‘I may quit if post-election situation is unacceptable’ - Musharraf

would not allow any kind of agitation including peaceful political protests even after withdrawing some of the restrictions imposed on Nov 3 lol. The dictator is clearly ruffled. insists that measures like the imposition of emergency were taken in response to the ‘opposition’s tactics’.

** Musharraf says West must share blame for Pakistan’s political crisis * Refuses to say what action he would take if Osama captured on Pakistani soil
By Khalid Hasan
*WASHINGTON: President Pervez Musharraf said on Friday that if after the January 8 elections, a situation develops that is “absolutely unacceptable to me, I have a choice of leaving”.
The exclusive interview broadcast on the ABC morning show, Good Morning America, took place in Islamabad. The president declared, when asked if he was in a power-sharing deal with former premier Benazir Bhutto, “I am not in any deal with anyone. We are in a stage where we have to have fair elections. We have to see after the elections how things develop. If the situation develops in a manner which is absolutely unacceptable to me, I have a choice of leaving.”
West share blame:He said the West must share blame for Pakistan’s current political crisis. “If there’s a failure, it’s not Pakistan’s failure,” recalling that after 10 years of being together in the Afghan “jihad”, the US had left Pakistan alone to deal with the aftermath.
Osama’s fate: On Pakistan’s search for Osama Bin Laden, Musharraf refused to say what he would do with the Al Qaeda leader in case he was captured. He would not say if Pakistan would hand over Bin Laden to the US. “I think the people who need to know, know it,” he said. “And I don’t think the media is the one who needs to know.” Musharraf blamed the US for its inconsistent support over the past 30 years, saying that the US turned a blind eye to terrorism until the 9/11 attacks. “We handled the situation alone for 12 years,” he said.
He said, “Come hell or high water, elections would be held on January 8.” Musharraf insisted his political moves had been in reaction to the opposition’s tactics, AFP reported.
“The opposition, they have all along these five years tried to destabilise me and the government. You have to understand, we don’t want agitation here… Agitation means breaking down everything, burning things. That cannot be allowed. So, therefore, if anyone is trying to do that, we will stop it. That is the way it is in Pakistan,” he told the interviewer.

Links:

Daily Times http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\12\01\story_1-12-2007_pg1_1

Dawn http://www.dawn.com/2007/12/01/top1.htm

Re: ‘I may quit if post-election situation is unacceptable’ - Musharraf

He wont quit, he will be thrown out by the people of Pakistan and very shortly indeed.

^ indeed

I say General (r) do it now. You have already done enough damage to the reputation of Pakistan army and civil institutions esp. the judiciary

yeah im sure he has a choice of leaving, the house in Turkey awaits him after the “situation” becomes unbearable for him in pak :rotfl:

Those are marked for downfall are first made crazy.

Musharraf is slowly realizing that his days in power are over. Now he has to look over to GHQ thinking about when Gen. Kiyani's going to drop the hammer.

Good... That should be signal for the opposition that dealing with Musharaf will only prolong his dictatorship...

people were claiming that musharraf's days were numbered when cj was restored. and yet today, cj is essentially in jail, courts have been packed with musharraf's supporters and media has been taught a lesson.

people predicting musharraf's demise remind of juma khutba where mullah predict that israel will be defeated very soon. as i keep saying, no body cooks khayali pulao better than pakistanis.

'I may quit if post election result is unacceptable' … in other words, if election result would be against Musharraf expectations than he would quit. The political statement Musharraf made, he made that knowing ground realities where it is expected that PML(Q) and allies would get over whelming majority in next election.

As for opposition boycotting the election, than that is fine as far as government is concerned. Reason is that, in that case PML(Q) and allies are certain to get more than 2/3 number of NA seats. As for opposition starting mass movement against government, government also knows that with kind of support opposition have, they could not do much, similar to last 5 years.

What I believe is that there is very little support for parties in opposition and in coming election, PML(Q) along with their allies would sweep the election. I might be wrong or things might change in next few weeks, but that is the situation at present. The situation is so obvious that parties in opposition are worried that if they go into election, they would only expose themselves and their unpopularity. Many in opposition are worried from the situation and that is prompting them to call for boycotting the election.

Actually, both NS and BB before coming to Pakistan were thinking that they have huge support, but now realized that they are standing on quicksand and that has put both of them in shock. Both NS and BB are double minded. Other parties are also double minded about going into election or not, so they are flip flopping.

The only party in opposition that believes they have little support and could get some seats in certain areas with certainty is Fazlur Rahman. Fazlur Rahman also knows that if he boycotts the election, the areas he has support could not do much to powerbase in Islamabad, rather if he would be out of power than after 5 years even his support would wane out.

BB is not certain how many seats she might be able to get in next election, but expect few and gambling for that. She and her party also know that if she is out of this election, in next election her party could not expect even handful of seats. It seems that she is double minded and thinking what to do. She is deciding to join ruling coalition or go on her own. She believes that if she can get enough seats and ruling coalition needs her party than she might be able to bargain a better deal from them, but problem is that if ruling coalition gets enough seats, she would lose her importance after election.

It seems that if JI goes into election on their own outside MMA coalition, they may be lucky to win even one seat in next election. NAP intends to take full advantage from unpopularity of MMA and hoping to win some seats in NWFP at the expense of MMA.

As what is present situation, question is not that if PML(Q) and their allies would win the January election, but question is that if they would get more than 2/3 majority (over 228 seats) or not. What I understand, Musharraf step to impose emergency was due to reason that PML(Q) and allies would get much more than 2/3 majority in next election, so he could afford steps that may attract unpopular propaganda. BB is gambling that PML(Q) and their allies would not get 2/3 majority. If they do not get 2/3 majority and could not gather enough votes from here and there, than BB intends to get better deal from ruling coalition, but if they get 2/3 majority than BB would lose out.

That is because they do not understand the bigger picture - only footpath politics.

Here’s the actual interview

Musharraf Shares Blame With US

When you do not know how to cook the real pulao that's what you have to do.

*agar hum khayaali pulao bana rahay hain to Mush bhi to humain aath saal sai paka raha hai *

well if he is in no danger than why did he need to impose emergency and massacre the whole judiciary. Once the draconian measures are gone and the playing field is level than we will see who will be taught a lesson. Wait and watch.

HAHAHHA, man..post of the WeeK. Some people have been predicting this since 99ish. Most of them are likely malnourished, and in dire need of fiber food so synaptic activity can occur readily in their brains.