I am a Makeup Artist - How can i be of help? :)

Re: I am a Makeup Artist - How can i be of help? :)

ohhhhh thank you so much ... what about the hair do??

Re: I am a Makeup Artist - How can i be of help? :slight_smile:

it depends on your face shape, length of hair etc. An updo looks very classy with sarees. I prefer slightly messy updos rather than the super slick complicated looking hairdos… http://beaut.ie/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/messy-updo.jpg

Or if your hair is long enough, you can curl it and gather it all and bring it forward, resting on one shoulder. like so ---->
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_aU4hMIyZFYQ/Sqk4YomPF6I/AAAAAAAAAQw/60zmdalguKE/malaika%20arora%20in%20sari1_thumb.jpg?imgmax=800

%between%

Hey GlossBlush... you're doin a gr8 job in helpin people out, where are u based?

Please advice me of good concelars for dry skin, also i've got dark lines around my neck & it has darkend in complexion
as compared to my face.. what do i do?? thanks x

Awww thank you Guriya… for concealing skin that is dry I would recommend mac select moisturecover.

As for the neck, rub a lemon on your neck… :slight_smile:

Oh and I am based in midlands, UK.

I love how you're of so much help! Btw i tested Maybelline's mineral face powder- it looked pretty decent (not too cakey and had a little shimmer too) so i think ill buy it before my wedding-need to check out the bodyshop one too. Has anyone tried maybelline's facepowder?

where abouts in midlands?? and thanks for d tips :)

I am from the good ol Burrrminghum :D

Hey Gloss. doing gr8 Job here,

My sister’s wedding is around in 15 days Inshallah. i have made a peachy pink n aqua green combo dress for wedding day n shoking pink sharara for valima, can u plz suggest me make up n hair style for both, i just wanna have a cute natural look, my hairs are straight long, i’ve planned to have a layers haircut n willing to get them streak aswell, plz suggest, my complexion is like this

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/60514/guppan1.jpg

Hey GlossBlushLiner!!
Great to have you here!! :slight_smile:
I have a question. The thing is that i have smile lines at the sides of my mouth .. a price to pay for laughing so much! Lines are like this in link http://www.bostoneyelids.com/nasolabial-folds-smile-lines.aspx .. they are just like 1 cm or less not as long as in the pic. But when i apply foundation and talk and laugh and smile, i get a crack at those lines. I dont care about it on normal days, but since im getting married i wouldnt like those cracks to appear on my bridal makeup. How cud this be prevented. Is there some special foundation or some specific procedure to apply foundation etc, or shud i just not talk and smile on my wedding day :frowning:
Plz help!

for the sharara, as its a traditional look, I would suggest keep eyeshadow neutral but do a thick winged out eyeliner, like they did in 1960’s urdu and hindi films…and keep rest of the makeup subtle. cheeks should have minimal colour, just adding radiance, and lips should be pinky, keep them matt dont add gloss on them :slight_smile: for the hair style you can do lots of curls and loosely put them up… here i’ll show you a pic for the makeup http://i.ytimg.com/vi/Ohk0peRl4dE/0.jpg

as for the dress in pink and blue - if you are brave ebough then try the arabic stylemakeup. eyes will be bold and bright and rest of makeup will be very neutral. here is a pic http://i.ytimg.com/vi/wArKzJ-xPHE/0.jpg
for the hair, your hair seems fairly long, you could curl them and leave them loose or put half of them up and leave half down… hope that helps :slight_smile:

Awwww dont let something so trivial stop you from smiling on your big day! Ok, so since the lines are pretty much engraved in our skin, it is impossible to prevent them from showing up. What I would suggest is that use a good smoothing primer under your foundation. The primer will fill in any lines, pores and create a smooth base for your to apply your foundation on top. that should minimise the look of fine lines. I recently discovered loreal primer which has worked quiet well for me… give it a go, its not expensive so even if it doesnt work well for you atleast you wont have forked out mega bucks for it… Prime Labs 24HR Matte Setter Primer| Cosmetics | L'Oréal Paris

Smile and laugh plenty… make the most of your big day :slight_smile:

Awesome.. never used a primer.. but will definitely buy one now. I also have acne prone skin, is this primer non comedogenic?
Thankyou so much for your help. :slight_smile:

best SPF to go under make up? i have laser on my face and need to wear a good spf ... clinique's city block makes me go dark and my make up look odd! helppp x

Yes it is non comedogenic! I have used it on various occassions and as I have acne prone skin too, I found this gave a nice even smooth finish, particulalry over my cheeks and chin where it can be slightly bumpy or uneven! :)

truy cliniques new spf 30 cream instead. it dosnt make your skin greasy and is excellent to be used uunder makeup. Specially if you have had laser, your skin needs extra protection. Its rare to find a product that offers 30spf for face…

http://www.clinique.com/templates/products/spp/index.tmpl?ngextredir=1&CATEGORY_ID=CATEGORY20551&PRODUCT_ID=PROD14622

@Gloss Blus Liner

Dear u r doing good job i would be very thankful to you if u help me out and tell me some suggestion.

actually i hv combi skin T-zone oily skin now a days. but winter starts it drys.
I hv acne prob (red acne which leave red spot and white acne like skin colour on fore head and below chin.)My main prob is discolouration. mean my complexion is not even. my face colour in the morning will be fresh and fair complexion but as the day starts it become dull.whatever i apply cream. some time cream works. sometime i don't apply anything even don't wash the face , face looks good.
I am so confuse. no foundation work. stick or powder leave caky and dull effect on face.
So plzzzzzzz help suggest me something for me. a moisturizing lotion and foundation.
i have asked the question in the web many time but can't get reply.

Now a days i am using neutrogena deep clean facial wash and loreal white perfect lotion. i hv try olay classic it is no greasy and absorb easily but make my colour dull.
thanx in advance.

Hi there, ok as for the acne, I can tell you what I have been using and what has helped me a great deal. I have been suffering from acne too. I didnt get any spots in my teenage years and the minute I turned 23 BANG all of a sudden my face was full of acne.. I tried all sorts and after a year ended up to skin specialists and doctors. I was prescribed minocycline which has cleared up all my acne. I was also given Dalacin T lotion to apply on my face twice a day and again that has helped alot too. But these can only be obtained on perscription so it depends on your doctor if they feel this is suitable for your skin. Apart from that, I have been using the clinique three step system for my skin for combination skin, which is what you have too. Oily T zone and slightly dry else where. As for the foundation, I have been using mineral powder by Bodyshop. It is much more gentle than normal cream / liquid foundations as the mineral powders are finely ground therefore they dont clog up your pores....

Dont use stick foundations as they will clog up your pores and also spread acne. You can also use illuminating creams under the foundation to get a brighter looking complexion..... hope this helps.

creamy eyeshadow aur powder eye shadow?
which one give classy look? i mean when ever i put eye shadow on my eye lid..woh smooth look nahi deta

first gloss thanx for helping. i can't try ur tip abut acne as they r medicated and not sure whether they suit me or no.
but yah i will try clinique 3 steps. actually they r also costly enough but try to get it.
and u suggest mineral powder for me as a foundation. wt do u think it will not give my caky look. mean how can i apply it? can u tell me may be i apply powder in wrong way. thanx again dear.