I find it funny, how often times when we are talking about traditions or rasms and if we dont like something, we are often pointing fingers at our neighbour country (India) and saying, "ohh this jahilpun is coming from the hindus" .. Well, I think now is the time to point fingers towards the same jahil india and say "look at them, they are well educated and they may converse a lot in english as well, but they are never embarassed of their language be it hindi, gujrati or even punjabi and their culture" !! I find it so fascinating when my indian punjabi friends converse in pure punjabi, mashallah these are the people who truly value their culture and here we are, if someone utters a word in punjabi he is quickly labelled as "jahil and paindu wo tu punjabi bolta hai" shame on us. I'm embarassed to see where pakistanis are heading. People living in pakistan even wanna speak in english and show how well educated they are, sorry to say, even if a "kotha" (donkey) speaks english, it doesnt make him anything else than a kotha! ...
lazmi nahin hay !!! yeh aap ka experience ho sakta hay . . . ham yahan kafi pakistani hain jo na sirf urdu bal k punjabi main baat ertain even with non pakistanis :@:
it seems so embarrassing when people from Pakistan can speak English to an extent to someone mother language is English then they cannot understand it when replied back.
lazmi nahin hay !!! yeh aap ka experience ho sakta hay . . . ham yahan kafi pakistani hain jo na sirf urdu bal k punjabi main baat ertain even with non pakistanis :@:
I dont think this is only my experience, I think everyone at some point or another has or will witness this situation themselves. If you are so lame, that you dont ditch your mother language to be suprior to others, you got serious complexes to work with. And lets all just be honest, most pakistani do have this complex ever since the gore ditched them ;).
I think sooner or later he will realize it's part of his identity and may be less embarrassed about it. You can't really avoid the question 'where you're originally from' or 'do you speak any other languages' for too long.
I don't think it's just a desi thing. I was speaking to someone whose Dutch, and she was complaining about the same thing. Whenever she goes back to Holland everyone tires to speak English with her to impress her and look cool and how English is seen as having a superior status.
Lol, that's hilarious. Seems he's embarrassed about his native language.
Here's what I don't get. What is up with some people (in the US) speaking Urdu with an American accent? The kids hear their parents say words in Urdu with the correct accent...so why is that hard to emulate? I know a family where the oldest child speaks Urdu with the correct accent.....and all the younger siblings have the American accent to their Urdu. How does that happen? They grew up in the same house, the parent still continues to speak the language. Why the disparity in accent?
I have an american accent in my urdu...and my siblings more so than i do. My parents speak urdu 100%. I spend more time telling my parents everything about my life and random facts of everything than my brothers do. I also spend more time chatting with my parents in genersal (with who are the only people I speak urdu with besides my urdu speaking cousins whom i visit once ever 4 yrs). As a girl, I'm simply more verbal with my urdu and hence have less of an accent.
Secondly, I also thinks it depends on how much desi dramas you watch at home. I met this girl who was born in the US and had flawless urdu, and I asked how she got that. ANd she said she started watching dramas.
Finally, I also think it depends on when you came to the US. If you were born in the US or moved here when you were very young, you are almost guaranteed an american accent in your Urdu- unless you have some other source of Urdu coming at you besides your parents.
Well, I think now is the time to point fingers towards the same jahil india and say "look at them, they are well educated and they may converse a lot in english as well, but they are never embarassed of their language be it hindi, gujrati or even punjabi and their culture" !.
That's not exactlly true...Have you not watched Bollywood movies lately...just notice how much english they try to put in there dialogues...seriously, it makes me cringe when out of nowhere they pop out with english cliches!!!!
I totally agree gulab jamun, I was born in England and I can't speak Urdu much at all because I hate watching those mindless dramas, but I have a good Punjabi accent and the only reason I kept Punjabi was because my parents were strict with keeping the language and made me speak it all the time at home and with relatives. Only probkem now is I have some cousins who live in Lahore/Karachi who speak pure Urdu and don't speak a word of Punjabi which is a shame...
That's not exactlly true...Have you not watched Bollywood movies lately...just notice how much english they try to put in there dialogues...seriously, it makes me cringe when out of nowhere they pop out with english cliches!!!!
Sorry, but the same could be said about the urdu drama's nowadays, just as an example?
Beside I was not talking about bollywood or what they do on tv, because lets be honest, indian movies and television does have quite a large viewer population, so you cant really blame them. What I was talking about was the average indian population like you and me!
This thread reminds me of when I was in kindergarten it was an American school with very little Indian/Pakistani’s. However there was a kid named Mohammed that would ask his mom never to come pick him up. One day I asked him why he didn’t like his parents or grandparents coming and he said “They always come with their urdu shakalein”.
Another kid made a grave mistake of bringing a ‘paratha’ for lunch once, this kid never played with him because he brought “urdu lunch”
omg Gina! are you serious? i don't think i was even aware of differences when I was in kindergarten! actually there were no indian/pakistanis in my school and as i grew older, I loved bringing in dishes and pictures for culture day or whatever!
I had no clue, I'd love dressing-up in my shalwar kameez and taking traditional Pakistani food for our cultural day. He never allowed his parents or grandparents to come to any school events or concerts field days either.
I don't want to get all Bengali, but I think the problem stems from the fact that our ethnic languages like Punjabi, Potwari, Seraiki or w/e are seen as something to hide and Urdu is the civilised language which you need to progress to higher rungs of Pakistani society, same goes for English. These languages are valued because of the power and money they can get you. Whereas especially with Indian Punjabis, keeping your home language is seen as something to be proud of...