Humanity Needs and Technology

Re: Humanity Needs and Technology

I think OP was talking about technology in general which is later evident from this^.

That means, the second man shot the bear and saved the child by using technology right way.

Technology not being balanced or balanced is relative to its use being beneficial or harmful to mankind .

I thought at first the second man shot what he thought was the bear, but it was the first man’s son all savage like made him think it was a bear, thinking he handed the child back to his father was the “bear” that he shot.

I get it now … You know it’s quite possible to live in bear territory without bears harming us, still dangerous, but possible … The thing is technology scares them …

farming is technology too. unless you just wait for seeds to fall from the sky and grow into plants.

Yeah, tell that to philosophy ...

I don’t think that it’s absolutely relative to its use.
Hacking, and tracking is possible with the technology and these things are crimes. Hacking is taught in some countries’ universities where it is legal. Hacking and Tracking itself is not a use, it’s full-fledge technology. Similarly developing nuclear bombs is not a use, its completely different domain of technology. Calling it use of chemistry and physics is too simplistic approach of looking at problem/solution domain.

As i said in my opening post that it is pervasive media that tells us that LATEST smart phone is our need although it is FACT that it is not a need. But media and capitalists are so pervasively influential that we looks like fool if we initiate talk on distinguishing between needs and luxuries.
It is pervasive media that tells us that EVERY TYPE OF NECLEAR technology is need of America. Here comes a psychological factor that it is somehow ‘ok’ if we oppose nuclear technology but it looks like fool to oppose digital technology’s extravagances. Maybe the reason is we don’t see direct negative impacts of digital technology but somehow we can realize or visualize the direct consequences of nuclear technology.

Lets dissect your post and answer:
First of all: yes in a way it is true that use of technology dictates what is good and what is not.

A knife can be used to kill a person for 'secondary gain' (illegal) but it can be used to kill an intruder or aggressor (Perfectly legal).

Also the knife can be used to cut vegetables. (Both useful and no question of it being used legally)

You used word legal as if somehow it is good. Yes, if it is used to save lives of people to hack bad people's computers, it is useful. But by and large it is against humanity to intrude someone's privacy or if it is used to harm people.

Just by being legal does not mean it is good for humanity by the way. A lot of legally accepted acts are harmful for mankind including the posession of nuclear bomb with the intention to use it against mankind.

SMART PHONE:

I have no idea why you said it is a FACT that it is not a need. Perhaps you have not used these phones for various purposes ..yet.

Needs develop with time. 20-30 years ago even cellphones were not present and now they are and have become need.

Smart phones have good useful functions. Very very useful if really used properly.

You may need to know a lot of apps are already helping a lot of people and saving their time and resources. People are using them for business and keeping, sharing and disseminating a lot of information to each other.

Off course the Smart phones CAN be used against humanity and by themselves they are neutral.

Lastly: Nuclear technology is very beneficial to mankind if used properly. Chemistry is very useful for mankind if used properly.

**One can always hope that laws are made to force people to use all of these technologies ONLY for the benefit of mankind and are not politically driven.

I mean the laws actually are made to conform to humanity.

But that is just an ideal situation or a dream.

Peace diwana

At Uni I attended a course on advertising and in that course we were taught that one art of advertising is to convince people that they "need" something. Then when a habit forms it becomes a need of sort ... a psychological need.

Much of technology that we have today has been sold to us because we were initially told that we either need something to be "faster", "more stylish", "more expensive", "more portable" or simply just "newer" ... Most of us buy because its new, but we get convinced that we buy because it functional ... This is the point being made by the OP.

Technology has indeed altered our lives, but it is arguable to say whether or not technology has "enhanced" our lives ... Technology has busied our lives, options and choice over information and clutter have come along together with speed and power ... As a net result we probably get the same things done in a similar amount of time ... In the past we used to fix our things - today we simply replace them for newer models ...

Technology being used for or against humanity is again subjective ... But arguably the most extensive way "information" is being used is to just "enhance" the way advertising is done in order for us to continue buying ... they measure our spending habits and profile us so they can "push" market commodities in our direction - it makes us complacent and makes everything automated ... we stop thinking as "thinking" itself becomes "subcontracted" to algorithms that do it all for us ... Is that luxury? Yeah it is tremendous luxury ... is that a good thing? Probably not.

