to cost Rs 600 to Rs 1,000.

But we have to factor one more thing ... and that is the commission factor. These days relatives charge more than the going price of Qurbani or any things in the half hopes for making a buck in the process.

I did the Qurbani in the UK this year it cost me £85 which is close to Rs 11000 ... This is the same amount my dad paid for his in Pakistan. I can believe there is inflation but not that much. My friend incidentally had his done in Pakistan for only Rs 6500 which makes more sense. Even that is expensive.

My mum got a cow done for £180 ...

Peace bro AQ

I recommend your family to stay away from brand names - designer livestock

Hahahaha :hehe: Louis Vuitton Bakra

only $335 CDN =O whaaaat am I missing something here?

Re: I was given a Reality Check … It’s about Eid-ul-Adhaa

Actually. reality check … prices are from the designer city Karachi and not from some pind:aliyish:

The bakra bought for Rs. 7000 … so they got a small bakra .. kaafi paRhaa likhaa bakraa thaa waisay.

Back in early 90's, we bought a proper cow from Sohraab GoTh for Rs. 2700 ...'

bakray back then were Rs. 1200-2000 on average

Yes thats what I thought. Karachi mein shayad ziyada choona lagatay hein.

dekhiye choonaa naheeN hotaa... baat yeh hai meri jaan... read X2's thread on consumerism...

when people from punjab travel all the way to Karachi to sell their animals... cost kaa farq paRtaa .... science kay hisaab say :)

aur phir agar woh choonaa lagaatay haiN tau unn kaa imaan... hammaiN kiyaa...

Re: I was given a Reality Check … It’s about Eid-ul-Adhaa

PAkistan is really really really mhenga atleast for me (excluding foreign money)

my parents did it with ISNA (or ICNA) i mean they chip in the money in gaayea (gave them the money)…around ~80 (i think)
two of my sibz did qurbani here, and inshaALLAH next year i will also do it :insh:.
and the cost is same as of Pakistan (~$300).

Aray bhai, tau grow your own bakras in Sindh... kissi ne mana kiya hai?

300 daallers ka bakra???? Zobia auntie.. is this a Gucci Bakra?

Here, the price for a decent bakra was about $160 (includes slaughtering and making semi-reasonable pieces). And people were saying its a bit expensive this year. Last year was $140. When I did bakra here locally in California in 2005, it was $125 (includes everything). To have bakra done through a charitable organization (in Kashmir, Pakistan, Indonesia etc) was about $60.

Zobia:

Bakra here where I am these days, including everything costed $125 ... but from what I read .. gaaye kaa hissa was $80 so total with all of the hissay daar it costed $300.. right :)

hum loug ghareeboN kee rozi roTi par laat naheeN maartay... aur phir iss tarah achay maraasim bhee rehtaY haiN... business city maiN business karaataY haiN.... koi mazaaq hai.

fizal uncle, hota hai hota hai, is umer main nazar kamzoor ho hi jati hai.
cuz i no where said that i live in states.

i confirmed with my mother...and she said it was $240 + anay janay ka gas ka money.

Where I am in US it was 150 dollars all inclusive this year.