---I hate Basant............:(---

Re: —I hate Basant…:(—

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=209113

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006%5C01%5C14%5Cstory_14-1-2006_pg7_15

You can dislike/hate kite flying as much as you like. It is your personal choice. But the reason # 2 shows that you have no understanding of this sport and a the festival whatsoever. you can do better by pointing out more realistic issues like public safety intead of relying on these childish myths :slight_smile:

Just want to explain with an example

If i want to make a fool, I can do this in following manner.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=192287

now a smart person can figure out the bluff, and it is impossible that he/she would buy that.

but if a person is naive and he/she has no understanding of different cultures and festivals then he/she would be an easy prey.

Re: ---I hate Basant............:(---

GREAT NEWS PEOPLE...another guy name as nadeem died in lahore due to "dur"...

shabash logon..keep supporting tht ****...ever year plenty of people killed and hundreds of people r injured....drinks,tawaif bazi and all the kamina panas r common...shabash logon....
i wish i could make u people listen to the scream of the father of tht guy...

shabash logon...make basant on the blood of tht unfortunate nadeem guy....after so many accidents every year,i think same accidents should be happen to those people who support****s like basant....and then i will love to hear their screams...

huh i hate basant supporters

Azeezum Code red-
Let me explain few terms

Basant
Wo mela Jo buzurgon kay mazar aur deotaon kay Asthanao per phool charha ker kertay hain-
Hindu iss din apnay autaroon per charhanay kay liye phool latay hain iss liye iss melay ko phoolon kay rang say munasbat daitay hoay basant kehtay hain-(Farhang e Asafiya)

Basant: Ab fasal kay baar awar honay ka itminan ho chala wo zard ohholo ko ghar la ker beewi bachoon ko dikhata hay aur sub mil ker basant ka tehwar manatay hain — iss rauz kamdiyo aur ratti ki pooja hoti hay kamjio ko shiv jee nay bhasham ker diya tha
—HINDU TEHWAROON KI ISLIYAT MUnshi ram parshad-

It is evident that Basant ( Note no kite flying is mentioned in any defination of basant) is a hindu festival celebrated by harvestors etc-( it is a pure rural festival-* pata nahi lahore main bachoon kay ilawa kon see fasl ugti hay ? *:slight_smile:

Kite Flying
In my opinon it is a useless way of entertainment and as no physical exercise is involved not recommended in islam

Kite flying on basant

Now this is main issue- which you all convinently skipped- Kite flying on basant started on the death of a blashphmous hindu boy Haqiqat rai- so this makes highly objectionable for muslims to support / participate in this festival..
References:

Let me show you some references.

Punjab under the later Mughals (1707-1759) by Bakhshihs singh nijar- MA Phd Patiala
I hope these few references will explain my point of view- Any one wishing to answer my my post please be specific and to the point- main dheel ka paicha nahi lagata :slight_smile:
wasalam
Kuffar Muslimeen say mashghool e jang hain
[Aur muslimeen khair say mah way patang hain

Umnmat ka ghum tau khak hau khud apna gham nahin
]khush mastion main mast hain mehway tarang hain

She died by the normal string? This seems very unlikely. Are you sure the string wasn't treated to make it abrasive?

^ the "normal" string can easily cut through body

Are these kites flown at a 20 - 30 degree angle? Perhaps the solution is designating an area of a park where there is no traffic, vehicle or pedestrian. Make it clear that the area is a designated kite flying area and to take precautions if you choose to venture into it.

Finally a sensible post.

There’s no doubt that the loss of lives is a horrible and sad offshoot of the festivities, but that’s what it is… just an offshoot!

Sanctioning a ban on kite flying activities is not a solution…
I wonder though why we always opt for the extremes... Why can’t the legal system exercise stricter governance and proper control? what’s so difficult about introducing by-laws to prohibit the activity in public areas, and only allow it in designated kite flying parks with open spaces, or with water bodies where kites can be flown over water away from passer-bys.

Once such by-laws are introduced, if laxity and negligence were proved, legal precedents should be set by strict punishments of the culprits.

Lastly, not even the enthusiasts in their right minds would support the use of glass powder coated strings. The thread reel shops providing these and other dangerous kite gear should be sealed.

There seem to be several disconnects in this thread.

The so-called "normal" string is still coated with masala (maanjha) to make it withstand and win "paichaa". This can cut through skin easily. Its called "normal" because its widely used and to differentiate it from its even evil*er *cousin, the metal string, that can easily cause whole city-blocks to go dark.

In an ideal setting, kite flying will be limited to open parks in a gentle, fun and colorful environment. Kite flying is done in many parts of Asia, Europe and America. Every now and then when I take my family to a beach or picnic spot, we do take our kites with us, and there are many others who fly kites here in the US. Its enjoyable. Kids love it.

Now, how they celebrate basant in Lahore and other parts of Punjab/Pak, can obviously be improved a lot. Having young kids run around high traffic streets with long wooden poles and trying to "catch" kites is very dangerous. Having power cut off and voltage fluctuating throughout the day is inconvenient. Motor-bike riders getting their throats slit is unacceptable. Little kids falling off from un-protected roof tops is inexcusable.

Ideally all these problems should go away, but you can't control the morons. If some people allows their little kids to hang out on the roof top, with no walls protecting the sides, and someone falls off the side, the blame should go on the morons who are there, and not the government or kite flying. In car-talk, this is to be blamed on the nut behind the wheel.

