I am not a happy camper these days [split]

I'm soooooooo sorry, Reha. I remember you posting that you haven't been well in recent days. But I had no idea what was causing you to be sick. I don't get sick very often, but when I do, I get hit soooo HARD. And the flu is one of those things where if u haven't had one in years....when you do get hit, it's pretty bad. I remember when I had the flu about 4 years ago.........I coulden't even walk, Reha. That's how sick I was. I could barely move to pick up the phone and call in sick for work. With every step, I felt so weak and nauseaus. And to make matters worse, I was so stressed out and was having these nervous heart palpitations that I thought I was gonna have a heart attack. When I finally got the strength to let my boss at work know I couldn't make it, she rudely hung up on me without wishing me well....and even accused me of lying about being sick so I wouldn't have to come to work. Reha.........I'm one of those people that is RARELY absent from work. I'm always there cuz I hate being absent, even as a student I hated being absent. And her rudeness over the phone brought on an anxiety attack which made me feel even worse.

And then about 2 years ago, I got hit with the flu about twice during the year. The first time brought me to tears because I had a fever and I couldn't even swallow my own spit because it felt as if needles were stuck in my throat causing me to stay awake all night. It was actually bronchitis and I got it during winter break. Man, I was so miserable. My doctor had prescribed Amoxicillin and it made the palms of my hand and soles of me feet extremely itchy. I'm allergic to it so I can't have it any more.

I sympathize with you and sincerely hope that you get better soon, Aameen:) It could also be that you're stressed out with wedding preparations. And stress makes us more succeptible to viruses. My cousin is a doctor and she recommends taking a multivitamin with antibiotics because antibiotics are very strong and use up a lot of your body's energy and can make you weak. So take a multivitamin. Also, keep yourself well-hydrated. Stay away from dairy products because dairy thickens the production of mucous/phlegm and delays healing. Hope you get well soon! GS isn't the same without u:)

sad kyonke

mera naam Aisha kyon hai:smack:

Re: I am not a happy camper these days [split]

Identity crisis Aisha?? :hmmm:

I think Aisha is a lovely name. I happen to be an Aisha myself. Pleased to meet your acquaintance!

My bestest friend's name is Aisha...its a beautiful name ladies!

Maaroush jee lol I feel as if my best friend is talking to me :rotfl:

jo abhi btw kitchen mai gayi hai khana khaney:cb:

Redvelvet likewise! :slight_smile:

seriously :cb:

Reha jee my best friend’s name is similar to yours :wink:

madeeha :stuck_out_tongue:

Aww Aisha… :hugz:

Oh by the way, I am really sorry and I apologise for polluting your thread with animated emoticons, redvelvet. It is just that, whenever I am in a relaxed mode and want to have fun, I use smileys. Otherwise I am a pretty serious writer and I am sure I can easily match the length of your posts hehe but the thing is I do not know what to say in this thread. If this is like a venting, day to day kind of thread then I do that in my blog. People do comment in my blog so I do not know about this thread. I am kind of confuzzled at the moment.

See I can write serious posts too. AND I must say it is very hard to control myself and not use emoticons to express the emotions I am going through right now and my facial expressions because I am smiling while typing this.

ok I cannot help myself so here you go… LOL!

Maroush: :hugz: thank you I needed that. Actually I have two best friends and both of them are from GS:p Both of them are not online:smack:

Hey Reha,

Remember how I was having a hard time with sweet potatoes because their mushy texture was making me gag? Well, in the past couple of days I've found a way to fix that problem. I cut up the sweet potato in smaller pieces and bake it in the microwave. Then I lightly drizzle a bit of maple syrup over the top. Sprinkle a bit of cinnamon. Pound a granola bar into smaller pieces and sprinkle them on top as well. The crunch of granola compliments the mushy of the sweet potato. I feel I have more energy during work outs when I eat this gag-inducing orange tuber-root, lol.

^ Oh and I tried crab rangoon for the first time day before yesterday. They are gooooood! Never thought i'd do crab. Bless the Chinese, their cuisine is so yum. The combination of soy sauce, chilli sauce, sweet and sour....pure genius!