Peace to you too Psyah!

I know what you are saying but as I said, need does develop over time.

There maybe some items which some people find not useful and no one is actually forcing people to acquire those items. Having said that older simpler items may not be available after some time and people may be indirectly forced to buy newer technology. it has to do with the demand and supply.

The technology can and does make lives easier for people.

1- Newer cars have hybrid technology. Saves money on gas and they are better for environment.

2- Smart phones have ability to do a lot and one can even deposit checks to bank by simply clicking buttons. Saves time and hassle and manpower/cost.

3- There was time when internet had slower connection and now larger data can be stored and transferred across the world faster.
One can even talk 'face to face' with other people across the globe.

4- Healthcare technology advancement does saves lives and improves well being of mankind so they can enjoy a little more being around their families.

I think I do not need to give so many examples to get the point across.

It is up to the consumers to take good advantage of technology or not, in the end. :)

It appears there is an outward form of goodness that appeals as the benefit of technology ... It is a lot more difficult to work out, but what does technology offer in the way of ... say increasing the depths of our relationships, making us more sincere and honest and putting piety into our actions ... Does it do these things?

Or can we receive peace in the soul from the fruits of technology ...

There are a lot of superlatives that come from technology as highlighted ... this indicates that technology only gives an increase in something, but in and of itself is not essential, because without technology the basic needs are already fulfilled.

I'm also not sure about the slogan "technology makes lives easier" ... it may make it more interesting and productive, lucrative even ... but all of these things have their own complexities that simple life does not have ... simple life is hard but can be more fulfilling ... I think ...

No idea why outward goodness is considered sooo evil.

**Inner goodness can be connected to outward goodness. **

If someone saves time going to bank, that time can be spent in extra prayer and zikr.

Yes or no???

1- If technology was not there people would not have clean water or have penicillin to treat infections etc. etc. etc. Very simple.

2- Now to answer about depth of our relationship.

I just gave you example of face to face talk. People can see each other from distance and get connected.

Moreover, you did not know me and I did not know you (however much we know each other) but we all have some degree of relation…exchanging ideas at least.

3- Regarding piousness: You have the choice to recite whole Quran from your smartphone and learn about religion by searching or connecting to the world’s famous Aalim’s lecture sites etc. etc.

You can have whole world’s knowledge in your palm, anywhere!

Don’t use smartphone for wrong purpose. Don’t watch nude stuff on it. J/K :wink:

Smartphones can make people pious!!

Send good pious messages to people you know. Sawaab Mile Ga Bhai sahab.

Book a flight to Hajj at the last minute by smartphone, or plan whole trip via road if you want.

Even listen to Azaan/Adhaan on it anywhere on time.

**There are a lot of ways technology can be used to become pious.
Come on Psyah Bhai, you really need me to say this? :smiley:

The problem with some Muslims is that they do not have the ability to conform and follow new and innovated material/knowledge…let alone creating many things by themselves…for mankind.

They cannot think beyond their strict interpretation of religion.

Not only they want to live in dark, seclusive places but want everyone to do the same.

Even simple thing like wrist watch is useful…but so many Muslims love to argue and differ even on Duhr time, Asr time measured by height of the sun. :smack:

I’m not anti-technology - I am merely answering the thread topic … “humanity NEEDS” and “technology” …

I think the value of technology should be seen as “what is gained” and “what is lost” with respect to the previous function.

So Let’s consider “going to the bank” vs “Online banking”

a) Online is faster but going to the bank is more energy filled for the body
b) Online could save petrol but going to the bank can be more social and will not cost extra petrol if one walks

This is the type of comparison … to say that online banking saves time so that one can do ibadat and zikr presumes that going to the bank physically prevents zikr … which is a fallacy … One can do zikr on his journey to the bank and meet people on the way and say salams and even get the opportunity to invite them over for tea.

