" I am telling you right now that . . . I can’t cook . . . I can’t clean . . . I am too lazy . . . I won’t be washing dishes . . . etc etc "
Sounds familiar . . . isn’t it
Whenever a desi girl and boy start talking before marriage , this topic always come up . That is how girls ‘‘build’’ our expectations , and show us a glimpse of future married life .
Guys , please add to this list of excuses for not being a team player .
^ obviously this is what every wife ends up being, after marriage, you know. Husbands are so quick to be done with that laad and nakhray baazi you know.
because we do not want you menfolk to get as shocked as we get when we still have to manage everything after starting with such low expectations :hinna:
nauman, i think the real question of concern should be i wont rather than i cant
Agree. When someone says "I can't cook/clean, etc"...it may even be meant/interpreted as "Don't expect me to be an expert at these things, cuz I'm not at that stage....I'm not good at it." These skills can be developed over time. However, when someone says they "won't"....it's a bigger problem as their mind is already made up. In a rishta-meet setting....I guess a clarification would have to be sought as to whether the person's "can't" means "not there yet"..or just a plain "ain't gonna do it."
LOL! I did this once, intentionally because I wasn't really interested in the guy and I was "testing" the guy, to see how far I could push him with my demands. Funny enough, he was perfectly okay with my refusal to do any of these household tasks in our initial conversations, but then later he started to ask: "Lekin baad mai kuch toh karogi, kuch toh sekh ja'ogi na" :D
Having this conversation is in part trying to "manage expectations" to explain to the guy that she's not going to be superwoman, and also in part trying to figure out the mindset of the guy. Girls want to know how "traditional" a guy is and if he values a woman strictly based on her household duties and himself refuses to lift a finger (even though she herself may be a working woman).
nauman, i think the real question of concern should be i wont rather than i cant
it is sounder and better if it is "I wont". because you know what, islamically, a wife is not obligated to cook and clean and every thing for her husband. Its simply her husband's responsibility to provide her with all that. Thank your social pressure and maybe the large heartedness of the women in general. Who do their best to provide you ease in every relation they can, being mothers, wives, sisters and daughters.
but in islam there are very few obligations most of them are rather guidelines that help us live an islamic way of life
it is sounder and better if it is "I wont". because you know what, islamically, a wife is not obligated to cook and clean and every thing for her husband. Its simply her husband's responsibility to provide her with all that. Thank your social pressure and maybe the large heartedness of the women in general. Who do their best to provide you ease in every relation they can, being mothers, wives, sisters and daughters.
Girls rarely mean it when they say things like that.
THey're just trying to get a feel for what type of a guy you are. Girls these days want a guy who won't get upset if the roti is not straight off the tawa every night. She might be looking for someone who can also help and feel responsible for cleaning a house he lives in too.
If a guy says to me ke "khana aur ghar ki sari safai tumhara kaam hai"...that would scare me a teeny bit. Because I work and there might be kids later. How will I do all of that and STILL be a loving partner?