Re: i love going to restaurants, and trying new cuisine.
Whenever I go to a non-halal restaurant, which is often because there aren't many halal ones around, I do end up eating vegetarian dishes. I don't eat anything other than halal.
vegetarian? not even sea-food? is that satisfying? i mean ... i look at greek food ... and i drool :( ..although greek food is a lot of pork ... but they do have a lot of mutton too ... but then i have this in my head ... they cook everything in the same pan, same oil, so even if they are cooking vegetarian, perhaps it's been cooked in the same pot the pork was fried earlier in ...
the really good restaurants wouldnt do that ... but i can imagine that being done in the average ones.
I do stick to halal most of the time but I'll admit sometimes I do eat haram but never pork.. up until I was 12/13 and my mum suddenly became religious we pretty much always ate haram meat and for me it was a habit that was difficult to break..
Well in my family they prefer eating halal or nothin at all, however i am the black sheep of the family as i am really social and spend more time out then at home, in college and even now at work, aur Allah kee yeh karnee hai key mujhay job bhi waisee milee hai, lekin back in college days i used to give in to the temptation and bahar khaa leta tha (NO PORK THO) lekin 3 yrs ago i got my act together and AlhamduLillah I am strictly halal now, and i eat fish or vege and quiet honestly ab dil bhi nahi chahta :k:
No, I mean haram.. We lived on haram burgers, steaks etc., that’s how seriously my parents took religion then suddenly my mum started wearing hijab, reading the Qur’an and everything changed..
She knows I eat haram now and again but she doesn’t really allow it in the house.. if my dad buys a meal that’s not halal he gets
I’m like u, I do try and stick to halal but I don’t have the willpower to keep it up 100%
i wouldn't call it "complexity" of eating halal/zabiha only. it's what you're supposed to do, if you're given the option. however, if that is not the case and i still have to eat out, i will choose for dishes without any meat in them, or go for seafood. it isn't that damaging to my ego or taste buds or anything.
I usually do go out to eat in non-halal restaurants, I just order vegetarian or seafood options....sometimes we just go for dessert. Haram meat is a total no-no is our family and we don't usually order food if we think that its being cooked in the same area as haram meat....such as we will tell IHOP or Denny's to prepare our eggs on a vegetarian or clean grill, etc...(we ask if such options are available)
I also love going out but i never eat meat out! Its actually a good way for me to eat fish since we don't make much of it at home. Its really not that hard to eat halal out. I always read the menu to see how the food is prepared and ask them to substitute or remove something such wine etc. Also my family is very strict about eating halal so we only bring halal meat.
I go to both halal and non-halal restaurants but will only eat seafood, veggie options at a non-halal restaurants. So strictly halal for me only.
Miss_Noland, a chicken may be just a chicken but for me the psychological element plays a part, I could never knowingly bring myself to eat haram meat.
A chicken is a chicken... Does it matter who slaughtered it?
Yes. Not only that, if he slaughtered it the right way is also very important.
so with this whole halal thing going on ... KFC going halal ... and i-only-eat-halal ... people who like dining out ... do you only go to "halal" restaurants?
and if you do go to a non-halal restaurant, you've never eaten anything but fish and shrimps and vegetarian in there?
how do happy-diners go around with this complexity of wanting only halal?
I usually go to halal only restaurants. If not, then it's just seafood or vegetarian meal.
I have been into zabiha halal only for long time but the more I read about it the more I bending toward eating non zabiha halal too.
For example when sura Maida ver3 talks about kind of animal which are slaughtered in name other than Allah it refers to Sacrificial slaughter of animals who are sacrificed for other deities other than Allah.
And I am bent to think that if it is a non sacrificial slaughtering and it is not dedicated to anybody at the time of slaughtering it is Halal for us to eat meat of this Halal animal like goat , cow, chicken etc.
yeah my family is strict about eating halal too. there are a lot of places to get halal meat, so when im at a non halal food place its not difficult eating something veggie or fishy lolll. its all good for you!
every time i have a discussion with non-muslims on this subject of halal / haram … i have always thought in my head: what is so wrong with eating an animal that has been properly cut, releasing all the blood, and everything that a muslim butcher would do, but just that presence of the verbal Allah Hu Akbar is not there (and neither there is a presence of sacrifice to jesus in anyway)? it never sounded logical enough to me. and since Islam is based on logic, this always felt my weakest attempt to satisfy the other wth it.