I have a serious thought process going on in my mind, I want to save for my baby who’s 6 months old now. My husband is the only earner our family, (me my husband, my child, my mom and sister inlaw) we live in a rented house.
We remain hand to mouth, i can only save from my pocket money. but i am too worried for my baby’s future and make it secure so that he doesn’t have problems in his future. my husband’s full support is with me Alhamdulillah. i have to take care of the house so i cannot work. neither i have any professional degrees. i am only a simple Bachelors of Arts and my husband is a Software Engineer MashaAllah. and earning well, but we have no savings as we live in a rented house.
I have my gold which i got in jahez and bari, should i sell some of it like about the amount of 1 lac and invest it somewhere and then do something with it? We were going to buy an education policy for my son but then we thought its Haram islamically as it includes interests so we rejected the idea.
Can anybody please guide me is it right islamically to invest for Mahana Munafa account? so that we might book an apartment or something for my son’s studies and secure future? as you guys know how it is like in Pakistan for a middle-class to save for future.
Also, if anyone can give me ideas to earn on the internet or at home as i cannot leave the house.
You should plan on working once both you and your husband feel that your child is old enough that he doesn't need your direct care.
I would say start planning for when he starts going to school.
A lot depends on how your relationship is with your in-laws also.
If you trust them and they trust you, the transition should be easy to make.
Don't feel too bad about living in a rented house too much.
Owning and maintaining a house is an expensive prospect.
You should be financially comfortable to get into buying a house.
There are all kinds of fatwas for and against interest bearing accounts.
If there are not many options then you and your husband need to decide what is right for you.
Since education costs a lot in all countries of the world, what pays off when it is time to go for higher education is how good (good grades/position) and well-rounded (extra-curricular activities) your student child is.
Good students have a lot of options open to them in terms of scholarships for higher education etc.
However, that requires that the parent makes a lot of investment into the childrens' education when they are young.
Spend your time wisely to make sure that they are doing all the right things to do well in school.
You should make sure that they take interest in reading books right from the very young age - both English and Urdu.
English will be useful if a student gets a chance to go overseas for education.
Well-read children make good students.
Of couse you have to take care of their physical needs such as healthy eating habits (always send your child to school with a big and healthy breakfast) and exercise (don't let them get fat).
Children who are well-fed in the morning perform better in school.
I do agree with you, may be i can plan after my baby is a school going child. but for now i would want to do something and not only waste this time.
I would really appreciate if others also reply to my problem just to make my mind clear on what to do exactly without getting frustrated which i already am.
Sorry i just read your 2nd post, informative. Thanks for the suggestion. :)
Well, my husband and I were good on studies, we both were position holder students in whole of our school lives. Alhamdulillah :) and Yes, i do plan to make him more towards studies and reading, you won't believe my child is only 6 months and he sees the newspapers whenever i read them :) it shows his interest. MashaAllah.
Yes, you should consider working. There is nothing wrong with that. Plenty of women take maternity leaves and have to return to the workplace not long after the baby is born, even if they have to hire a nanny or send their, say, 1-year old to daycare. You have a BA degree and if you are proficient in English, you should be able to secure a decent elementary or middle-school teaching school since I don't think schools in Pakistan require specific teaching credentials/college degree in education or something. If your mom/MIL lives with you, she should be able to look after your baby while you are at work till 1 or 2 pm. I think she will understand that you people need to have all the money you can to save for your baby's future and wouldn't mind looking after the grandkid.
Also you said your husband is a software engineer, and was a position holder. Does he have an advanced degree like a Masters from abroad? If not, he should apply to fully-funded Fulbright/other scholarships offered by universities. Fulbright, for example, not only means that the US government pays the entire tuition and fees for an advanced degree but also gives you a sufficient stipend to support your family!
With an MS from abroad, your husband will be better-positioned to get a well-paying job in the Middle East, for example. That said, there is no harm applying to those jobs even NOW. Keep checking the Middle East ( Dubai, Qatar, Bahrain, Saudi, etc.) job recruitment websites/ newspapers like Khaleej Times's job sections online and sending resume to the firms that advertise and are looking for applicants with qualifications similar your husband's. You should be able to help your hubby in this job search in your spare time while you are surfing the net.
