today was a bad day for me but, alHamdolillah, i’m fine fine now.
this morning i had my breakfast at 7:30 am. i took all my medication on time and then i got busy doing my job related work until 1 pm. i, then, went to the grocery store where at around 1:30 pm all of a sudden, with no prior indication or history, my vision started blurring and i became disoriented and started loosing my balance. i staggered to the checkout counter where i could hardly see anything and then i decided to call 911 but i could not see the dial pad on the fone. i struggled to unlock the fone and i panicked and shouted…can any1 plz call 911?..the store manager called 911 and gave me chocolate and apple juice and within minutes i regained my consciousness and then the ambulance arrived and they took care of me and transported me to the hospital where i was checked out.
what happened was my sugar levels dropped below 2.5 and as a result i almost passed out. the doctors said if my it dropped lower than 1.9 i wud’ve gone into coma…shukr Allah kaa.
it happened so fast…the whole process of having blurred vision and almost passing out took less than 3 minutes.
my sugar is well managed alHamdolillah. yesterday, i missed my meal for 6 hours and that caused this episode…i’m told to eat a lil snack in between the meals.
if any one of u have diabetese, plz be careful. make sure:
-eat 3 meals a day and a small snack in between the meals
-carry a list of ur medications that u take with u alongwith dosage
-wear medic alert bracelet
-carry crackers, glucometer, lifesaver or sugar, juice [tetrapack…at least 3]
-eat something and check blood sugar level before u go on long drives.
-carry ur health card
-carry name and fone number of someone who can be contacted in case of an emergency
-make sure the battery in ur cell fone has enuf charge [today, my fone went dead at the worst time
ji, Allah kaa shukr hai k sab Theek rahaa…are bhai jaan boojh kar to nahiiN kiyaa na vaise, i got a free chocolate and juices at the Grocery store…next time i feel like having one…i’ll just have to roll ma eyes **
haN jii ab aisaa hii karuuNgaa iA…aise act karuuNgaa jaise maiN “khaate peete” gharaane ka ahuN . thankoo**
yaar miss nai kiyaa tha ajaan boojh kar…bas bhool gayaa thaa chalo maaf kar do baba…look at its positive side…i got a FREE family size chocolate, 2 boxes of apple juice…and a good dinner at the hospital hehe**
Re: i almost passed out today...diabetics take notice, plz!
wow, that is so scary! I'm glad you're ok! I think that after a scare like this, you won't ever let it happen again!
Maybe keep some little snacky things always with you just in case you get busy or get in a situation where you have to go without eating for a while....
wow, that is so scary! I'm glad you're ok! I think that after a scare like this, you won't ever let it happen again!
Maybe keep some little snacky things always with you just in case you get busy or get in a situation where you have to go without eating for a while....
thankoo ... true, it IS scary...Allak kaa shukr hai k sab Theek rahaa :), indeed, i learnt many valuable lessons yesterday which i wrote in blue fonts in ma post.
yes, i'll carry lifesavers, juice in tetrapacks and a few small sugar bags...and crackers N cheese type of things...handy snacks.**