"I don't follow any sect"

How is this statement accurate? Please analyse this using logical reasoning.

There are two main groups of muslims…Shia and Sunni. All of them follow some sort of school of thought in order to follow Islamic rituals and shari rules. So how is it even a valid statement that you don’t follow anyone? You’re either lying to yourself or you’re delusional. Sort it out.

Re: “I don’t follow any sect”

hmmm, I’m fine being delusional :biggthumb:

Yeah but why would you say that? Just coz the hadith says 72 sects will be in fire and one wont? Who knows…the 72nd sect may include people who separate themselves from the rest of the ummah by claiming they don’t follow anyone.

why are you so angry for? If I say shia or wahabhi or anything, you’ll bash me for being ignorant and whatnot. that’s why I don’t say anything because people get angry.
I pray to Allah everyday to guide me towards the right path. I can’t read posts online to figure out which sect is based or not

Is it necessary to follow beyond sorting out the shia, sunni thing? Some folks don’t even follow the two main sects because of intermarriage and they’ve been brought up with both.

I cant speak for others but when I say I dont categorize myself into any sector that means I just follow what has been made farz upon me. Like, in prayers, I only read the farz namaz, I pray when I hear the azan, not bothered about it being shia azan or sunni azan. It just happens that whenever I finish praying, I hear another azan and upon checking Im told that that was sunni azan (Im sunni by birth by the way). One of my cousins said that I should not skip those sunnah units of prayers which are to be read before the farz units of prayer. Eg; In Fjar, the 2 sunnah units before the 2 Farz prayers, In zohar, 4 sunnah units before 4 farz units. As per him, those are important. I tried adding those sunnah units but that ended up making me miss the farz too. So I try to ensure that I atleast read the farz units.

Furthermore, I asked my father what sect exactly we are. He said we’re supposed to be barelvi/Hanafi (whatever that means) as he himself had to check from the mosque. And my parents have no problems whether I pray on shia prayer call or sunni or if I read only the farz or include sunnah. Although, they pray the sunnah units too. And when I told them, Im not going to label myself as this or that sector, they’re okay with it mainly because they themselves are fed up of this trend of a new sector emerging every other day. They believe that faith comes from the inside, not from the labels we put on ourselves on the outside.

They’ll only have a problem if I leave Islam which I offcourse dont intend to. A friend of my sister and a cousin influenced them strongly to turn hardcore Islamic. Their husbands did not have any problems with that (They’re still moderate), nor did my parents but one family aunt created a huge issue out of that. But no body paid attention because majority family does not interfere/objects to in another’s beliefs.

Why can’t I pick and choose?

Since the ‘achools of thought’ are interpretations of Quran and Hadees and those interpretations are not divine, why can’t one pick the interpretations one feels closer to regardless of what school of thought it is coming from?

Where does it say in Quran or Hadees that we must stick to a single imam or school of thought?

Yaar Hareem, kya sunna chahti ho? Tell us and we’ll reply whatever you expect us all to say and then move on please.

why does it matter hareem? religion is a complicated subject and it takes all kinds. to each their own

you start one thread, it gets locked, and you start another.

what quest are you on?

be open minded and stop ridiculing those that do not follow your ideas or opinions… i mean cmon woman, you homeschool. i sincerely hope your irritation with culture and religion isnt being transfered into your kids.

p.s) i would have said the same to whoever else had started such threads. please do not think it was only cuz it was you.

You love to categorize people based on their views and what they follow. Once you’ve done that you make fun of the ones you don’t agree with. Try to explain me this, try to explain me that. Let people choose and follow who and what they think is right. I don’t think anyone is asking from you for explanations for following sufism.
I was brought up without any knowledge of sects and all. Was always told to follow quran and hadees. Yes there are people who don’t get into who is braelvi, who is wahabi, who is Sufi. We just follow the holy book and sunnah. You make things so complicated for yourself and others.

“I don’t follow any sect”

Why over complicate things? Im born into a sunni family and while I acknowledge my imaan should be stronger inshallah im working on that I dont get into religious debates. I like to think by doing my basics that Allah swt expects from us salah, ramzaan reading the Quran etc I can inshallah work my way through and increase my Imaan. Whose got time to fight with people over ‘sects’

there can be many reasons.

