I just heard this...

In Islam, Hell is not eternal…

Meaning, even guys like Hitler and Mussolini would be forgiven eventually and end up in paradise…

My source is Dr. Israr Ahmed, and a Sunni Maulvi Sahib whose name I don’t remember on Islam Online…

Does anyone have any other info on this matter, please?

Re: I just heard this...

In Islam, Hell is not eternal...

U said it u'r self ... so only in islam ... means only for muslims :)

Plz correct me if i m wrong ...

Lajwab is asking the question at a wrong address. Musolini and Hitler must be prisnors of Jewish hell. He must address to the concerned warden.

I've heard this once before, but it seems to be a distinctly minority view.

Lajawab, is this guy's main argument that when the Quran mentiones eternal punishment, it means that it will feel to them as through their punishment is eternal because it will last for a very long time? I'm wondering if this is the same argument I read a long time ago.

I gave up thinking about this issue. I'm focused on trying to avoid going to hell altogether (inshallah) rather than concerning myself with how long people in there are going to be punished.

There is hadith to this effect that bodies in hell will resemble burnt coal and be transferred to rivers in jannah where they will then blossom. That of course is for souls who deserve to be rewarded with jannah. It doesn't mean the likes of Hitler will go there too. I'll try and find the hadith if not posted by someone else.

Re: I just heard this…

Did you hear Dr. Israr Ahmed saying it or was it another instance of him being quoted out of context as usual. What I know at one time when I heard him on this issue during the Daura-e-Tarjuma-e-Quran in Ramadhaan, he explained two views about it. One was that Hell is eternal and one was that it is not but for the later he never said that unbelievers will end up in heavens. That’s far from stretched.

it is a minority view... sometimes argued for with verses like:

"Abiding therein [in the Fire] so long as the heavens and the earth endure, except as your Lord please; surely your Lord is the mighty doer of what He intends." (Qur'an 11:107)

but ignoring verses such as:

"Nor will there be a way for them out of the Fire" (2:167)

"Except the path of hell, to abide in it for ever (khalidina fiha abada), and this is easy to Allah" (4:169)

"Surely whoever associates (others) with Allah, then Allah has forbidden (harrama) to him the garden, and his abode is the Fire" (5:72)

all this applies to whoever died on clear disbelief/kufr...

yet whoever dies possessing even an atom's weight of correct faith in God will make it to Heaven eventually... "And never would Allah make your faith (iman) of no effect" (2:143)

Let me, for the record, clarify that Shirk (Associating partners with Allah :swt: ) is an unforgivable sin…

For those who include a second in Allah :swt:'s divinity is a woeful end…

However, what about those who simply disbelieved yet did not associate anyone with Allah :swt:…

AQ: I heard Dr. Israr Ahmed specifically say it and I try to listen closely when Israr sahib speaks…

What I want is, it was not just Dr. Israr, it was another Aalim…

What I want to know is, what makes these scholars say that? What references do they use? And why (unlike the Jewish or Christian concept of eternal damnation) is Islamic Hellfire temporary?

2:80. And they say: "The Fire shall not touch us but for a few numbered days:" Say: "Have ye taken a promise from Allah, for He never breaks His promise? or is it that ye say of Allah what ye do not know?"

2:81. Nay, those who seek gain in evil, and are girt round by their sins,- they are companions of the Fire: Therein shall they abide (For ever).

The word used is khalideen. End of story!

Check the link and tell me which translations has ‘for ever’ in it?

http://www.compsoc.man.ac.uk/~moiz/quran/browse.cgi?sura=98&aya=&ya=1&sh=1&ph=1

And I want you to read from 2:80 to 2:85…

And what about the Christian monks about whom thew Quran says, that their eyes well up everytime their Lord’s name is mentioned…

5:82 Thou wilt find the most vehement of mankind in hostility to those who believe (to be) the Jews and the idolaters. And thou wilt find the nearest of them in affection to those who believe (to be) those who say: Lo! We are Christians. That is because there are among them priests and monks, and because they are not proud.

