Hygiene Basics for Guys.

For some reason, in our desi culture, guys are not brought up to live tidy & usually their uncleanly-ness is brushed off by considering it a ‘manly’ trait. The only tips about hygiene they ever learn are from peers or through trial and error. So, here is rundown of a few things the guys should consider:

#1] Brush your teeth at least twice a day, especially before going to bed and right after you wake up in the morning. Keep a mint or something with you in case you had a good lunch at masalay-dar desi restaurant. If you are going to school, a small bottle of Listerine or a brush with a toothpaste would not take too much of your bag’s space. If you are working full time, please keep something similar in your desk drawers.

**#2] **Take a shower daily, preferably twice a day. It will not only refresh your body but will also ease your mind. After the shower it’s a good habit to clean up your ears with a cotton swab or something similar. Use a body wash but if you are into soaps, keep one for your regular hand/face washing and another one for shower.

#3] Change your undergarments and socks daily. If this is asking too much, please do change ‘em every other day.

#4] You should have two dozen socks and a dozen underwear, unless you can do laundry every 3-4 days. If you are a student double the previously mentioned amount cos I know you won’t do laundry even after a week. I know, I know .. you are tooooo busy. If you think it costs too much, think again!!! It is something that you wear everyday & from Wal-Mart you can get a pack of socks for the same amount you will get a happy meal from McDonalds. So, skip a lunch but do get yourself some new clothes.

#5] If you have beard, it’s not a license to forget about your facial hair. Keep it trimmed to your liking and comb it every day. On the other hand if you shave, do consider lotion to keep your skin moist.

#6] Shave your armpits, it’s sunnah! Even though in the west, it’s considered ok to have a ‘Don King’ under you arm but trust me, it’s good to not have to use excessive deodorants. Depending on how fast your hairs grow, a weekly shave will not hurt or eat up too much of your time. Try different kinds of deodorants, there are some power ones if you don’t like the sticky or spray kind.

#7] Cut your nails regularly and keep them clean. This can also be a weekend schedule .. like something you do first thing Saturday morning.

#8] On a monthly basis, get a warm tub of water and spend some time scrubbing your feet. That will definitely help you reduce foot odor.

#9] Use cologne but please use it in moderation. It shouldn’t choke the person sitting next to you in class but it should be felt if someone gives you a friendly hug. Don’t use it to suppress odor off your smelly t-shirt.

10] When you are done with the bathroom, make sure the seat is clean/dry and basin should not have water all over the sides.

#11] Make your own bed in the morning, dust your room often, iron your clothes yourself … your mama is not your nokar

Re: Hygiene Basics for Guys.

1- i do once will do b4 sleepin from now on too

2- do that already sometimes 3 times too

3- do that already

4- prolly just under that figure but i got enuf PS laundary is done every weekend

5- me spend atleast 1/2 hr each time to shape up my daari :wink:

6- do dat already every 2 weeks

7- i have ma natural nail cutter har waqt kaat ta rehta hoon :hehe:

8- i need to do this

9- i dunoo bout dat nobody ever complained tho

10- :hehe:

11- do dat already amma jee danda lagatee hain warna

Re: Hygiene Basics for Guys.

There is a Listerine product that takes even less space. Check it out here and its available widely.

[thumb=H]lis_freshburst12080_6561457.JPG[/thumb]

Its strong, so be careful when you use it the first time. This will replace the need to carry around bottles of mouthwash.

aray bhai just scrape your tongue with a tongue scraper after or during your brush.. all these odor causing bacteria reside at the back of the tongue.. if you still have bad breath. it's your stomach.. drink lots of water and eat veggies and fruit..

What BabaG means is to French kiss a rough gal.

and dont use an ice scaper to scrape your tongue, it will just get stuck in your mouth, unless u are mick jagger or steven tyler.

What do you scrub your feet with??? da stupid sandpaper hurts a lot :teary1:

sad!. ahmedjee please dont tell me you drive around the mall shopping for purses whilst singing to the soundtrack of "kal ho na ho".

dont forget to add: they should also try a deodorant :o
apparently it s not for sale where pakistani peeple shop (not all)

1- – once—
2- --do —
3- –do that already, no other option in this kinda weather
** 4-
–do, luandry is not a problem
** 5-
–do-- On alternate days
6-–do–
7-–jab time miley, usually every 10,12 days
8-–nope-- garmi bohat hai
9-– do; but sometime i am careless, more then anyone else i dont like it my self
10- --nope-- water is all over the place
11- --nope-- House maids kis leye hoti hain :smooth:

coming across a lot untidy desi guys i guess

Re: Re: Hygiene Basics for Guys.

i have used it for a while..veryyy effective. however, i think it started to ache whenever i had ice on my right tooth. i am guessing listerine was the cause because when i stopped the tooth ache went away tooo..not sure if that was the real reason…

I haven’t met any non-hygenic guys desi guys (yet!)…haan vaise ik baat hai…some guys should try using extra deodorant and/or cologne so as not to stink up halfway through the day.

:bukbuk:

^ if somebody smells good doesn't mean s/he is hygenic. i think one has to live with the person to know how hygenic s/he is.

^ very true.

To scrub your body/feet you can buy a body scrubber from any super store. Usually cost 99cents to 3-4 dollars. If you like to really get it going, get one of the ‘jhanwaNs’ from Pakistan!!

And no I didn’t start this thread because I encountered some smelly desis lately, but just because I have been thinking about starting some productive threads in Cafe from some time. Because of age group in Cafe it would have been beneficial; NO I am not suggesting Cafeiats are smelly. Anyway, some Mod thought it was better here. :mad:

ahmedjee,, stop acting all clean n refined... now out with the dirty underwear u hid under the matress! :p

Also since its Friday, most of us will be going to Jumma prayer, please make sure that the basin and the floors are all dry when you are done with wado.

Ahmadjee, thank you.