Hurricane/Hello from Shikra (merged)

Re: Hurricane/Hello from Shikra (merged)

Allah ka shuker hay keh aap aur aap kay ghar waley kheriyat se hain.. Dont worry about the things.. Allah sub ko apne hifz-o-amaan main rakhey.. Aameen..

Thanks God..............you are safe and sound

Good to know you'r okay, Shrek.

I pray for ur safety and a fast recovery to your normal life.

GS isnt/wouldnt be the same without you.

take care :)

Thanks everyone :)

*Since the levee (the wall that was holding the lake water) is broken, the water is filling up the city even after 3 days. I have no idea when we'll go back in town. But thanks for your concern and your PMs and support. *

I still am receiving PMs asking me to remove threads etc., I am not very active now a days, please send those requests to JonyBr or Desimunda. If you send me any request, do not expect any answer/action from me.

I cannot thank you enough for your prayers and wishes. :)

Koyal (or any others): If you are tying to call me on my cell, it won't do any good. The communication systems are down for new orleans. No power, no cell phone, no land phones, no food, no shelters, NOTHING. I can not call anyone or receive calls from others. But thanks for the concern :)

Shikra:

Check out this page as it has information on our area in New Orleans:
http://www.wwltv.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=2415&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=1020

You might want to ask about your specific area, but seems like Metairie area is much better than other areas in NO.

Take care,

Elisa

I would imagine that Metairie would be in better condition. N.O downtown is the worst. Kenner on the other hand may also be in bad condition because that's where the wall broke that was holding the lake water.

Shikra:

Only thing is if you are in Jefferson Parish they will only let you go in with id on Monday, but they won't let you stay and you'll have to return in a month's time.
Thing is what to do in the meantime? Are you and your family planning on going back soon?

-Elisa

gald to hear that ur ok buddy :hug:

INSHLLAH every thing will be alright

Well, even if we go back, there’s no power or anything, so we can’t stay there for long terms anyway. If we do go back, it’ll be to pick up more clothes and maybe other documents that are a must to live.

We are thinking about renting an apartment in houston. So I may need some help for people who live in houston to tell me where to go and how to get to places.

Insan Thanks yaar :slight_smile:

Look after yourself shakariya, glad 2 know you is safe and well.

bro no problem just give me call :slight_smile: u will be fine :slight_smile: if u r thinking living permentaly then don’t worry about job also :slight_smile:

hug Shikra yar don't worry. InshAllah things will be better soon.

My prayers are with you sohail. Glad to know you are alright. Take good care of yourself n your family. InshAllah everything will get better soon. :flower1:

Shikra bhai..You and your family with all those people in New Orleans and other places with flood and in need are in my prayers ... MashAllah you lot are safe, aap ka ghar and ghar ki cheezein bhi safe hoan :-)

oh my goodness shikra do you have any idea how lucky you are to be alive?! i oughta smack you upside the head!!:frowning: :hug: :teary1: Glad to hear you’re safe, unlike thousands of people going through all this. :frowning:

if theres anything you need help with let us know..theres a huge muslim community in michigan but theres not much we can do from this far away. Do you know other families who need financial help? Is the masjid around houston doing some sort of fundraising? Please let me know, i really wanna help out and I dont wanna donate to other org cuz i dont trust white ppl anymore..

damn man! you are in houston, aur tum ney call tak nahi ki.. veyr bad yaar..
let me know where are you staying. i think u do have my number

Thanks everyone for your concern and prayers :)

Yes, I am in houston. Some people are staying in masjids and they are raising money to help people who are affected. As a matter of fact, they are having a big feast next Sunday (September 11) for people who migrated from N.O. I don't know any org.'s phone number or anything. I went to offer Juma prayer in Masjid Al-Noor in Baytown (Normandy area) and they were also raising funds.

Officials are opening I-10 on Monday and allowing residents only to pick up more stuff from their homes. Ofcourse they won't allow us to stay there but they are letting us pick more clothes and other things that we need. So we'll go ASAP and pick up more stuff. I am pretty sure we'll be living in Houston for the time being but not sure yet. It depends on my job posting where the company relocates me. I will know more by mid next week or by the end of next week.

Laley yaar I have your phone number but the problem is that my cell phone is not working. The bases in New Orleans were destroyed so I can't send/receive any phone calls. I will probably migrate my number from N.O area code to Houston area code as soon as i can after I know where I'll be staying. If I am staying in Houston, I'll def. need some info. from you.