Thats actually a pretty cool sounding concoction you have there Aisha...I got some sweet potatoes myself recently...will try that!

Reha, you can even pound up a chocolate chip cookie instead of a granola. But since the both of us are trying to buff up, I thought granola would be better, lol.

I also finished sense and sensibility. I'm so happy Elinor got what she desired because she was so caring of everyone else. I feel like my personality tends to be more like Marianne (especially when I was younger) and as I grew older, I developed the caution of Elinor.

Okay, that boss of yours…needs to go! I cant believe her attitude! If I had a boss like that, she would get a piece of my mind right away!!!

You know, Im going to try the multivitamins because I have been feeling weak lately…very weak. And Im trying to keep myself good on my fluids…Im so thirsty these days and I can tell its because of the fevers. Ive gone through a lot of juice boxes already, lol.

Its actually pretty funny, Ill go to a thread…read it…think up a response and then get tired half way through writing it and click off! LOL. Yes, I can tell Im losing it.

Isnt it a beautiful read? I just love it!

Woman!!! Crab Rangoons are amazing!!! If you ever come to Chicago, Ill take you to this cute little sushi joint in downtown that has the BEST rangoons you will ever have! Yummmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyy!

Please pollute this thread with as many emoticons as you like Aisha…lol…I love them myself but just dont know the codes by heart and find it soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo hard to actually go and look for them sometimes so I make do with what I can remember like :slight_smile: or :frowning: or :crying:…LOL

So, after finishing Sense and Sensibility.....I did an online home delivery library request for the books, Reading Lolita In Tehran....and Things I've Kept Silent About. Both by the same author. The first book is about a group of Irani women who get together to read and discuss banned classics like Lolita and Pride and Prejudice and other books. I find the concept interesting since I love analyzing books myself.

The next book that I want to read is The Inheritance of Loss, which is not at the library because it's new and it's a real huge best seller right now. It's by Kiran Desai....I enjoy reading desi fiction.

I miss you girls and have thought of you often. Thank you for the delightful poem, I am going to print and frame it!

How have you been? Reha, how is planning going? Please tell me all about it, so I may live vicariously through you.

Aisha, I walked into Borders yesterday and found nothing with your name on it in the bestseller's section. I promptly left. Your posts on GS are free to read anyway ;-)

Hey MINA!!!!!!!!!!

How are you girl????? We've missed you! You're one of the top advisers on GS, it's about time u came back. So how was the wedding? How did it turn out? I remember you were feeling anxious about it as it drew closer. How was the honeymoon? I remember you saying you were coming to FL for your honeymoon? What places did you visit? And how's married life going so far? I know so many questions, lol. I hope that you're doing great.

About the book......well, it's a long process. It can take anywhere from 1-3 years to get a book published after receiving a contract........IF it gets accepted somewhere. I haven't done anything with it yet, I've been lazy and apprehensive, but mostly lazy, lol.

I've done quite a bit of reading though. I read Reading Lolita in Tehran which I didn't like. It was about a group of women in Iran getting together to analyze and discuss classics such as Pride and Prejudice, Lolita, etc. I found it too heavy and detailed. I thought the author discussed her life more than the classic books.

Have you read Madame Bovary? I've checked it out.

OMG! I lovveeeddd Madame Bovary. Probably one of my most favorite books ever. I've never read anything by Flaubert after that, but I just remember that book enthralling me while I pushed myself to get through it! It was a bit long, but it was so compelling. I hope you'll like it too!

And yes, I was an anxious mess before the wedding. I mean, you know, you just hear these wedding horror stories and I thought that, knowing my luck, all the horrible stuff would happen to me. I just can't believe we had such a perfect event. I mean, there were hardly any problems or arguments. Everyone was just SO HAPPY. And that was it, just joy and happiness from both our families and friends. It was incredible Allhumdolillah. I really felt as though God was looking down on us, with his hand on our shoulders. We felt as though we had Allah's Noor with us.

