husband hunting

why do people assume that just cus ur going overseas.. its for the soul purpose of finding a hubby dearest? and even if u clear them of their misery and tell them that ur actually just getting away… they will insist u look for a husband… why cant a 20 something girl simply go out and enjoy herself without being judged, accused or watever else?

tsk.. silly people honestly…

and what irritates me more is, even if u do end up meeting someone nice… they will spread gossip like wildfire about “meinu pehle hi patha si… yeh larki teek nayi hai…”

people need lives

Aww sadzz.I know exactly what you mean.And how come people always ask if you're engaged if you're 20 something.

^ yeap yeap… i came back from paki with a huge koka in my nose (dont ask.. i think i was going thru a phase) and people assumed i was engaged.. mind u i had been wearing a koka for about 4 years already :halo:

I just find the engagement/marriage questions and comments so annoying.I mean everytime my parents go to Pakistan, people expect them to come back with a dhulha sahib.And the first thing that any aunty asks me is if Im engaged.At the last party , just because I was wearing a maroon outfit, some aunty said "Beti lagtha hai ke tumhari mangni ho gayi hai.'I was about to reply with something rude, but my Ammi gave me a look and I stopped.

I sometimes wear a ring on my left hand just to annoy aunties.:blush:

people can be soo silly n inquisitive... next time for kicks be liek jee aunty, aapp ko nahi pata app ke (her sons name) se hi hui hai.. watch the jaw drop n the questions stop.

^ lol.One time I was holding my friends baby- it was also at a valima party.Anyway this Aunty came up to me and I actually told her ke it was my son.

^ hahaha

i dont even get the aunties saying cus most of them dont even know that im going.. its all those teeny bopper chicks or those newly uni-fied girls who like to know everything bout ur life csu apparently ur their best friend :hoonh:

yeah.. im a bit ticked off hehe.. i somehow hoped that this mentality would die down and our parents would be the last to be of the kind.. but seeing these teeny boppers ask the same questions… i am quite disheartened

yeap, i have no idea what im babbling on about

lol, sadzz, I went through this the same time last year before my trip. All the whispers, people constantly asking my mom if she's taking me to England and Pakistan to get married. Sheesh!

I actually think it’s cool how in your culture, everyone is really concerned for you to get married. Like I think i’m one of the rare desis anywayz, cuz my parent’s have told me that I shudn’t get married. Not as a joke, but they actually told me that its really a waste of time, and that i shud enjoy myself. like..my mom actually even said, u could always have a boyfriend, and if you get sick of him, move on to the next. i actually wanna get married! i want commitment, well maybe being muslim, i have different morals then them. ahhh..lol. and my are parents like..whatever who cares. so are all my relatives, maybe because the divorce rate is very high in my family. i have girl cousins who have either gotten divorces, had affairs, or at the age of 40..are still floating around with their boy toys, and noone cares. everytime i go to india, my cousin has a new guy with her. it’s crazy. i have not been to a real desi wedding in 10 years!!! why don’t any of the aunties come and bother me??? :crying:

i feel so stupid and backwards and dumb for being the only girl in the history of american paki girls whos acutaly looking forward to going ot pakistan for the whole rishta thing…am i weird? :rolleyes: :confused:

lolz.. i thought i dont have to answer those curious aunties anymore now :smiley: but now all they are worried about is when am i going to have kids? :smack: … their curiosity never ends!

hahaha im not married but i know what u mean! all my married friends got that… u will never escape!

Just grow a beard like I did. They won't bother you then :)

^ i wanna get married one day jee :blush: i’ll really lose my chances this way

Sigh that is typical Desi pplz if a girl is 18 or 19 yrs old or whatever
they worried about marriage like marriage is the most important thing.
I know how it is they tell you that they have a nice decent boy for you
but what if you dont want to marry yet or you dont like him if you see him? And ya like you said Sadzz if you dont want to marry they think
you're a wrong girl something like that gosh i hate pplz like that.
They have nothing else to do!

Nilu.

u can deny it all u want, we know exactly why u r going :p

*Originally posted by ~Tikhi Jalebi~: *
u can deny it all u want, we know exactly why u r going :p

Kis ko kehree ho Tikhi?

and you will someday jee :blush:
jee haaN :blush:

sheesh, everyones knows all my secrets now :blush: hehe