I Don't Have Any Friends

I don’t.

Well, I know hundreds of girls but none of them actually know me. They are just acquaintances and we have nothing in common.

I can’t abide by gossip it drives me insane, and unfortunately its what most women absolutely thrive on.

Whats wrong with Pre-raphealite art? Bill Whithers? Greek mythology anyone?

The three BEST friends in my world are my husband, my little sister and my really close one time girlfriend. And she’s a diplomats daughter so she is… well diplomatic.

Well I am still in contact with a few childhood friends. That one time I started the ‘Kids Association’ fighting for the injustice kids have to face in this world. Like not having sleepovers when they want for instance. The placards we used for the strikes got us past the mothers and started negotiations with the fathers - but one of the uncles was not very pleased.

They seemed to prefer the theatrical productions for some reason, but thats besides the point - I do try to forget those days fgs I even had an anthem
But at least we won the case in spending extended amounts of time with our friends over the Summer holidays

Almost all pakistani girls I know are so judgemental, so few of them actually say ‘that may be in our culture but its not right’, the laid back attitude they take really gets to me, I get all fired up and ready to take on the world and the next thing you know everyone is acting like a deflated balloon.

Is there something wrong with me? I know I can be blunt
Like the time my cousin made fun of me in front of her family for being petite. She told me that kids grow most in their sleep and I must not have been sleeping enough because I was small.

I told her she must have overslept because she was way too wide proportion wise.

Those kind of remarks just don’t win me any favors, handling too many guests is my forte (thankyou ammi jaan) but really speaking out what you believe in? I guess it would get everyone gasping and fanning themselves

funnily enough my aunties in Pakistan think I’m sexy and cool, my aunties in England think I’m outspoken and too opinionated for a woman

sighs

And the time I wanted all the girls I know to a day of paint-balling? The only person again was the diplomats daughter. What is wrong with these women? Do they not want to have some fun?

men get all the fun - maybe thats why i hate them so much. Darn it.

yes this is a rant - but it has everything to do with relationships right? And my lack of building close ties with females…sheesh

Re: I Don't Have Any Friends

So you are a mardana khosoosiaat ki hamil larki.

Desi community will not like you I think. Jub rishtay ka waqt aay ga sub kahain gi is munh phut sa kon shadi karay ga. LOL. mazaq.

I like girls who do something good.

What is good in sleepover. Tell me I'm so very againt about it. Now convince. I won't ever have a sleep over to my kids especially daughter.

Now convince me.

itni lambi thread just to ask us to be ur frend ..

u said u hav husband ..so there he is your best friend ...you already have someone ..who is a friend and more than a frend ..

but we can be friends too

Husband ko to wo kill kar day gi agar zara bhi cheating karay ga so side hero aur heroin she want to have. lol

Aap larki say dosti karo gay. Chi chi. Aap nain meray aitamad ko thais ponhchaya hai.

Hey you will always have me.....if i get that sammich that is.

My question is why is that wrong? Having a few close friends is not a bad thing. Its a pretty good thing. You don't need to have 20 BFFs. I can't believe I used that term. I will commit suicide later.

Anyway Pakistani society is judgemental. So of course the people are. Why not just hang out with those who you feel comfortable with.

darling I'm happily married and you know the guy that married me? Happened to be one the most sought after in your so called 'desi community' - and he loves me for it

I did not start this thread to convince you about anything, just a rant - do you know what that means?

As for parents - they don't hide their daughters from me - most of them tell their daughters to get my hairstyle / spend time with me/ I am le belle of the ball

And just for the record, I like you so much, you have such an open minded and understanding way of thinking, I really admire you and think you should post on GS and spread your ways of thinking more often :) I mean with all the people that love you on here and all that you must start a fansite

I know dear that you are married as you told before. I just told you the mind of desi.

I just want you to convince me and I want to see your talent. That's it.

I love those bold girls with living in the limits.

Awww thank you so much I know ppl of GS love and like me too. They are such a lovely ppl. I can notice their love in their post even in ghussay walay post. I love them all too. Laikin zaroori naheen kay hum her baat main aik doosray say agree karain.

If I will start a fansite ppl will throw saray huway anday and tamatar on me. lol and you will be the first among them.

I can understand you and your feeling about friends.

I'll make that sammich for you :) and I promise it will be completely edible and not at all hazardous to your health

I know that a few true friends are few and far but what strikes me as off is that I have not come across a strong minded Pakistani girl yet, they all seem to conform to one thing or the other

and none of my friends are pakistanis

its just not nice being a girl, men get away with having their own views and being able to express them but women just get plastered the moment they step into the arena

Thank you for reminding me of this - and I should appreciate it more often

do you want to play Tekken with me now?