I would also seriously suggest that you people should look at the long-term picture and try to legally MIGRATE to Canada, Australia, or New Zealand, if at all possible. That is probably the best way you can ensure your baby an excellent education and a bright, secure future. This is also plenty of money in IT and lots of demand for skilled professionals like software engineers so I am sure it won't be a decision you will regret. Good luck!
Really helpful goodname :) Thank you so much for a detailed reply. I will discuss it to my husband today when he comes back from office. InshaAllah. and can you please give me details about how to apply to Canada/Dubai/New Zealand? Settlement visas required a lot of money to apply i guess.. if anyone can tell me their experience on settling abroad? Do they give visas really easily? and i have tried many times about searching jobs on the internet ... my husband has been working on ASP.NET and he would like if he gets jobs in his own field. He's very hard working and devoted and got 3 promotions in just 5 years in a well-known software company here in Karachi.
My mom means my MIL ofcourse. No, she can't keep my child with her if i work. and my SIL doesn't like kids so you know.
Or, if anyone knows any good jobs abroad for my husband, i can forward you guys CV of my husband. he's a BS from NUCES-FAST, and his age is 28 years (24-08-1983)
in current situation of your husband, if he really worked hard and apply all US jobs which offer H1 visa then he can easily come US. it is hard but not impossible to get H1 sponsorship in IT jobs.
Sabi_13, Middle Eastern countries like UAE, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Qatar etc don’t give permanent settlement visas in the sense that you don’t get a passport and can’t live there forever. But the good thing is that a work visa to live there wouldn’t cost much because one can only get it if one is offered a job there. Companies in the Middle East pay very good salaries and the quality of life is generally very good for professionally qualified expats. That is why on weekends, when your husband is free from office and relaxed, he should spend some hours on the Internet, searching for software engineering jobs and sending his resume to the companies that are advertising.
Here are two websites that I came across but I am sure there must be more:
These websites keep updated regularly so it would be great to keep checking them on a regular basis and to apply for the appropriate vacancies.
Now, for immigration to say Canada or New Zealand, you need to formally apply and get permanent residence visa. If you get it, after a while you become a legal citizen of these countries, which means you can enjoy all the benefits-- such as usually excellent free public schooling, much lower tuition in universities, access to free health care, etc–that citizens of these countries enjoy. It might cost some money to go to Thailand or Dubai for an interview in order to get immigration visa but it is totally worth it.
For New Zealand visa, your family should apply to Skilled Migrant Category. And here is the official NZ govt. website from where you can get the complete details about the immigration procedure, requirements, how to apply etc.: http://www.immigration.govt.nz/
Likewise, here is the Canadian government website containing a ton of details for its point-based immigration. http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/index.asp. Some of the things that would help you get the visa are French language skills (so take French lessons from **Alliance française **in Karachi before applying), solid IELTS score (so MUST prepare for it), besides of course work experience and the nature of professional degree. Also I think people get more points if they apply while they are young. So better apply sooner than later!
**as far as Canada is concerned, your best bet would be to apply to for immigration at any Canadian Consulate near you. you stand a better chance of a successful outcome of your application for immigration if you chose the provinces of Saskatchewan, Manitoba or Quebec.
the application fee is pretty high for people living in Pakistan...It's about Rs. 89,000 [CDN$ 1000] per person.
you may also want to contact a good immigration lawyer locally. they may charge quite a hefty fee but they seem to be result oriented. the key is to find an honest and good lawyer.
We live here in jeddah nd the ecnomic conditions are not too good here as well....no jobs with good salaries for non Saudis...esp pakis........My bro in law did MBA for NY nd he is just getting SR 4000.......he hav pry for rent nd insurance himself..Even we are planning to apply for Canada immigration in June Inshallah....Im planning to work as freelance webdesigner..My hubby is a programmer nd software engineer do he can help me with it.
1. Why dont u ask ur hubby to work as free lancer as well.....you might b able to help him with it.
2. You can also make money with Google adsense
3. What about giving private classes at home as others mentioned....
4. One of my mumani back in kar sells some clothes nd jewl from home (she gets them from factory) she told my mom that she makes 8000-10000 Rs Mashallah
5. Here in Saudi arabia many girls work for avon...they make pretty good money....they get 25% per sale...
If you have Gold than each year you have to take out Zakat, Or you have silver 52 pond than you ve to pay zaka’t, Don’t worry about your Future of children , Allah Create the universe including human being, Sorry for late replay,