it was a very cool experience. my interviewee was a really sweet gal. she was about ten yrs older than me and more qualified than myself in terms of technical skills and degrees. the lady was a double bachelors and a double masters mashallah from good pakistani colleges and her qualifications ranged from english literature to advanced java and from dramatics to social work, from lahore to karachi. cool stuff. her record was amazing, gold medals and firsts in a lot of things, even though she switched fields.
was soft spoken, simple and humble nevertheless with a silent but not intimidating confidence, and a little bit unsure of herself too which was cute. i saw her resume, and she was obviously qualified on paper. i liked her instantly as i walked into the room so i passed her in my mind after the first two minutes of convo.
i was kinda nervous before going in coz it was the first interview i was conducting n my main concern was that i put her at ease coz i dint wana be one of those strict, tough, better-than-thou, hard-to-impress type of interviewers. i think i had in mind my first ever interview, was taken by a guy who was very nice, and i wanted to be like him i think.
hmmm…so that was my daastaan e alif laila hope i dint put u guys to sleep
share your interview experiences too as an interviewer and interviewee both…
One of the most memorable interviews I conducted, Phone interview... a guy about 20 or so years older than me with lots of experience.. his home was his RV.... he had servers and workstations running in his RV, he had a mini-lab in his RV... he was a contractor and used to travel around the US for the contracts and stayed in his RV... he was a hack... about 15 minutes into the interview he was tripping, finally he said "... this is not going anywhere..." and he hung-up the phone....
He was a 15 years old guy who literly stunned me with his attitude and performance. the first email he sent me was like this 'I am an artist by birth, my mom n dad both were great artists though they never had any professional qualification. n blah blah... Give me a try and you wont be disappointed'
khair i called him, handed over the regular assignment n boy! to my amazement he did such a wonderful job that superseded everyone else even some of the candidates were having 4 years degree in fine arts. Masha Allah such a talent n I decided to hire him :-)
that was not the end of the story. He negotiated his stipend in a way that can be least expected from a student recently taken his matric exam. I cant forget his words. 'Touseef bhai, ju kaam mein ker key dun ga us ki qeemat tu lakhoon mien bhi kam hey please merey stipend ko double ker dein' heheh :-o
He worked for about 6 months and proved himself. he was such a talanted artist, would love to engage him again after his exams.
Re: I conducted my first ever job interview today!!!
*Originally posted by irem: *
it was a very cool experience. my interviewee was a really sweet gal. she was about ten yrs older than me and more qualified than myself in terms of technical skills and degrees. the lady was a double bachelors and a double masters mashallah from good pakistani colleges and her qualifications ranged from english literature to advanced java and from dramatics to social work, from lahore to karachi. cool stuff. her record was amazing, gold medals and firsts in a lot of things, even though she switched fields.
was soft spoken, simple and humble nevertheless with a silent but not intimidating confidence, and a little bit unsure of herself too which was cute. i saw her resume, and she was obviously qualified on paper. i liked her instantly as i walked into the room so i passed her in my mind after the first two minutes of convo.
i wonder why a person would show his/her resume to someone who has come to sollicitate at her office.........never heard of this happening outside paki...
are you sure she was taking you interview and not vice versa?
nai its not that, its just we have to hire somebody in the dept i'm incharge of thats why i'm interviewing these ppl...
btw hmcq bro, this is the same job u fwded me that email abt...remember? when i initially came back to pak...
so i owe this job to u actually :) so if u want a job here, i'd kasmay even give up ma own spot for u anyday :D baaki boss pe depend kerta hae :D
My best experiance of giving interview was in PNSC ...giving interview to a panel of brigadiers........
and they once asked me who is prone to do fraud .....i among others mentiond ppl who are near thier retirement age..and they laughed about it --as all of them were--and asked me why ..i explained and they offered me the job........
and my worst was at PSO
they were 7 or so in total ..and unforunately for me --though i normaly am very confident .....never failed in an interview except this.....bumped into the chair.........all the stupid chartered accoutants started laughing and made me puzzled.....
can all u interviewr tell us ....what u look for in the interview ....