Our favorite event of the whole weekend actually was not even photographer. In downtown Atlanta there is this hip bar/lounge area, its spacious and they have a live DJ. We invited all of our young guests, (friends and family, ages 16-30) to a private dinner. We had appetizers and western food (sushi, hummus, crab cakes, chicken skewers, coconut shrimp - stuff like that!) and there was dancing and stuff. People were lounging and mingling. It was really cool meeting all of our friends informally, since the bride and groom are typically on a stage and can't meet much with guests. Plus, most of our friends flew in from all over the world to celebrate with us (as far as Hong Kong and Dubai) so we really wanted that opportunity to be in a more relaxed environment. There was also a bar, and since many of our friends are not Muslim - or even desi - they were able to indulge if they so desired (none of our other events had alcohol). It was also a themed party, Black & White, so all the guests wore either of those colors while my husband and I wore red. Very cool! Plus some of my bridesmaids surprised me by getting us black and white M&Ms in little organza bags with our wedding date on them. SO SWEET! They even got us a cake, which we weren't expecting :-)

I think the reason we enjoyed the wedding so much is because we really got to enjoy one another's company. All of our friends and family took care of EVERYTHING. It was like before I could think of something, it was taken care of. I am so grateful for that support. Plus my husband managed to sneak out at night after every event and we would go for a drive and talk and hold hands, and comment on the day that had past and the days that were to come. The absolute best part was being to celebrate our union among SO MANY PEOPLE that truly loved us. Everyone we cared about was there, and that love was felt.

I'm getting mushy!

Well, we decided not to do the mini-honeymoon. We're planning a longer one instead. We leave for a cruise through the Med on May 12th. Our ports of call are London, Vigo (Spain), Lisbon, Rome, Cagiliari/Sardinia, Florence/Pisa, Nice/Monaco, Barcelona and Gibraltar. We're really excited, and with the exception of Lodon, neither of us have visited any of the above listed cities. Should be GREAT, Inshallah! Anything you suggest we MUST see? We'll be spending some extra time in Barcelona after the cruise, so that'll be fun!

Aisha, I know that the process is long and hard. But I love reading what you write. It's not that you only have a distinguished style of writing, its that you are able to be so compassionate and empathetic; it is as though you know what one is feeling and thinking. You also have a lot of tact and humor. Reading some of your posts, made me feel like home.

Reha, your wedding is right around the corner. GOSH. I am so so so so happy for you. I am also envious. Have I missed a lot of your planning? I apologize if I have. I wish I could be there for you, as you were for me. Please, tell me how its going so I can live vicariously through you. I noticed on your pages, that you left to go out of town for a bit. How'd that go? Was it business or pleasure?

It's nice catching up again girls :-)

Oh, by the way, I LOVED THAT ALPHABET POEM!!! I am going to read it to my husband tonight. It was SOOOO CUTE!! You girls are the best xxxx

Forget Florida, Girl!!!!!!!!!!! The "longer trip" sounds soooooooooooooooooo much better!!!!!!!!!!! You are so lucky MashaAllah. I have a fantasy of going to Italy and trying authentic Italian cuisine and I've always been fascinated by Venice....I guess it's the whole idea of a city that is built on water. I've been to England a few times and really enjoyed it. The last time we were there, we went to the wax museum and it was interestig to compare which statues closely resembled the celebrities in real life and which ones missed the mark. You BETTER post pictures of all your visits on GS! It's always fun to see pics of attractions around the globe. Your wedding MashAllah sounds very romantic......and like a dream. And things always go so beautifully when you have such a supportive network of family and friends from both sides. I hope I'm just as fortunate, inshallah, LOL :)

I am enjoying Madame Bovary so far. I'm only in the beginning of the book and I feel sorry for Charles Bovary. His mother ruined his life by marrying him off to a woman much older than him and whom he had no desire to marry. Hmmmm.....maybe she got some pointers from some desi moms, lol. I'm guilty of reading teen/young adult books. Do you do that as well? I'm still very much a big kid, hehe. It's great to have you back, Mina. Your honeymoon trip is coming up soon and I wish you and your husband both a safe and wonderful journey. Don't forget to take lots of pictures......and you better put them up!

@redvelvet[/USER][USER=“65041”]Reha Wow, our thread is almost 10 years old. Do you ladies ever log in here? How have you been?

@SID_NY Thank you, for the welcome!