I mean what is it that one does that the other cannot do? Then to find where does the balance lie? Perhaps to do both depending on the circumstances, but the key question is does “making life easier” make us more likely to be weak to our desires or stronger to our desires.

Regarding the treatment of infections - being unable to treat infections is not evil, that is qadr. Even with technology we cannot prevent every disease, but we try with or without technology. Does having technology make us “want” to treat more people or does it simply give us the ability to treat more people?

Regarding communication - yes, technology has enhanced that for us … being able to communicate more efficiently is not a need however, it is one of those superlatives again. And looking at the communication online - by and far it is done heartlessly, whimsically and thoughtlessly. Also, access to certain information has cluttered our lives and many people are addicted to a life in the virtual world. Along with the enhancement there is a captivating lure that is ever present.

3 - Again you are presenting the “choice” of accessing things “easily” … my point is that “ease” can be a hindrance too … Especially so with information … When information comes easily the trends are that “knowledge” dies … because fewer people feel the need to “learn” they merely access the information they want and forget it again. Some devices offer Qur’an memorisation as a feature … but when one has to ask questions or get corrected - it is not done as effectively as it would “face-to-face” … Being able to do something easily is not the criteria of our progress … Rather struggling to do things despite being in disadvantage is a better ideal to have. Technology is making us lazy … because it offers us more than we “need” and eats away at our challenges in life by giving us the things we want on a platter. Piety is to be able to remain happy in hard and testing times … yet technology has meant that when a plane is 30 minutes late we get angry …

As long as we are aware of the downfalls that technology brings us then we can make adjustments in our life to compensate … it is not to remove technology as though it is haram … no … but to balance it out … If you have time - then don’t do online banking - go for a walk … That is the extent of what I am saying.

I am sorry Psyah Bhai, it is clear you are trying very hard but none of your arguments is strong enough. There are so many wrongs that I am baffled as to where do I begin.

The worst argument of all is

"being unable to treat infections is not evil, that is qadr. Even with technology we cannot prevent every disease, but we try with or without technology. Does having technology make us "want" to treat more people or does it simply give us the ability to treat more people? "

but all the red parts of your posts are simply false.

Unnecessary hardship is what you are promoting. Not treating people is what your are preaching. It is not about prevention only. But technology not only treats diseases, it DOES prevent diseases and deaths as well.

If people want to live in khanqaah or jungle they are more than welcome to do so. :)

Peace diwana

I don't think I can say anything to that ... If you say they are false then they must be ...

Peace again to you;

It's not just because I say so. There are reasons I cited.

I do know there are people who have different way on looking at issues but I have not been able to find your reasons valid or acceptable so far... that's all. :)

For human we have heard Iqbal saying:

Amal Se Zindagi Ban Ti Hai Jannat Bhi Jahannum Bhi
Yeh Khaki Apni Soorat Mein Na Noorie Hai Na Naari Hai

Similarly, technology by itself is neutral.

It is up to us how to use it...for ...or...against humanity.

You didn't actually give reasons ... you just said and reconfirmed here that you don't find my statements acceptable.

Technology is not a totally neutral thing. It is if you personally invent something for your own needs ... technology is following the socio-economics of the current age we are in ... technology - or lets call it "invention" is made popular by what drives humanity ... The dominant flavour of the modern world is "consume" and "enjoy" and "fuel ego" ... these conditions in society dictate which "inventions" will become widely available and how they will be pitched for us to use ... A few people will be able to utilise the new inventions to practical use without fully falling in to the marketing pitch intent, but not the majority.

There are certain things we cannot avoid ... the most effective use of the internet is to sell Western culture and ideals to the rest of the world ... despite me coming online to chat Islam ... and you to be likewise ... we are each affected daily drop by drop of a culture that is designed to take over our minds eventually.

Really? Did you miss my earlier posts?

Yes. Based on the reasons I gave you which you could not refute despite trying hard.

Yes. technology is neutral by itself in terms of its nature.

Even good and bad use does not make technology good or bad. It is people who use technology for wrong purpose who are bad.

A knife is completely neutral if it is not used.

You are mixing culture with technology hence I find no need to answer you other than you need to clear your mind a little bhai sahab.