5:83 When they listen to that which hath been revealed unto the messengers, thou seest their eyes overflow with tears because of their recognition of the Truth. They say: Our Lord, we believe. Inscribe us as among the witnesses.

5:84 How should we not believe in Allah and that which hath come unto us of the Truth. and (how should we not) hope that our Lord will bring us in along with righteous folk ?

5:85 Allah hath rewarded them for that their saying - Gardens underneath which rivers flow, wherein they will abide for ever. That is the reward of the good.

Who is the Quran talking about here? It is talking about Christian monks who are Mushriks (an unforgivable sin), and even then being forgiven to paradise…

But this concept of, ‘I can do anything I want and be forgiven because Jesus died for me’ is a bit too much to fetch…

No wonder western nations are so easy with merciless mass murders in every century…

4:169 >>> Ab'ada = Forever

I wonder if it was deliberate or not, but you missed to pick the more obvious meaning for verse 83

YUSUFALI: And when they listen to the revelation received by the Messenger, thou wilt see their eyes overflowing with tears, for they recognise the truth: they pray: "Our Lord! we believe; write us down among the witnesses.
PICKTHAL: When they listen to that which hath been revealed unto the messengers, thou seest their eyes overflow with tears because of their recognition of the Truth. They say: Our Lord, we believe. Inscribe us as among the witnesses.
SHAKIR: And when they hear what has been revealed to the messenger you will see their eyes overflowing with tears on account of the truth that they recognize; they say: Our Lord! we believe, so write us down with the witnesses (of truth).

This verse is talking about ‘the messenger’. Also, if you look carefully, all these verses are talking about present day. So ‘the messenger’ then, implies Muhammad :saw:
Basically, they’re bearing witness to Muhammad’s :saw: message.

Allah knows best !

all forms of disbelief/kufr amount to shirk in one form or another… think about it…

see the verses i posted earlier

in addition to TH’s correction of the translation… you can see that verse 5:83 says

“When they listen to that which hath been revealed unto the Messenger, thou seest their eyes overflow with tears because of their recognition of the Truth. They say: Our Lord, we believe”

so they believed in the revelation sent to Prophet Muhammad (saw)… they are certainly not mushriks

Source: http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=21365&dgn=4

In addition, those who rejected Islam will abide in Hell forever. I believe only the Muslim sinners if initially thrown into Hell would be taken out of it by the Will of Allah (SWT). Here’s more on it: Purification of the sinners.

Furthermore, Hell and Heaven already exist. Proof:

Source: Paradise and Hell exist and they will abide so long as Allaah wills them to abide

Only for Muslims...unless they engaged in shirk.....

Thanks Sadiyah… that pretty much covers everything. :jazak:

I have a question. Can you find out if Time exists beyond the world. I mean time is a creation of ALLAH:swt: and it is relevent to the world. What if when the world is no more here, there is no concept of time either.. There is no concept of past, present, future so everything is just without time hence no ending of anything for future is not there?

50:38 We created the heavens and the earth and all between them in six days, nor did any sense of weariness touch Us.

This is a proof that time existed before us.

70:4 The angels and the spirit ascend unto him in a Day the measure whereof is (as) fifty thousand years:

This is proof that time will exist after this world comes to an end.

So my guess is, there'll still be time.

Allah knows best.

Lajawab,

I also heard Dr. Israr Ahmed saying this on Ptv. It is his opinion and his explaination , his logic and believe. If you want you believe in him, if your heart ZAMIR prohabits you. Do not believe in him. DEEN MEIN JABAR NAHEIN HAI.

I have read something else not quite as the above. I think the name of the guy i read is Samad Saram and the book is Asma ul Husna. Anyhow what i read was that there is an end to heaven and hell. True that it says forever in Quran e pak but that forever is in context to humans. Other wise only Allah is infinite and this Hazrat Adam s.a wasnt the only adam. I’ll look it up again. But just wondering if anyone else’s read the book.

Such an important news and you just heard it??????

hahhahahahaha