See I is charming :p

I know that a few true friends are few and far but what strikes me as off is that I have not come across a strong minded Pakistani girl yet, they all seem to conform to one thing or the other

and none of my friends are pakistanis

its just not nice being a girl, men get away with having their own views and being able to express them but women just get plastered the moment they step into the arena

Well trust me they are out there. But I am betting they are younger than you. Its more of the current generation that would define you as a aunty that are more strong-minded and independent.

If none of your friends are Pakistani so be it. We can't choose our family or relatives. We can choose our friends. So be friends with those who make you happy.

Its not nice being a girl? Now how do I answer that and not get banned is the question I have....

Yeah, I cant wait till that happens, and till then I guess I will make do

Tell me CM, aside from shopping (which I do enjoy) what is there about being a girl that is great??? Seriously, I mean the flying lessons I plan to take are going to be in total secret - If I were a guy everyone would be slapping me on the back telling me 'go for it'

as a girl they think I'de crash the plane *smack and that there are better things to do than wasting my time trying to kill myself

I should start a thread

'What is so great about being a girl'

sulks

You are asking a chauvinist what is great about being a girl? Well lets see.

1. You all make great sammiches.
  2. You are more emotional. That has to be a plus sometime right?
  3. You can give birth. Yeah I have no idea how its a plus, but women always throw that in the face of men.

Though seriously, your gender has very little to do with you as a person. Sure life is not equal with men and women. But it isn't equal for anybody. Some people just get treated better regardless of gender.

You define yourself. When you let other aspects define you, you are doing yourself a disservice. Now I have no idea how to answer your question, so I suggest you google it. If that fails crash your plane into an aunties house. :D

Re: I Don’t Have Any Friends

You just need to find the right people i think. I felt the same way before getting married that i had no friends (and that was in Chicago). After getting married and moving to a much smaller city, we have met and instantly bonded with alot of Pakistani women who not only have families but go on to have their lives as well. Its very refreshing to see that and i dont feel out of place anymore. I am sure there are people out there who share your interests, you just need to find them.

PS: There is nothing wrong with being a girl :snooty:

You know what CM? You are right (I can’t believe as a man hater I am actually agreeing with a chauvinist I may just have reformed - until another GR3Heera moment of course)

I am going to pursue my dreams as a volcanologist and take up my all time desire to go deep sea diving

oh wait… then I’m going to have deal with perverted men and perverted men just put me off :grumpy:

I mean the last time I got hooted at by a car load of builders I gave them the finger (first time ever - on my honor) and then got followed around in my car

dammit its no good CM it just wont work!

Couldnt agree with CM more.

a. Having a huge number of BFFs (thats what he said rite?) is not the ultimate success. A few good friends is all we need.

b. If you dont have any pakistani friends, whats wrong with that? People who make you feel good about yourself are your friends, not those who rub things in your face, gossip with/about you and when you are down they make sure you dont come back up.

Apart from that, you have a lot going for yourself. We all have our down moments - and that is when we need someone the most - and apparently you have people you can count on in those situations. Another thing is, we all miss the times when we had our mates and would hangout and do crazy things, once you step out of the college thats pretty much a history. Sure I would love to go back to those times when we had nothing to worry about and everything, even getting your butt kicked was fun. Things change as we grow older - and nothing can and will reverse that.

We improvise and adapt to the changes - and changes can be good and bad. Be happy about the positives in your life, if you feel bad about not having many friends and/or not having pakistani friends, trust me you arent missing a lot in your life.

Re: I Don’t Have Any Friends

And on a more jaanwarized note, yes you all make good sammiches, are emotional, throw tantrums, gossip and hate. Cant really pick out which makes it more exciting to be a woman :hmmm:

PS: And yes, CM, you are one charming bas’t’d! :smiley:

Look men are men. You husband did some of the very same things that you complain about some stage in his life. Men just vary on the scale of jerks. But every one has done something stupid to some girl at some point.

You can either let that define your limitations or you can ignore them and do it regardless. Tell me this do you limit your own desires and wishes based on what others say?

Finally someone accepted this fact of reality. I must say Jaanwar you are one very intelligent individual. :smiley:

THANKYOU so I have not offended the female populace of GS

I guess I have become a cynic and should be more flexible - I am glad you found your niche, I haven’t found mine so I think I’m going to have to make one of my own

What do you think of the ‘It’s Great being A Girl’ Association

IGAG - doesn’t sound very pleasant :bummer: