In Pakistan book stores used to sell these big journals, which were anywhere from 150 pages to 1000 pages. The paper was cheap and so was the binding. But they were GREAT for simply practicing math problems, taking detailed notes and doing whatever requires lots of pages. The paper was cheap enough that it didn’t matter how many you wasted.
I kind of miss those. I can buy those 500 page notebooks from Office Depot, but I feel guilty wasting that nice paper.
Re: I still haven’t been able to find this one thing in the US.
I recall feeling just as much ripped off when buying text books. Even more so with general reading books. I am sure it feels cheap when comparing exchange rates, but not when you are actually living there and spending in ruppees.
Re: I still haven't been able to find this one thing in the US.
you can always lurk around a computer printer or a xerox machine and get all the one-side paper your heart desires, if you feel so guilty abt using good paper.
Lemme just tell you what a gora cabbie told me once - I was taking a cab from airport to home one hot summer...saw some houses watering the lawns with multiple sprinklers and I shot of "look at these clowns wasting water". the cabbie says, what's the problem? we have a lot of water and this just sends the water back to the ground.
Point is, this is a land of plenty and skimping is stupid
text books are expensive here. i've paid as much as $200 bucks for one text book. as a starving student thats where it hurts us the most financially. even though there are ways u can get the books for cheap (photocopying etc) but sometimes u just dont have any choice as the books are new edition with new material in it and worse they are soo hard to sell back at a good price! :-(
I find US stationary way superior to stationary from Pakistan.
You can always get those office-max notebooks for scribbling if you want, or go to Target and get no-name brand ones that have decorative covers like geometric designs or princesses.
^ or you can always steal from your company as Jammies pointed out.....
The quality of the textbook may be superior..but gosh darn it..asking $130-150 bucks for a book should be a crime.
^ its not a crime kaleem. it does seem like a rip off, especially for students who are already working and studying at the same time to pay off the tuition and other expenses. ofcourse we are going to look for ways to get the books cheaper, especially if u take more than one course at a time. i have, at many times got photocopies for the few chapters of the books or even sometimes a whole book. that $150 book ends up being only $30. it's just cheaper that way. abb har koi app ki tarah ameer kabeer nahien hota kaleem ji. is mein morality ki baat nahien, is mein zaroorat aur jaib ki gunjaish ki baat hai.
Surroor, I was talking about taking stuff from your employer...I am with you on the book part...do read my post again...Aap key munh mein ghee shakkar...Kaash mein ameer hoo jaoon
u shud go to the dollar store they relli have bad quality notebooks their with 100-200 pages...but at grocery stores u can get the thin wide ruled one subject notebook for like 8 for a dollar..