and never looked back. Now I am planning to visit.I will visit Lahore , Peshawar and Karachi because these are the 3 cities I have family in and I know these cities from those days intimately. I used to walk , drive and ride all kind of public transport in those days. Would I still be able to find my way in Lahore from airport to Model Town C block? Would I be able to drive from Gulshan Iqbal to Kimari in Karachi? I know the names of mohallas, roads, markets and hangouts of those days.
What kind of changes do you think would I see or should expect?
Re: I have been out of Pakistan for 25 years.
do u regret it ?
Not a single minute of it.
I would have been dead long time ago if stayed there because of my political and religious beliefs and activism. Many of those people whom i knew are dead.
Would I be able to drive from Gulshan Iqbal to Kimari in Karachi? I know the names of mohallas, roads, markets and hangouts of those days. What kind of changes do you think would I see or should expect?
Yes, you can drive but with dense traffic (including traffic jams at peak hours). Further, due to many flyovers built during last two decades, there are chances that you take a wrong route.
Suggestion: Just reach Water-pump from Gulshan and then follow W-11 and you will reach Kimari without getting lost :D
Sure, why not.
It probably will be a bit of a shock to you, some of the new developments, but that’ll pass in minutes really, once your mind gets the old images out from memory. Other than that, it’s a straight trip, and you should have zero problems going to Model Town from the airport.
@Mirch bhai, 25 saaloN meN jitnaa amriikan bane ab phir thoRaa DESI banne kaa shauq huaa hai? masha Allah! :)
Considering you are a religious minority and you are planning on going to Pakistan you are being pretty damn stupid. If you thought it was bad 25 years ago its 1 million times worse for minorities now.
Unless you have a really pressing need to go back don't bother. You are just going to come back more dejected and disheartened then when you left. Not to mention you are putting your life at risk. Kidnappings have increased in Peshawar and Karachi by multiples of 10. My cousin etc carry fire arms when they travel in karachi for their own protection. Don't know anybody who hasn't been robbed at gun point etc.
However in 25 years Pakistan has changed considerably. The socio-economic divide is more prevalent. All your old haunts are most likely gone specifically in Peshawar. Peshawar seems more like Kabul then it does Lahore or Karachi. The streets are over crowded and jam packed. Don't recommend you drive as the roads and everything have changed. A good deal of development current and past.
Basically when you go back to Pakistan after 25 years think of it a new country you never have been to before.
They say their are tons more cars now in pak.
If you want to be nice to all 3 families in pak
bring them solar cells.
Culture shock
You will get it no matter how much prepared you are
25years? Wow!
25 years phew...and I am already sweating on what has been changed in last 7 years :)
You will see it all turned on its head. Dont count on your memory or roads etc. Lahore and Karachi commute is now totally different ball game. I'd suggest you use cab or let someone local drive.
and have a safe trip