Basant is now very commercial. I doubt it will go away any time soon. All the opposition to it, notwithstanding. Plus, I think its now a huge part of Lahore's cultural calendar. I know many people who visit Lahore from US at this time of the year, solely so they can partake in the basant festival.

Every year people on both end cry and scream at each other, Molvis against the hindu festival and the Phun Lovers against Molvis. Even with all the rules Mian Sali's "Haweli" becomes the central park each spring. The Supreme Court, Nazim Lahore, even the President have their own opinions on this, so the confusion is pretty obvious. But rules are already there, no new legislation is required but the sad part is Pakistan are still waiting for that "Police" and that "Judge" who will make sure that the rules are followed and implemented. Until then sub chalta hai.

Puritans hated bear-baiting not because it gave pain to the bear but because it gave pleasure to the spectators.

People in Pakistan do not celebrate Jashan-e-Baharan to please RSS or to satisfy their subconscious desires to indulge in pagan rituals. Different groups of people around the world can do similar activities for absolutely different reasons. An ordinary Pakistani hardly cares about what some idiots in some other country think of their activities.

Some people brought up the issues of economics and rich/poor divide. Unfortunately it's the relatively poor classes that show more enthusiasm about kite flying (for months). The 'rich and bad' usually indulge themselves for just a couple of days. Whether it is waste of money or a boost for GDP should be left to the economists and not the editors of Urdu newspapers. Money can definitely be used in more productive ways. For example, it is preferable to waste it in kite-flying than wasting it in buning down The Mall. Isn't it tragic that you can't have marathons in the city, you can't celebrate Jashan-Baharan in the city, but the political/ideological mobsters are willing to destroy everything and dictate what people should or should not celebrate.

On the other hand, supreme court decision wasn't unjustified either. I don't think they banned it on some ideological grounds. It was due to the activities of a tiny fringe of the enthusiasts who are determined to cause problems for not only ordinary public but the kite-flyers as well. Apprehend the bad guys.

I have no special love for kite-flying. But it is not merely about kites anymore. It is more like a cultural festival for ordinary people. I don't support forbidding culturally frustrated people from having a couple of days of fun as long as they take all the necessary precautions. The people using and selling the banned string types must be caught and given exemplary punishments. It is the duty of the parents to guard their kids and control their activities. It is the duty of the law enforcement agencies (and ordinary people) to to track down those who sell chemical or other banned string types. Designated kite flying areas (especially for those who are not content with one or two days of activities) is also a good idea.

Please don't rob the poor depressed people of their little fun as long as it is within certain parameters. You don't hate bear-baiting, do you?

I have a suggestion for Kite flying lovers. They must have a trip for whole day on bikes in Basant days.

People drink, dance, flirt and do every anti-Islamic activity on this eve. Playing the music on highest volume is not a humane way. The ones who are not celebrating and are ill and need rest could be disturbed.

This festival comes to me just a waste of money and time. I dont think its a wise move to spend a lot of money just for enjoyment and on the other hand people die and get injurd.

Another 20 years old student died due to stray kite’s string while he was riding a bike.:hinna: What was he accussed of? I hate basant and it should be banned. I have no room for this activity. It appears a stupid one to me, a childish activity.

Act on my advice, take a trip on bike of Lahore for whole day.

I used my powers as a teacher and took a bold step. I orderd my all students not to fly kite, strictly.

the simple solution would be to use normal kites with normal strings like everybody else.

i have flown kites before many times as a kid....and i never used any string that could slice through my body, just regular thread.

^ But people fly a kite to cut opponent's kites. They cant enjoy without Pecha. And it is not possible with simple string.

It’s not about being a kite flying lover or not… but handling the situation in a commonsensical and rational manner rather than advocating extreme embargos on the activity as a whole. Most people in this thread have condemned the preposterous aspects of the festivities but have argued well for the case of implementing better controls and designating kite flying sites as is done in many cities around the world.

That is the problem with teachers. They order, they don’t convince. These frustrated kids turn into little monsters later. :no:

One thing that we have overlooked while suggesting separate kite-flying areas is the fundamental difference between kite-flying in Pakistan and other countries. In Pakistan’s case, people are more interested in ‘kite-duels’ than simply feeling the tug of a kite-string. So even if you have such designated areas, the danger posed by a string trailing from a ‘kati-patang’ would still be there, although on a lesser scale. Placing further restrictions on the ‘game’ may take away even the rudimentary interset of the people.

The solution may be to limit the whole activity to a couple of days only. That would be quite a blow to the whole industry, but should be acceptable to almost everyone except those who consider any form of festivity as sin. A couple of days is not too much to ask for, especially when everyone has been forewarned of ‘dangerous two/three days’. Necessary precautions should still be there, but no social activity of festive nature is entirely without risks. However it can be a good compromise between festivity and safety.

another person killed by dor slicing thru his neck!!!!!!!!!!!!1
i think all this is not justified by people wantin fun!!!!!!!!

That’s awfull news but u forgot India and Pakistan was 1 why such that hate?

wht exactly is basant.......i'm hearing it for the first time in my life........from wht i read above it has something to do with kites....but i still didn't get wht xactly it is...........so plz could anyone enlighten me on that

^^ Basant is celeberated in Pakistan/India (mainly Punjab) due to arrival of Spring. Kites of various shapes and colours are flown to celeberate the arrival of spring. However, this very practice of kite flying has resulted in deaths of several innocent people as well as people who are flying the kite.

The practice was banned by supreme court of Pakistan - but some %^$!@!!! decided it was "ok" for people to celeberate for 15 days.