I accidently called someone auntie...

I hate it when that happens! I;m so used to calling my mom’s friends Auntie that even if their only like 10-15 years older then me and their talk in very very fresh Urdu, auntie just slips

I asked “auntie- I mean baji-, app ko coke ya pani chayie?” She gave the most evil look. UGHHHHHHHHHHHH…

Re: I accidently called someone auntie...

Stop worrying thats the only way desi can feel young.
By calling other ppl uncle and aunties,
Cuz other that nothing i mean "nothing" tells us if they are fully grown young adults.
I mean between siping tea watching indian movies and looking like newer addition of there parents, they don't get another way to feel and show their youth,
So enjoy it.

The line between baji and aunty is so thin, you could just never know. And then behavior plays a huge part in it too. I'm 23 and I get lost sometimes in what I should call a 30-something... theres some 30 year olds that are just totally normal and sisterly and you have no problem calling them baji even if they have 3-4 kids, but then theres a whole different breed of women in the same age group that act like such ammas, the way they dress, speak, carry themselves, and even how they look that makes them look like such AUNTIES that I really just dont know what to call them cuz they get all upset at you calling them aunty.

Me personally I love when lil kids call me aunty instead of baji, I think its cute :)

dont worry it happens.
Now the most dirtiest look you will ever get is if you accidentally call an aunty an uncle :bummer:. I did this once and it was so embarrassing. I really dont know what happened but uncle just slipped out of my mouth.

Re: I accidently called someone auntie…

^ :omg:

umm i have this baji/auntie.. she is 23 years old just 3 years older to me but she has two kids and is my mom's really good friend. as she is my mom's good friend she is my auntie. so when i am addressing her infront of mom or other aunties i call her auntie but when me and her hang out together i call her komel api or baji etc..

OMG YEAH!! When I was 12 I used to call this 21 aunties cuz she mostly talked to my mom. She also has 2 kids at that time. She never minded. As I got older my mom noticed that i called her aunties, and my mom was like don't call her auntie! She's your baji. And this aunti/baji was NICE - she joked nah it's not necessary---nah it's fine, but i quit calling her aunties anyways and now she's like call my sistaaaaaaaa. she's a fun lady!

OMG!!! that happende to me on the phone- it just slipped except it was AN UNCLE AND I CALLED HIM AUNTIE!!!

"baba ghar per nahee hai, app konsi auntie bolrai hai?

caller: jawaid UNcle

**************Awkward silence

^ it happens but awkwardness is the hardest part but so is the embarrassment

My incident happened in front of like 20+ ppl i can never live it down. i still get teased about it, i generally never do anything embarrassing.

don’t worry Choti jaan ur time will come too bachoo n almost same age will call u auntie after marriage n u’ll giv them same look :Dit happens to everyone of us.i don’t mind for myself as i’m an auntie now.When i got married my BIL’s kids(5-6yrs old then) would call me Baji n my Jeethani would gt so jealous n tell them"she’a ur aunt call her auntie"but they won’t.They r big now n still they call me Baji.I hav this friend quite older than me her sons r like 22-23 yrs old same as my younger brother so when they came over to my place they said"food was good auntie.thanks for inviting"n my friend later on called n apologized from their behalf for calling me auntie n i said"wats the big deal"Auntie is the eng word for Khala.Since i’m ur friend i’m like a khala to them.But at other time i saw this lady almost my age calling me auntie.Now thats rude :naraz:

I don't mind kids calling me Aunty. I find it sweet and I don't take such things to heart. Some people do though...

After marriage, one of my Husband's cousins wanted me to call her Appa. She expects EVERYONE to call her, "Appa" as she say she is everyone's Appa!!!! She has taken this so personally which is why everyone noticed this. Even her servants call her Appa at her request and all her brother's friends! She is 35 years old and her sister-in-law's 2 year old son calls her Appa too as she refused to be called a Taya Ammie or Phophoo. Her Mum started this and would make everyone call her daughter, Appa, even her Mother's friends call her daughter, Appa. But they make such a huge fuss over just a name! Her own kids call her Appi, and I find this so weird! What's wrong with Mama, Ammie etc?

She wanted me, my sisters and my Mum to call her Appa, but she felt nothing like an Appa! I wouldn't have minded calling her Appa but she didn't have any of the qualities of an Appa and the huge fuss she made about it made me and my sisters want to wind her up! Hehe! I share a beautiful relationship with my older sister and for me she is my only Appa.

I started calling my Husband's cousin, Baji and she hated it! Oh, those eveil eyes! Lol. My daughter calls her Auntie and she would complain to my Mother-in-law *endlessly *that my daughter should call her Appa or Appi! I would laugh it all off!

Aunty, Baji - it does't matter! These are small things to take to heart. Lol. But I still like to tease her and sometimes call her Auntie! I know so cheeky! :)

There is one incident I will never forget...

Someone called and I picked up - this was years ago - and said "Hello, mein Liaqat bolraha hoon, ammi ghar pe hein?".

I stopped because this was a woman's voice saying "mein Liaqat bolraha hoon"...LOL.

Instead of handing the phone over to my mom or even telling her, I asked her "Aap auntie hein ya uncle?"

Yeah, that was not a good day in my house. LOL

Its okay. one of these days someone will call you an aunty. You will all be aunties!!

I got the shock of my life when i first got called "auntie" by this kid ! none of my friends could convince me that day that i dont look old !!! my fear was , do i look 50 at age 24 !!!

Apparently people associate the word "Aunt " with one's age ...

so after my research , I realized what the heck ... we have taken the word Aunt from the west .. which means either parent's sister ... or Khala in simpler desi terms!!

... phew!! my fears were rested ... now i enjoy the Aunt status alot more .. :@:

Re: I accidently called someone auntie…

so what? :rolleyes: