I love Chicken Karahi, but whenever I try making it, I end up with Chicken curry, but when I keep it on the stove to dry the curry, I end up what what looks like Chicken ka Bhurta i-e all broken up even kind of minced chicken pieces.
How do I get that beautiful mouth watering look of a nice dry chicken karahi, with all the chicken pieces intact, the kind they serve in nice desi restaurants.
What I end up with does taste great, but I want the look!!
Also I just use a regular pot to make it, I don’t use the traditional wok or a Karahi because I have seen people making a perfect chicken karahi in a regular pot.
ok u go for looks :) in chiken karahi dont put asingle drop of water.. chicken itself, tomatoes and curd will at high heat make soem masala.. keep on stiring at end and drop some thin cut adrak at end.. and invite me..
AM degas nay bilkul sahi kaha hay,add all masala tomato yogurt all togather ,taiz anch pay bhoon lo,or extra flavour k leay shan masala use ker lo zahir hay karahi chicken ka:)
I wont recommend shan masala for karahi..these masalas should be used only for difficult things like nihari etc.. karahi with different spices can easily be made …
I would say if you really wanna protect any chicken from burning on the stove, simply take it out of the pot while waiting for whats left in the pot to dry. Then put back in when its just about done.
Degas I don't put any water yaar. You are right, chicken, tomatoes and yogurt etc do make the masala which ends up being the curry in the end!. You can come anytime man, just lemme know. :)
B-B-G Taiz aanch pay bhooning means chicken ka keema buning, but I will try next time nonetheless. Lets see if works.
funguy Now this I haven't tried, puting oil after chicken and garlic. And whats up with geting the seeds outta the tomatoes?
Munni Begum Taking the chicken outta the pot and let everything else dry...not a bad idea!
thats’ weird…I thought we always put oil first…and then garlic and other stuff…and what will happen if we leave the seeds of the tomatoes?..and there is no yogurt in your receipe?..seems so simple…I mean your receipe…:k:
am...taiz anch iss leay k yogurt or tomato bohut taizi say hulki anch pay paani chourtay hain jis ko dry kerna mushkil hou jata hay or chicken normelly bohut jald ready houta hay,:)
degas ..mujhay maloom hay k shan masala k leay tum nay nahi bola,lakin yay hotel k flavour ka touch daita hay,bas zara saa add karnay say:)
AM:I had the same problem , if u cook chicken for too long it becomes..chicken bhurta......
here is the recipe for u.....
1 kg. chicken cut into bite sized pieces
- 1 tbsp. chopped ginger
- 1inch piece ginger, peeled and cut into small sticks
- 4-5 green chilies cut into half
- 2 green chilies, chopped
- 3 tomatoes, finely chopped
- 2 tsp. black pepper, ground
- 2 tbsp. garam masala
- 4 tbsp. finely chopped coriander leaves
-2 tsp. salt
- 1\2 cup oil
Heat oil in a shallow frying pan or Karachi. Add chopped ginger and green chili, stirring frequently fry for 2 minutes.
Add chicken and salt. Stirring frequently fry until the meat is well browned
Add chopped tomatoes, stirring frequently fry the meat mixture for about 10 minutes until the tomatoes are reduced to a pulp. Add a little water if necessary to prevent the mixture from sticking to the bottom of the pan. Keep frying until the oil begin to separate.
Add ginger sticks, chopped green chili, black pepper, garam masala and little water. Reduce the heat to low, cover with a tight fitting lid and cook for 15 minutes until the chicken is tender. Sprinkle with finely chopped coriander leaves
First put the chicken on low/medium heat so that the water comes out then let the chicken cook at medium heat with lid on. Check when the chicken is cooked turn the heat to fast and dry the water keep stiring though :p
who’s going to go all the way to the halal market and get the chicken…
i don’t even like the chicken they sell here in america, i always feel like its got this strong BESAND [pungent] smell jo paawein jo bhee ker leyn naheen jaati…i feel ke mein jahan bhee chicken kha rahi hoon…even in restaurants, or in home cooked food by aunties who r excellent cooks i can feel that smell…shayad mera wehm ho
par ab yahaan chicken hi khana mein ne takreeban chor dee hay
ab toh eik arsa beet gya hay chicken karahi khayay huay