I have issues with this forum

I strongly disapprove the way this forum breathes and breeds. While it’s true that big part of “Home Economics” has a lot to do with food, there are other “a lot to do” areas of a household that come under this umbrella.

Right now this forum reeks of godwottery (I just learned this word today) of spoons, spoonfuls, and spooning. While I’m a strong advocate of at least one of these three forms of spoon-ness, food comes only an accessorial notion to it during very few creative moments.

The forum is littered with intricate language of quantities (e.g. 1/4 teaspoon), spices, meat description (yuckkkkkkkkk), thousand different ways to simmer and still get it wrong, baking techniques and how best to avoid putting your house afire. There is more to life than food, and definitely more to home economics than recipe exchange.

images/smilies/rolleyes.gif

When was the last time you talked about, say, furniture? Fixtures? Decorum of the house? That design of pantry that you absolutely cannot live without? This inbreeding of stale recipes or quest for them from bored housewives or maritally repressed men must stop at once in favor of things of more aesthetic nature. :rolleyes:

Re: I have issues with this forum

^ I totally agree :k:

So have you finished the dusting and cleaning and vaccuming around the house?

You have issues with a number of things Roman...and a number of things have issues with you...especially pineapples!

If you wanna know about furniture and fixtures and fitting why dont you find yourself a shop instead of wasting time and good words like "godwottery" on a rant.....

Dont they have furniture or decorum of the house shops shops in Romania?

One thing, if you have problem regarding anything other than kitchen, pls post we will be glad to offer our mashwaras .. woh bhi muft. :p

acha u tell, me how do you clean your IRON, i mean, i used starch spray once or twice and my brand new istari went black neechay se... :(

Any mashwara

Ms daisy vaisy, you’re doing that thing again :rolleyes: Obstructing people from having meaningful conversation on household related issues by your frolics. Please, we are all very serious people here.

sadaf, I had that problem once. It ruined one of my shirts. This was years ago and I’ve no idea why I still keep that shirt while never wearing it again.

I think what I did was turn on the iron and with its bottom hot, used a knife to scratch off the blackish + plastic-ish material. I then tried it again and seeing that it had not worked, I threw away the iron and bought a new one.

At least one of the above should work for you. :halo:

A dilemma for the home economists -- we just bought a place and now the questions is, do we buy fun, cheaper furniture from place like Ikea? Or do we look around and spend significantly more for "real" furniture that will last us a lifetime?

Assembling Ikea furniture isn’t always fun :bummer: But then again i don;t want to buy a 5k couch and be unable to get rid of it when i’m bored with it in a few yrs time.

^ that's what I'm worried about. What if I'm fickle with my furniture?

I guess Ikea is the solution then :smiley: I like their bedroom, bathroom and kitchen sets the most, cabinets are all great but sofas are tooo casual. Not for me. I’ld probably get the sofa from elsewhere.

You get these liquid solutions to clean up irons, did u ever try one of them?

Sahar,

I plan to buy new furniture a piece a month sort of way when I buy the house. It’s economically sound + gives you more time to think about what you want.

Few things though. Some furniture at Ikea is not that durable or strong compared to regular one. I don’t know if they still have that chest of drawers part of the collection they used to few years back but it was something like $50-$100. A friend had it and a year later it broke on him (hinges came off or something and was not mendable). So for such pieces you might wanna consider non-Ikea. Of course that means the whole room should have non-ikea to match. :halo: On the other hand, their living room chairs are pretty strong and stylish.

Personally, I always liked the non-Ikea type of furniture for the bedroom. I like the conventional and traditional look to it. Living room and kitchenette can be experimented on to the fullest of the heart. :smiley:

Femme – yeah i don’t like their sofas either. we’ve splurged on those (and luckily some were gifts from the parents). i think the best things they have are the cabinets, shelves, and storage units.

Roman – not a bad idea. i don’t think i would do the bedroom from there either. 'cept that we have this really small bedroom that might function as an office/study. might just get a simple daybed from a place like ikea for that room. the crate and barrel day bed was $1200 – lovely but just more than we’d like to spend for an item like that. for the other bedrooms, crate and barrel is perfect :love:.

[quote=“Roman”]
Ms daisy vaisy, you’re doing that thing again :rolleyes: Obstructing people from having meaningful conversation on household related issues by your frolics. Please, we are all very serious people here.

/QUOTE]
Sir, I say with great respect that I never “do that thing”… this is an utter falsehood and I will as you to refrain from making these deeply hurtful and libellous accusations. it is very rude and very unEnglish!
If this thread was about meaninful conversations it would have had a suitable heading for example “meaningful conversation regarding decorating and furniture.”

nevertherless I will provide you with some information…

use websites, and little adverts at the back of newspapers…sometimes larger stores take quite a large commission from their sales.

smaller retailers may be able to offer you a better price… For those in the UK In small quality manufacturers do this…you can get hand made leather chairs and sofa’s for a lot less than in say “land of leather”

as for Ikea type furniture… with some pieces its good for a few years has to be renewed and if you consider renewal costs over the years its not economically sound, if you have the finances its worth investing in a few pieces …bearing in mind that nowadays furniture does go out of fashion comparatively quickly

If you have a certain style especially a “timeless” look its easier to get way with buying long term furniture

a French farmhouse or chateau look, georgian, victorian or an eclectic mix…

these looks last

if you look back a few years at the modern furniture on sale…you’ll find that its different and that look looks aged.

Now for the iron issue

someone said you can get an iron cleaning solution or a little block thing that is made for the purpose

Or warm up the iron and use a washing up scourer to scrape of the muck

ps you must buy flowers and candels for ambiance

Sahar...fickleness isnt good

you can try using throws and cushions to change the look in a room

^with furniture, I'm not sure that it's a huge deal. But you're right, it's best to find pieces that are classic and timeless. Changing paint colors and curtains are other ways change the look of a room.

Ms daisy vaisy,

Your uncouth denial is completely wrong. The title, in fact, if you read closely, between the lines, beneath the veneer of the words, and through the underlying undertones clearly states that "This topic is a serious one and brits with limited knowledge of furniture should not come in here and play frolics". It further goes on to say that "Please also refrain from slandering the author as he has a soft heart and big, innocent, puppy eyes".

Ms daisy vaisy, I think you indulge in selective reading.

Ok guys I just cleaned the base of my Iron. I used 409 Oxy clean all poupuse surface cleaner (that's what we had at home). Spray it on the surface of the iron, scrap the brown black stuff with a knife, wipe it off with a paper towel. If you clean your Iron on regular basis like every 4-6 months, it should not take more then two rounds of scraping and wiping.

Listen Lady, you called ME uncouth…that my dear is a hangable offence:mad:

as for your big puppy dog eyes… :yukh:

This needs to be renewed since too much food talk in current home-eks.

For a moment I thought roman was back. Patta nahi nalaiq kahan gya,