I am confuddled

Re: I am confuddled

Oh PCG! All Pakistani men are not like that. My husband is Pakistani (born and raised there) and he's content with daal chawal too (as long as it tastes good) Plus there are always other options..... like we get our food cooked by a Pakistani aunty. And this is a guy I wasn't even interested in getting married to, at first. He has his negatives, but its mostly positives MashaAllah. My advice, always look at the family... interview the mom ;) you'll be able to find out how the guy is.

And just relax, he will come when its the right time, inshaAllah.

even if the bells goes on, they keep on putting those on snooze till its too late! Just like people keep on snoozing the alaram and get late for work although they know alaram is going on.... reason? mostly "oh koi nahee, we will change everything" just like "o koi ahee time per pohench hee jaoon ga" :)

I laugh rather than pity at these kind of people CM. A fool is no one to blame except himself.

I would never give my sister or daughter based on a few impressions.

CM sir jee, aap itney stars use karey baghair baath ker saktey hain ki nai? Bohot tension hui peRney mein :bummer:

You get a girl and her family to consent to marriage by giving them A GOOD IMPRESSION. (even if it's a false one).

^ And some people are good actors. They can manage displaying a false but positive facade for the next few months or until the wedding is over. THEN......the claws come out.

And it's not like the girl and her family SEE the guy and his family on a daily or frequent basis. They meet not see each other enough times to form a strong enough negative opinion.

You learn about a person's true character when he/she is in their natural setting. Hard to explain. But once you start living with someone in their house....in their family (which is a natural setting that most people are comfortable in)...........you learn about the person's habits and how they deal with conflicts. In a natural/comfortable setting.......it's like you let go of your inhibitions.......and your true colors come out easily. THAT SAID..............when the girl and her parents go to meet the guy................well MOST PEOPLE can put on the facade of the smiling/welcome host for a few hours.

And as for those girls who DO see the red flags............sometimes their insecure parents are too weak to call of the engagement or near wedding because of the classic fear, "LOG KYA KAHAIN GAY?" Or some parents think that character/compatibility are not so important as long as the guy is rich. They ignore their daughter/son's opinions and tell their kids, "Don't worry beta. After marriage..........LOVE NATURALLY DEVELOPS between the couple." They say this with such nonchalant confidence about something as complex as marriage which doesn't come with guarantee. Let's not forget emotional black mail....rona dhona........"OOOOOH....I'm having chest pains, etc etc."

In the end, according to Islamic law, the marriage ain't valid unless it has the consent of the bride and groom. And while this sounds soooooo easy and simple.........and more power to those people who can stand their ground.........it's not always easy to not be guilted/manipulated by family pressure/drama.

naaa they dont. A lot of them these days are more worried about their health and risks associated with them. Ones who have kids, want to be fit for their childrens sake... so they stay away from all this kinda stuff

Ive been married for 4 years (nearly) , prob made parratte twice and got in trouble cus it was "unhealthy"

Times really have changed... i guess some people just havent

I wouldn't blame the parents. Sometimes, the girl herself is too terrified, for various reasons, to call it off, especially if she found the guy herself and fought hard to marry him. In any case, red signs should never be ignored. People always say, work it out, try harder and don't give up. If there are red signs there, sometimes, it's just a lot smarter to just walk away. People get screwed over for various reasons. It's very complex and varies from case to case.

Responsibility is on the individuals themselves, not the parents.

^ I guess, in an arranged marriage situation, the responsibility lies on the parents :)

when we have chosen our own partner, it can get a lot more complex and messy. Sometimes ego sets in... fear.. of all kinds.

....because hearing(or seeing) about something and actually going through something are way too different .... we all secretly hope that things will be ok after a while.... or somehow we will able to control (or maybe ignore) whaterver we dont like ....alas it doesn't really happens sometimes :'(

sometimes the guy and and his family puts on a show to get the marriage process over with. once that's done, they start showing their true colors..that's when the girl can't escape..or not easily atleast.

Sadly, what Marwah has said it true. I guess it works both ways.

You do see red flags. The reason girls ignore them:

They feel real life explanations for a guy's behavior doesnt really apply to their situation. He is different, he has a good heart, blah blah blah.

They are caught up in wedding planning and dont notice the signs.

They make excuses for bad behavior...the most popular is stress.

As for inlaws...it doesnt dawn on any girl until she has to deal with them on a very very very real basis...like everyday or even a few times a week. Seeing your future MIL once every few weeks is nothing compared to living with her. Even if the warning bells go off, girls ignore them because they want to be respectful and the ideal Bahu.

However, its easier to be an ideal Bahu once a month, thousands of miles away...when compared to a Bahu who lives with her inlaws and deals with them every single day.

So yeah, warning bells go off left and right...but you ignore because you want to really give your relationship a good shot.

app dono ne PCD ko pakistan larke ke liye HAN karwa ke hi dam lena hai ?:omg: :omg: :omg: hahahahah

So in other words the women are actually responsible for the *ed up situation they are in? If they ignore the warning signs, they are too cowardly or frightened to say anything then well they also *ed up.

One is responsible for his or her own decisions. Its pretty ****ing stupid for them to place themselves in a situation.

CM. You're not a woman. You don't experience the same societal pressures.

I am sorry but if you are dumb enough to let society and pressure **** up your life for the next 20 years you got absolutely nothing to complain about.

You dug your own grave. Lie in it.

It's probably the fear that "This might be my only chance".

You're not a woman. You don't experience the same societal pressures

You do see red flags. The reason girls ignore them:

They feel real life explanations for a guy's behavior doesnt really apply to their situation. He is different, he has a good heart, blah blah blah.

They are caught up in wedding planning and dont notice the signs.

They make excuses for bad behavior...the most popular is stress
signs of self-victimization, sad. especially the ones who huff and puff otherwise over women's lib and rights and when it comes down to major life-altering decisions suddenly 'stress', parents are to blame or the zalim samaj. what happened to the ranting and raving about being the alpha-female?? this is one occassion when you should FIGHT for your rights, no ifs and buts !!

Read carefully women before you go on a moral rampage.

Islam tells us to fully investigate the proposal before making decisions.

Most people - parents or girl - dont do it. They immaturly lash on a few (seemingly) good impressions, proudly ignoring others cautious opinions, and say yes putting thier lives at stake.

When it is matters of life, people who act immaturly only to taste the reality later are fools only themselves to blame.

The whole world is a facade. Thats no excuse babes.

I have stopped feeling pity for these kind of people .

CM, i used to think the same about my pakistani girlfriends who were in unhappy marriages, i would think "well they signed the nikah papers, why are they calling it forced? they could have said no" but it's not so black and white. Like islamically, women need the permission of their father (or guardian) to get married. So if the father is deadset on a certain rishta, he is just going to say no to every other rishta. That way the girl has no choice but to say yes to the her father's fave rishta. She could say no and continue staying in the house, but then house life becomes very miserable. So one feels very stuck...it's like either marry the undesirable person or stay at home in an undesirable environment. And this is not some isolated case....Pakistani parents are really good at manipulating their kids. And another thing is that even if parents are openminded, other side can lie about degrees, job, past history, health, etc. My female friend didn't tell her hubby she had diabetes, I thought this was deceitful as she has the genetic type and requires needles...now that she is married, hubby is 'stuck'....does this mean it's the hubby's fault that he didn't do research? i dont think so...my point is, not everyone is acting like a victim and sometimes it really isn't their fault. they are just stuck in a culture, or a web of lies.