I just hate myself sometimes ...

I am 26 years old and unmarried.I live with my parents.Anyway, i have a problem i want your help with…

Every family has clashes and every family has their problems. With my family,there have been many fun & successful times and many full of tension, nervous break down type stress days too. My father is a strict loud natured person. He gives the impression of a hitler to every one but we the family members know that there is a very soft side to him as well that only we get to see some times. Being the eldest of so many siblings, he demands his things be done within a minute and to perfection. He wants every single done no matter what it is. Thats how he is. My mother has resolved to it and is more of a yes-boss attitude follower now. Of course she loves him but she too dislikes it when he can be so controlling. He would handle everything at home from grocery, to furniture, to workers at home, to money matter etc. For some it might be something great that he does it all but it can actually be frustrating that you get to have no say.My parents although they can be nice at times but argue on daily basis and they both hate each other’s families and keep taunting on them which irritates me a lot. My siblings are not here, all are out of country and visit after 2-3 years except one of them who visists after a few days as he is out of city. There have been major problems with one of my siblings and for that me and my mother did not agree to my father’ decision and argued over it for more than a year. that deep down created a revolting feeling at my end. Although, things have been settled down with all siblings but still many contraints come in front on and off. He is not the expressive sort when it comes to love, he has never kissed or hugged us but by the efforts he puts in to raise us, its obvious how much he is concerned about us.

I dont even realize when and how i misbehave with him. UI can genuinely be a very Badtameez child without even realizing it. He is wrong many times and he can be forceful and rude too but i should not reply back i know that. Buit i dotn know what gets into me that i misbehave so badly. He does not realize some one’s effort - I mean i am working plus when i go back home i am handling many things of dinner and other household stuff too. if its 12 midnight, i am dead tired and plannign to sleep before i have to wake up for sehri and go to office too. He suddenly demands for dinner or tea or something. yesterday, i just blew up in anger. It was my first day of periods and i had cramps in my legs and back ache and what not. I had already been working all day .. climbed the stairs up and down 20+ times. Cut the vegetables for noodle, cut all fruits for fruit chaat, made pakoray, Dahi bhallay, etc. all at home and alone because my mother wasnt home. I gave the aftari to everyone then made tea as well. Finally, i got free and some one or the other demanded something. My father came home at aftari time. Around 11 o clock he asked me for dinner when i was plannign to sleep. Again, i dont know what got into me..maybe its his tone, maybe he is loud, maybe i am scared of him, maybe it was just periods mood swing or what-I opened up like lava. He did not realize how much tired and unwell i was. I had truly been working all day and was dead tired. It was wrong of me but whether you say it politely or sternly, he does not take No for an answer. My mother was unwell and was sleeping too. My father became so angry that I am sure our neighbours could hear it too. He was so angry at my reaction that he could have slapped me in anger. I know it was my mistake but it seems no one seems to realize my efforts. I am working 12 hours and i contribute fully, plus the work at home is a lot since my mother is unwell many a times. We have a maid too but she works only for a few 3-4 hours because she herself has a lot many problems. We have tried changing the maid but again my father has some problem with them if they are not clean or some other issue and fires them.

I maybe wrong and i regret what i say but I dont even realize what and when i say it. Why i react so badly when i am asked to work when i am dead tired. it just kills me that no one realizes the efforts i am putting in. Then my father went on on how much he did for me and what he did for me. I know he did a lot and i can never even think of paying that back, he out did any father i know of in what he did for me. I am not even close to what he did for me. I feel so bad being rude to him and hurting him so bad but i have never been able to adjust to loud voices, controlling habits, stubborn attitudes or lack of care. If some one is sweet to me i am much more sweeter to them. If some one is angry i just get doubled in that.

Since i have a gap in the relationship with him, its always difficult for me to talk out things with him or say sorry for some wrong i have done. I was not like this and i dont want to be like this. I love him and he loves me too but his and my own reactions ruin it all. I know i will be married off in a year or so when if the process of marriage starts. I want to utilize this time with my parents. I have an awesome relation with my mother and i want an awesome one with my father too that does not include my rude and badtameez attitude. I dont know how to fix it. Maybe i just want them to be a little caring and understanding towards me as well which when i dont get flares me up.

Please help me in what i should do. Please do not bash any one in the thread or make it a funny one. I genuinely want serious replies only. Thank you.

Re: I just hate myself sometimes ...

Speak to him... nicely.. tell him how ur feeling. Exactly how u did here

Sadzz, it is a little difficult to do. There is a lot of formality and I wouldn't be comfortable talking it out.

I also want to know of any Surahs or Ayats or tasbeeh one should do for Temperament problems and for family problems.

Matey, I think u need to help yourself before Allah can help you.

Excuses like formality dont do... you need to be able to speak to your father. DO you believe that reading a Surah is really going to somehow make your dad melt overnight and all your problems will go away?

I dont think it's that simple. If life were, everything would be perfect.

You're 26. You're an adult.... you need to find the right time to speak with him... you're his child. Not a ghair

honey .. dont be so hard on urself.. u do waay more than a lot of girls do for the household seriously .. aisi cheze hojati heh kabhi kabhar.. it doesnt mean ur a bad daughter.. n i think ur father knows that.. so relax

First off, im glad you typed it up and got it off your chest. Yay for that.

Secondly, I can tell how much you love and value your father. I think you have a good heart and doing what all you do, you've got a full plate. Now, that doesn't allow for badtameezi, but I can understand your anger and irritation.

I think your best route to approach this AbraCadabra, is to talk to him. I read what you wrote above that theres a lot of formatlity, but to hell with the formality, and if its formal, let it be, but LET HIM KNOW. If you dont let him know, then im sorry, dont hope for things to get better. If you would like him to make a PROACTIVE change, then you have to make the PROACTIVE effort. I know it might be a bit difficult, but swallow the discomfort and formality for once, and just give it a shot. You need to tell him everything you wrote on here, or atleast a summarized version of it, but, first and foremost, you HAVE to tell him how much you love him and how much you recognize that he's done for you. That will let him feel that you are talking to him with a level-head. You might not be able to exactly change him all the way, for he is in a mature and old age where changing habits is a bit difficult, that is why in islam children get a lot of sawaab for recognizing their parents fazeelat.

Find dua's and surah's to help, it is ramzan, do dua. But, always remember, kindness can kill. Im positive that your father has a respect for you also, and hes not blinded at the things that you DO. So dont think you are going unrecognized. I know it might be difficult, but I would encourage you to trying to do so.

Your always going to be more fearful thinking about things but once u actually start talking to ur dad u'll realise u were scared for no reason

Parents bring u up from the time when u cant even eat for urself, sit up for urself, walk for urself or talk for urself, they have an incanny ability to recoginise wat their child is feeling at any given time although they may be unable to talk about it

Ur dad is the same, talking to him without hesitation in a loving manner will make a world of difference, read surat fatiha and go to talk to him

As others above have suggested, talk to him. I know it is easier said than done to talk to someone you're not really close to.....and it CAN be tough to apologize....but do it to clear the air because it's not healthy for people to hold grudges especially between one and their parents. Apologize to your dad for offending him (because we don't realize how we can come across to others)...and tell him that since it's Ramzan you were tired preparing for an iftari (cuz you're doing the cooking/cleaning on an empty stomach)....so he understands what triggered it. And tell him gently that it's no competition and that you realize he's done a lot for you and that you can never come close to repaying him. (This should be brought up so that hopefully he won't bring this up again in the future....as he'd know that you're aware that you don't treat it as competition). And then tell him HONESTLY that you feel uncomfortable/scared when he shouts, etc. I think most parents (who really care) don't want their kids to feel this way. Your dad might not be fully aware of how he comes across as maybe others have been apprehensive in telling him. Who knows? But you need to talk to him because you'll be getting married soon....and you'll have to communicate with your husband your in-laws, etc.

If it is THAT difficult for you to talk to your dad face to face........then perhaps discuss your feelings with your mom and see if she can speak to your dad on your behalf. Since your mom is sick at times (and I hope she fully recovers soon)....your dad might feel more inclined to listen to her and cooperate....so as not to upset her.

Yes, dua can help but it's needs to be accompanied by actions as well. I don't recall if you mentioned it, but do you have siblings? If so, ask them if they can help you out with the chores around the house.....divide the tasks so you feel less exhausted.

Print your post and hand it over to your father. It will tell him WHY IT happened and also HOW MUCH YOU REGRET it. What you have posted here, you should be saying all this directly to your father.

Thanks a lot for such empathizing posts every one. I am glad i wrote it all and got such nice advises.

Anyway,yesterday we were totally quiet during aftari which is something different for my house because we are literally never quiet. I went to my father yesterday after Aftari. I made him tea and forwarded my hand for a handshake. He gave me a harsh look but after 2-3 times of insisting he shaked it. All is better after it. He talked out all he wanted to say about me, my siblings, my mother's family and why he dislikes them, my father's family etc. Again i didnt agree with many things but i opted to stay completely quiet and listen. I feel light and better now. I hope it remains this consistent moving forward too.

If you cannot speak to him write to him in a letter format as to what you like and do not like about his and his attitude. His attitude has created a metal block in your psyche and you will never be able to speak to him about what is truly in your mind. One important thing in a nurturing family environment is that everybody should be open and frank to express their feelings truly. Since this is lacking at your home your only recourse is to present them in writing . He might open up too and things might get better after this.

The problem you and he has , has been swept under the rug this way. You and him do not have a parental bond. To you he is just a provider and to him you are his responsibility. A family relationship is much more than that. You and him shaking hands did not resolve the issue that he does not express his true feelings nicely. You want him to know how you feel about his outbursts and lack of expression of love and care verbally . Also you do not like his way of expressing his anger. But you are not able to tell him that. It is not good , he should know all that and in simple terms. Unless he knows that he is doing something wrong he will not change. As I said above , you can start by writing all this in a letter to him and this might result in that special , father daughter bond.

No Offense...

Abra wat u do is not a big deal.... and i wud honestly say ur father is definitely not acting weird

IT IS HIS RIGHT to ask u for something and to demand.... hum lerkiyoun ko tab pata chalta hai jub hum in laws mein jaati haen aur dood ka dood aur pani ka pani ho jata hai. Aik baat yaad rakhna jo humaray maa baap nay humaray liye keeya hai hum unko saari umer bhi ye wapis nahi ker saktay...

maa baap kay ghar kaam kernay mein itni problem hai then wat will do after ur married.... think aba it.... my sis is a worse case then u.... she is a doc. On calls 24 hour dutys and God knows wat, she is so frustrated wen she comes home and YES does all house work, helps mom and does sehar and aftari too so it aint a biggy if ur doing that!!!!!

u just need to relax and seriously U WILL REMEMBER UR FATHER, what he said, will miss his orders after ur married!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

^I don't agree. Its not about kaam, etc.... its about the way he's communicating with her.

A healthy relationship with your parents involves expressing love. My father was strict when we were little, but as we grew up he started talking to us, communicating more with us and did make loving gestures like sar par haath rakhna, etc.

I think the OP needs to communicate more with her father, tell him how she feels. Maybe it will improve his behavior with his kids.

no probs don't agree wat difference does it makes to me....

i have seen many girls cry out their lives b4 marriage then after marriage khudi line per aa jati haen

Everybody does not have the same level of energy as your sister does. Parents and siblings have to show some compassion for other family members , there are times in everybody's day when they do not feel like doing anything and relax and unwind.

we should not forget wat our parents have done for us....

compassion comes after... just because im feeling sleepy, i will NOT obey my father NEVER

shyed u ppl have forgetten that misaal that "aik sahabi thay jin ki maa nay bola meray liye pani lay ker ao, nazdeek kaheen pani nahi tha, phir wo darya say pani lay ker aey.... jub aey to unki maa so chuki thi, wo SAARI RAAT UPNI MAA KAY SARHANAY KHARAY RAHAY pani lay ker, jub subah fajr kay waqt unki maa uthi to kehnay lagi, "tum yahan kharay ho" wo bolay, mein pani ap kay liye laaya tha, aap so chuki theen to meinay uthana apko munasib nahi samjha"

aur idher aaj kul kay bachay haen!!!!

Subhaan Allah!!!!

Well, I would definitely do what my father asked me to do if he said it in a loving way, with kindness and compassion.

Did you not read the OPs post properly?

I agree, our parents did a lot for us when bringing us up, but what makes that bond the most strongest is love and compassion, not a sense of duty. Being a mother myself, I love doing things for my daughter, cuz when she smiles at me and hugs me, it makes it all worth it.... I would probably go crazy if she kept yelling at me and was not expressing her love.

Relationships are not strong if they are based on just a sense of duty and gratefulness, there has to be love involved.

Well said.

when it comes to parents and their age love ka to pata nahi per parents r really picky aba respect and dutys my frnd!!!!

I am a mother of 2 daughters myself and do agree to what u have said but then again i have seen my parents and 100's of others too!!!!

If you lose your temper like that again, then apologize AND give him a hug. Some parents think the child should be more affectionate. He's your dad and fathers hold their daughters very dear to them, he doesn't hate you.