A lot of people are not really religous - so they don’t bother knowing what sect they (don’t) follow.
Then there are those who know, but keep quite to avoid confrontations.

Then you have people who have a set of beliefs - yet they don’t know which brand matches with it (they can be the major portion of people who say they don’t follow any sect)

First of all, lets share our POVs as a discussion of adults on something interesting, rather than taking it as an opportunity to pass on the judgements or ridiculing others.
I think a lot many people, i’m sure they are in majority, refuse to confine themselves within one sect cuz it appears to be too complicated and restrictive. On the top of it, when folks from one sect look down upon others as much as they get ready to kill them, its just an ugly picture one would like to avoid. And how can someone blame them for coming out as a positive and nuetral fellow, declaring themselves as just a muslim while we see sectarian based people literally ready to chop off the heads from other sects?!

And in the end of the day, all it matters is if you are a good human being and a good muslim. Dont think there’ll be any question in grave asking “which sect did you belong”?! There are many others that we should be more prepared for.

Hadith: A Muslim is one from whose tongue and hand Muslims are safe. – Sahih Bukhari, Book of Iman

Even if you don’t follow a sect, there will certain aspect of the way you do stuff that is the idea of a particular sect

E.g. The way you pray, shias and sunni have different ways of praying.

I’d say the layperson just doesn’t know all that much about what sect/school of thought they follow. I’ll also point out that the followers of the 4 imams don’t consider themselves as 4 separate sects. There’s just differences in the way they do things but don’t say that the others are wrong.

I’ve asked this before and not many have been able to answer.

In the time of The Prophet (saw), did he (saw) or his followers call themselves “Sunni”?

Or did they do and follow what was expected of them as Muslims?

Apart from cultural boundaries, did they divide themselves up and pick and choose what they wanted to believe and/ or follow?

Everyone has been put on this earth by Allah (swt), and He has granted us the ability to think and make decisions for ourselves. And He has given us free will to decide which path we follow. As only He will be the Judge of our actions, and only He will decide which decisions require consequences.

Our Lord did not make the rules and regulations of Islam difficult. He (swt) told us exactly what to do and what not to do.
It is man that decides what to change. Man decides to interpret certain things a certain way, be it the same/ slightly different/ or completely different than another man. And it is man who decides to follow one interpretation over the other.

Our Khuda did not send down or establish these sects.

Sunni, Shia, Wahabi, Ahmedi, Deobandi, Sufi, Etc. We, humans created these.
And we are just humans. We have absolutely no authority to judge whose belief is right or wrong. We have no right to ridicule or criticize.

Live and let live. Aka stop being so judgey.

^ from your talks it looks like you adhere to wahabi/ahl-e-hadith sect. :hehe:

Please refer to the last line of my last post…

I’m Muslim, Alhamdulillah.

I prefer to be just muslim :slight_smile: not Shia not Sunni

Peace Hareem01,

The religion in sight of Allah is “Islam” not any ‘sect’, and if anyone desires a religion other than Islam, never will it be accepted of him, here again mentioned “Islam” not ‘sect’.

A very beautiful verse (supplication) is in Chapter 2 Verse 128 and that is "Our Lord! make of us Muslims, bowing to Thy (Will), and of our progeny a people Muslim, bowing to Thy (will); and show us our place for the celebration of (due) rites; and turn unto us (in Mercy); for Thou art the Oft-Returning, Most Merciful". Even in this verse (supplication) we called as ‘Muslims’ and not by any ‘sect’ name.

The people differed after when the “knowledge” came to them and they divided. Almighty Allah says in Quran that “Obey Allah and Obey HIS Messenger” and “If you love Allah then follow me (Prophet Muhammad :saw2: ), Almighty Allah will love you and will forgive your sins”. Further, Almighty Allah says in Chapter 6 Verse 159: “As for those who divide their religion and break up into sects, thou hast no part in them in the least: their affair is with Allah: He will in the end tell them the truth of all that they did”.

Purpose of the ‘sect’ should be 'how we spent our live as per Sunnah and get more and more closer to Almighty Allah, which in fact it is and not to be divided into many.

It is fine with me when a person either say ‘I do follow a sect or I don’t follow any sect’, as long as that person obeying the teaching of Prophet Muhammad :saw2: and the commandment of Almighty Allah.

Almighty Allah knows best.