Recently we were looking for someone for offshore development of database system for our organisation, Islamic Aid. Received an application from an Indian guy, he seemed to have 6 years experience. He wanted to come to the UK. Just to help him, after exchange of a few e-mails, we offered him a job.
His response was shocking. After thanking me for trusting him and blah blah, he wanted to make sure that the organisation he was joining does not help Dewbandi, Wahabi or Shiah schools of thought.
I tried to clarify by saying "regarding your point about who we help; yes, we do help ‘Wahabis’, ‘Deobandis’ and our relief team has just returned from, Bam, Iran after delivering aid to ‘Shiais’. As an organisation our philosophy is that when Allah (swt) says in Surah-al-Miaidah "whoever saved a life, it would be as if he saved the life of all humanity", without mentioning if it was a Muslim life or a non-Muslim life, we are no one to discriminate. If you are so rigid in your believes, I would advise you that Islamic Aid would not be a suitable organisation for you, as there will be people working with us belonging to different schools of thought even non-Muslims. And, you need to categorically assure this to us.”
In his reply, he wanted to assure me that probably I misundetstood him, and that he does not have any objection even if we "provide aid to Kufars in earthquake" (referring to our aid operations in Iran). I felt sick to my stomach. Since then, I have not felt like even communicating with him, but soon have to inform him of my decision. (by the way, I am not a Shia Muslim).
Unbelievable... I would have turned him down immediately... views like these shows ones personality and attitude in life... I would tell him that his views are not consistent with the organization's vision and philosophy and that is key in an organization like this.
*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *
Unbelievable... I would have turned him down immediately... views like these shows ones personality and attitude in life... I would tell him that his views are not consistent with the organization's vision and philosophy and that is key in an organization like this.
Exactly.....
I think such narrow mindedness is totally opposite to the work islamic relief is carrying......
*Originally posted by akiac101: *
Recently we were looking for someone for offshore development of database system for our organisation, Islamic Aid. Received an application from an Indian guy, he seemed to have 6 years experience. He wanted to come to the UK. Just to help him, after exchange of a few e-mails, we offered him a job.
His response was shocking. After thanking me for trusting him and blah blah, he wanted to make sure that the organisation he was joining does not help Dewbandi, Wahabi or Shiah schools of thought.
I tried to clarify by saying "regarding your point about who we help; yes, we do help ‘Wahabis’, ‘Deobandis’ and our relief team has just returned from, Bam, Iran after delivering aid to ‘Shiais’. As an organisation our philosophy is that when Allah (swt) says in Surah-al-Miaidah "whoever saved a life, it would be as if he saved the life of all humanity", without mentioning if it was a Muslim life or a non-Muslim life, we are no one to discriminate. If you are so rigid in your believes, I would advise you that Islamic Aid would not be a suitable organisation for you, as there will be people working with us belonging to different schools of thought even non-Muslims. And, you need to categorically assure this to us.”
In his reply, he wanted to assure me that probably I misundetstood him, and that he does not have any objection even if we "provide aid to Kufars in earthquake" (referring to our aid operations in Iran). I felt sick to my stomach. Since then, I have not felt like even communicating with him, but soon have to inform him of my decision. (by the way, I am not a Shia Muslim).
What will be your advice?
i think you guys better cross examine his attitude and frame of mind again before making a final decision. from his behavior so far he really doesnt seem to be an ideal candidate to be shipped in from another country to join an organization like yours. someone more deserving with the right frame of mind may be out there who may actually be a better worker for your organiztion.
Perhaps he was just looking for the immigration or money. Consistency with the company goals are important and I would suggest informing him politely about you feeling that he would not be the best fit for the position based on the candidates you have recieved.
I would make it a formal letter and as generic as possible and not answer any further emails.