Technology and knowledge is created by God if you believe in God. It is up to human how they use these.

By saying the red parts, you actually admitted that technology does not drive people. People and their needs drive technology.

Hence, please go ahead use technology for good purpose. You will be fine. :)

Diwana,

I think psyah have raised some very valid points. I would like to add few more.

First of all you maybe need to think beyond basic examples of usage of things like knife and wrist watch. And keep in view that we are discussing fulfilling needs with technology and technology development should be blanced to needs.

Hacking maybe is good in some cases neither i am completely against it but, how come a thing is legal in one country and is illegal in other country.
Would like to explain that technology advancements and innovations are proposed by businessmen and capitalists. They are supposed to do business and it is not distingueshed whether they are doing business for catering needs or alluring people for using/purchasing their latest stuff.

Now tell me how and when business app on Smart phone became our NEED?
Can’t you perform your business function on your desktop system that you perform on your smartphone?
Isn’t it better you do your work on your desktop system in your office, shutdown you system by the end of office time, give some time to your family and have some time to pray and religious obligations without waking depression and office work anxiety you have even when you are at home or on some recreation?
why you take your business device home?
Only one reason, capitalists are behind this model of innovations and advancements so keep lower level class in business of deadly competition they have with each other.
Ok let accept for the sake of argument that some people do need business app on smart phone. What is that number of people who really need that?
Although you are yet to tell me an instance where we have no choice but perform our business function through smart phone app and not desktop system.

Giving you an example of small issue which apparently does not matter but it matters when you have other things to focus on. I remember the days when i had Pentium 1 and used to load email page. Today when i load email page with broadband it almost takes similar amount of time.
Although it is drastic increase in bandwidth but we still need more bandwidth. Why? The reason is continuous unnecessary innovation of user interfaces, use of heavy graphics, and more competitive design by incorporating interacting and latest components.

Actually, technology is enhanced and people are made to believe it is need same as people are driven to buy a latest model car after every year, change interior of home after every two or three years, replace home appliance, etc.
If you show three models of home interiors and furniture of 2005, 2010 and 2013 to person who is living a remote life in some remote area, do you really think that he would be able to distinguish that which one is better and which one is latest? Of course he would not be able to distinguish.
Similarly, what really matters that make us switch to iphone4, then iphone4s and then iphone5 and so on?

Yes people want change but not that abruptly and crazily unless they made to think like that.

Sorry, I have yet to see any valid point from Psyah bhai.

I gave simple very simple examples of knife and wristwatch. What is wrong with those examples sir? Afterall they are also examples of technologies to which people have become used to and now have become the need. Moreover what I meant was that use of knife can be beneficial and can be harmful. It is up to the user.

Like I said, no one is forcing anyone to use any technology.

One can easily not buy iphone at all let alone worry about its different models.

If someone want to continue to live in a house with older furniture, that person has no gun to his head to buy new furniture.

If someone does not want to have fast internet, slower internet for basic use is also available.

Why even use internet to begin with? Isn't it not something which people can live without if the argument is live with simple life or not to fall in to temptations?

No one is forcing people to abruptly change to keep up with ANY technology. Stay living in 80's and 90's. Or even in 50's. Fine.

Using smartphone for business is wrong but using desktop is acceptable???? Isn't desktop also a technology made by corporates to make money and make a false need?

Similarly, after 5 years you may say, smartphones are fine, but why use a newer technology?? Just conspiracy from corporates.

I have no idea why you may have problem loading e-mail on broadband. One can load e-mail in a matter of seconds on smartphone these days, let alone the broadband.

At least desktop is considered acceptable as newer technology than no desktop at all. But desktop cannot be taken outside the house.

[By using smart phones there are a lot of people who have saved lives, made money, get connected to loved ones in emergency, managed their day to day appointments, etc. etc. etc. and their use has been proven to be beneficial for mankind]

People can travel by bicycle, and not use car they are free to do so. Then again why even use bicycle? Just walk. Good for health.

No one is forcing to fulfill anyone's needs.

*It is the people who are wrong falling in to temptations, not the technology and not the corporates. *:)