husbands..

Re: husbands..

i live at home with my husband... barkat enters our home according to our actions... i would not want the whole burden of it to stand on my shoulder by only me praying or fasting or acting according to allah's will... sometimes god takes away barkat due to ones actions.. i wouldnt want others to suffer because of my ways so my husband too should think accordingly... thats how i would like all couples to think.. but we arent always consistent in our prayers or reading quran but fasting for that one special month in the yr is something every muslim man and woman, can get their act together for.

but ya, at the end of the day, all u can do is ask your spouse to do if they dont.. cant force a grown man or woman to do something they dont want to.

i would be not so happy with my husband if he chose not to fast. for me, its like losing a sense of respect for him.

my wife even fasted when i did not want her to fast, that is during pregnancy.

Faisal summed it up well.

My view is that if you are married to a sensible individual, they they will take the right step based on their needs, and you can be supportive and give your own recommendation but thats it.

angry? force, taunt?

I really wonder about desi marriages when I look at these as being potential options.

Most of the times "the response"to such issues depends upon how the relationship between a couple works, their mutual understanding and the belief system they share, of course which should have been considered before selecting a life partner.

In Islamic perspective one can become unhappy with a spouse, when they show casual behavior towards the basic teachings of Islam. The prophet (saw) even boycott his wives for a month when he became unhappy with them

The Prophet [pbuh] had taken an oath to stay off his wives for a month in the ninth year of Al-Hijra. Therefore, he deserted them and kept off in a private place. At the beginning, the Companions of the Messenger of Allah were puzzled and could not work out the reason for such behavior. They thought the Prophet [pbuh] had divorced them and that was why he was grieved, disturbed and upset.[Sahih Al-Bukhari 2/730]
But it is cleared from other sources and scholars that he didn't divorce them but was unhappy with them due to certain things they were not doing according to his advice. (Islamic teachings)

The prophet (saw) is our role model and he did show us a way of showing dis likeness when our beloved ones don't follow the teachings of Islam. The silent treatment can be one of those ways.

BUT the prophet (saw) was perfect and I am not. SO, in my case it is a two way traffic. My wife is allowed to pour a jug of cold water on my face when I am not waking up for "Fajr" namaz (prayers). She even switches off the the computer while I am using computer, because at times I might get too addicted and she feels it is her duty to remind me that if I sleep late, it would not only effect my health but also it would be difficult for me to wake up early in the morning.

One verbal pact I and my wife signed in the beginning of the marriage was that. *"If anyone of us at any stage of life violates the basics of Islamic teachings (without a genuine excuse), the other would make sure to prevent it without any compromise. The one who is violating has no right to reject such an act, because s/he know it is for his/her betterment in this life and hereafter" *

So if any one of us at any stage of life is deviating from any sunnah or Fard (due to carelessness or laziness), the other has the right to make sure, one way or the other that the sunnah or Fard is not violated, besides that presenting oneself as a practical example of that. All this is done humbly with respect but firmness with a sincere intentions of only pleasing Allah (s.w.t) and nothing in mind related to showing one's dominance over the other.
In fact such acts increases mutual love in our hearts for each others, by the grace and mercy of Allah (s.w.t).

**May Allah (s.w.t) bless us all with sincerity and put "Barakah" (blessings) in our intentions and acts. Ameen

Faisal bhai, Per Islam main yah kio kaha hain kay agar tumhara spouse ghalat rastay pe ja rahi ho to pehlay us ko samjao, per tora sa danto, per bistar alag.... Yes your right that everyone is responsible for their own deeds, but not if they are ur family members... Agar Ap kay oulad batameezi karta ho to u have the right to stop them and teach him the right way or even raise hands on them.. same things applies to spouse.. Some how on the day of judgement you will be responsible for it as well.. just telling your spouse to fast and if they do not listen to you, un ko unkay haal pe chorna yah to koi stranger say hee karta hai na.. biwi ya hubby say to nahi...

I wont let her be at iftari table :snooty:

Ek dafa aftari khaney ko nahi miley gi tu khud hi roze rakhna shuro kardegi :k:

Agar phir bhi masla hal na ho ..

Tu read urdu novel “Lagan” :sleep:

Why you stopped at bistar alag? :) There are muslims (men, mostly) who'd argue that Islam allows a husband to beat his wife (lightly, of course) if she doesn't obey her husband in matters of religion. While I don't disagree with the premise of this "permission" nor do I question the authenticity of this (pls no long cut-paste here on this), its not something I personally subscribe too. So while some men think its ok to beat their wife, and believe that Islam actually allows it, I prefer to use my own judgement on this.

Secondly, it helps to give your spouse some credit for using their own brain cells. If their judgement is so poor that they can't make the right decisions for themselves, even after you have given them good advice, then actually you have bigger problems in your life than you realize.

And lastly, roza depends a lot on niyyat. As we all know, merely starving is not roza. So whats the point of beating your wife (or husband) or getting angry over it, to make them comply? This logic is a bit too mind-boggling for me to comprehend. I am guessing smarter people here have this figured out.

haha..yeah princess fiona sounds like u have a problem..r u a dictator that u can force someone?..who the hell do u think u r?..r u god?..u sound really dominating and full of yourself..i feel sorry for your husband/future husband or frogy or whatever the hell he is..

this was very uncalled for.. Princess Fiona had her point, if you don't agree with her than simply state your reasons ..

Words might at times cause the deepest wounds, if we are not careful, specially when we don't have any understanding with the person we are talking to. My request to the sister to better edit her post before it is read by the person to whom it was addressed.

May Allah forgive our mistakes and guide us all. Ameen.

girly mind ur language.. Learn some manners... this is discussion forum not ur house.. ..
MIND IT... :).

just because there are potential options given to people (supposedly) that does not mean they are the only way to resolve something does it?

Well if option is given to you then why not use it? Especially if that option is given from Allah... See iam a girl myself, i shouldn't be saying kay my husband should force me to do something or beat the hell out of me and i wouldn't want it either.. But i am talking in general kay if your spouse is doing something wrong, then make him or her stop it... Why would u want your own spouse to do something which u know is wrong.. What will ur kids learn from it? ohh Ami ya abu roza nahi raktay to main kio rakon? .. Come on would u want ur kids to say tat?

Faisal Bhai, I stopped at Bistar alag because i wasn't sure what the next step was. So i thought tat i rather stop there than saying something wrong....
And about beating your wife.. In islam where it says kay beat ur wife.. I actually did some research on it.. and I was listening to this guy's lecture.. Yousuf something.. He said kay apparantly the word "Beat" in arabic means "Touch your wife gently" , so that she doesn't get any marks or any signs of being beaten... So if the next step is beating up ur wife than tat is touching her very gently..

Well yes that person would have a greater of a problem if their spouse is soo empty headed not to understand the benefits of Month of ramandan.. and if she/he doesn't have the niyyat for it.. Now How do u fix that problem? Us ko us kay haal pe chordayna? yeah to buzdili howi na....

Maybe your right about all this or maybe iam wrong.. but i think after all one can't sit and watch something wrong happening, especially if that damage is happening in their own house...

and who are you?..her khasam?..control yourself..u said r married..stop getting into rumbles for other women u besharam beghairat admi..probaby do bachoohns ka baap..tauba..

lahol wala..

Now that is what I am talking about :)

alhamdulillah brother in peace :salute:

who the f do you think you are ? i ain't besharam begharait.. choose your words carefully bachi..

:khumar:

Sara thoray se popcorn idher bhi pass kerna zara