I still don't get it

Asalaam alaikum guys,

I still dont get it. Everytime we get into this discussion..I feel like it goes nowhere. Or maybe I just need to decide within myself. But..is not wearing hijab wrong? Is it haram not to wear hijab? Is it an obligation..or something we must do? I just need yes and no..and maybe one example to prove it. I mean, I plan on wearing it inshAllah..as soon as I get myself out of this rut (its a different rut). I just wonder though, that’s all.

Re: I still don't get it

hehe...expect both a definitive "yes" and "no" from both sides...and both with supporting textual evidence.

nikhil, haha i feel like im talking to my cousin..his name is nikhil too..do you also participate in the forum islamicaweb.com? i think i saw you there.

c'monnnn..i know this is a beat up subject..but i need to come to terms with it.

Re: I still don’t get it

Walikum salam

Why you are asking guys ???

This issue is not related to guys, its like asking some maternity related question from men.

The best way is to decide it yourself. According to your understanding of Islam. :slight_smile:

Take your time. Do some research and you will definately find answer.

On the day of judgement you can not say that someone told you to wear/not wear hijaab. So you did. Make your own decisions, at least where you can.

If you need to discuss, then discuss it with some knowledgeable girls.

i think she met guys as like in general people, not necessarily men

and for the very same reason Allah sent down a female prophet for women…
what wud the male prophets know about women’s issues…

hai na???

^ Do you think women are less capable of understanding the issues related to them ? And need man's help to figure out how and what their prophet teach them, specially when quran address ladies separetly in many chapters and explain these very issues in simple and amicable manner

A muslim woman can perfectly understand and teach her children What Islam requires from them.

i think she met guys as like in general people, not necessarily men

714- As i suppose you are a girl in these "guys", why don't you share your perspective on this issue, and help out your sister in faith. It will carry more worth than 'guy's' point of view.

yes and no is right. If you are in the house then no, if you are outside then YOU MUST WEAR. I don't know whats confusing you.

yeah i didn't mean guys..as in guys..as in..male. i meant..like..guys..like as everyone...girls..guys...whoever.

Its confusing verizon, because so many women try to justify themselves in not wearing it..and sometimes they turn out to be more religious then the ones who do wear it...i dunno..its just confusing..well..atleast its confusing me..nevermind.

Salaams sister,

there are plenty of references in the quraan

Surah An-Nur24

- The Rulings of Hijab

Surah Al-Ahzab33

- The Etiquette of entering the Houses of the Prophet and the Command of Hijab

Surah Al-Ahzab33

- Relatives before Whom a Woman does not need to observe Hijab

Surah Al-Ahzab33

- The Command of Hijab

Is the Nikhil on islamica… your cousin if yes tell him he wants shooting.

As for your question of course Hijaab is compulsory, in fact the way most Muslim girls wear it nowadays it’s not even considered Hijaab, it doesn’t have to be a piece of cloth you can use the hood of your parker as long as it covers properly…

You’ll have some idiots tell you it’s not required and crap but pay no attetion to them, they don’t do it themselves or their family members don’t so they chat sht to make themselves feel better, too much pride to admit their in the wrong.

I don’t have a beard nor do I wear my pants above my ankles, nor does any woman in my family wear Niqaab but I won’t justify it and I admit I’m falling short, this way at least I’ll have the chance to repent before I die and maybe Allah will forgive me but there’s a consensus that when somebody denies something in Islam or declares the Haraam to be Halaal he has commited Kuffr and that is a one way ticket to Hell unlike Fisq (I think it means sin/transgression).

People who alter Islam to defend their ways ought to just scrap it alltogther coz they’ve become Kaafir anyway so the bits and bobs here and there what they do follow are of no use, the Khush-Fehmi that they are still Muslim wont do them no good on the Last Day.

Some people will cook me alive for coming into this thread - but check this thread .

Here

Try this too if you’re interested. article

Salam Razea:

I am so much for the opinion expressed by Cod_Red. I would suggest to you to read the Holy Quran with translation in full. It is going to clarify so many concepts to you, and will give so much guidance that you dont need to convince yourself for many things. I think hijab is only one of the issue we need to be clear, but there are hundreds more, that require attention. Nothing is going to become an issue, if your heart becomes your guide.

Asalaam alaikum All, jazakhallah khair to all of you for responding. muslim queen, that thread got me a little dizzy..hehe..so many views..so much to think about really... personally, i believe hijab is something all the sisters should seriously think about taking up..the way i look at it is, hair= beauty. when we dont wear hijab, we constant mess with our hair. constantly wandering what the hell is going on up there. and then to add to it, we dye it, straighten it, scrunch it, and get it done for special occasions. i think we pay more attention to our hair, then our face sometimes. so yeah..there definitely is beauty involved. and its best to not flaunt that. of course..this is just coming from common sense.

there are plenty of text which proves it. Zman has provided some information for us. as i dunno about the face thing tho. i mean, during haj and salat..our Prophet saws advised us not to cover our face. so, why do it otherwise? hadith of Asma (raa):

"Aisha reported that Asmaa, the daughter of Abu Bakr, entered into the presence of the Messenger of Allaah wearing thin transparent clothing, So the Messenger of Allaah turned away from her saying : ‘O’ Asmaa, when a women reaches the age of menstruation, it is not allowed that any of her should be seen except this’ - and he pointed to his face and two hands." (Sahih, reported from Abu Dawud and Al-Bayhaqee. Authenticated by Al-Albaani, Al-Bayhaqee and Ath-Thahabee!)

there is also this. so i really respect women who do cover their face, i don't think it is fard. but thats getting off topic a bit. heh.

ranjhan, i don't think nikhil is my cousin..and if he is..maybe thats why he didn't respond back..God..i hope not..that would be so weird.

salhu, im not allowed to keep any kind of copy of the Quran in my house. im afraid my parents might find it and throw it out. inshAllah..ill go make use of the public library. but yeah..ur right..and i think my heart is in the right place because everytime i get confused about something..i don't find myself attacking it..but rather asking while knowing there will be a solid answer for it.

I hope I didn't offend any of the sisters with my beliefs, if I did..don't take it personally..it's just what I think to be the truth.

Jazak allah khair, May Allah give you endurance and strength of faith :slight_smile: :flower1:

As you are a revert to Islam, I personaly think you are way above ordinary muslim like me, who are born as muslims. We mostly have weaker faith and we take Islam for granted and never actually bother to understand and practice it properly. :frowning:

May Allah guide us. ameen.

ok i tend to stay out of these threads, b/c of all the fighting that ensues, but here's what i have to say-take it or leave it, just please don't pick a fight with me

razea-mashallah, i think its wonderful that you accepted Islam. May Allah (swt) grant you patience and peace. inshallah, over time it will get easier.

as for the hijab issue, no i don't wear it, but many of my friends do-and i highly respect them for it

is hijab mandatory-as far as I know YES

however, i feel the decision to take on hijab is a very personal one, and should only be done if the person is serious. i also feel that if you are going to do it, you have to do it for Allah (SWT) and only Allah (swt). I don't think it counts because of judgemental people and societal pressures. You have to do it for the right reasons-just like don't do salat just to tell other people you're doing it or in public so you don't look bad.

i think in he musjid or at the recitation of Quran, Adhan it is just respectful to cover

i resent people who make assumptions and rulings who haven't the slightest clue what it is like and what it means.

yes, the Prophet (S) was a male-but he was a close to perfection as can be and Allah (swt) sent him specifically. Just b/c one is male doesn't mean you have the same sense and authority as the Rasulullah

hijab is not so men can keep control of their wives and daughters. it is to protect the modesty and chastity of a woman. it has nothing do with opression, nothing to do with force

just as you can't force people to pray or fast, you can't force people to wear hijab

yes, as a muslim it is your duty to observe what is right or wrong, and if you see wrongful behavior you shouldn't encourage it. but you shouldnt be condemning either as Allah (swt) is the only true judge and you never know who will repent and what their reasons are. so if a sister is contemplating hijab, by all means encourage it and explain to her why it is a good idea. DON'T tell her she's a whore and haraam and that she's goingt o hell.

Islam is a religion of peace. The Prophet (S), our best example, was a man of peace. We should strive to be like him, but we should not assume that we understand the world like he did.

That is what I have to say.

To Razea and anyone else thinking of hijab, may Allah (swt) grant us the desire and faith to obey him and may he give us the strength and patience to do so.

Salam.

^-- Brilliantly Put :k:

714, i think your input was great..thanks for ur kind words too. u shud participate here more often..i think while there is fighting..there is a alot to be learned.

Indeed CodeRed. Ameen. :)