Human Rights and Self Sacrifice

Tomorrow is the 10th of Muharram, the day of Ashura. One of my earliest memories of Muharram is being surrounded by women all wearing black and all sobbing loudly. I was three years old. I didn’t understand what Muharram was, or why we wore black and cried and did matam. I had no idea of what the words Kerbala, Hussain and Yazid meant. But at the simplest level I understood the simplest of human communication - I understood emotion. I understood sadness, I knew the face of grief and sorrow.

Growing up, every year during the first 10 days of Muharram we would attend one of the majalis and mehfils which were held at different times and places throughout the day. I witnessed oratory at its best. I remembered and learnt the tragic story of Kerbala and its aftermath which was told and retold until I could tell it with the skill and depth of a master narrator, relaying the events of Kerbala as if they were happening right now, before your very eyes. But at the end of the day I still couldn’t figure out why it happened. I was told this was the ultimate manifestation of the differences between Shia and Sunni’s. I was told it was Muslims who slaughtered Hussain and his family and friends. I couldn’t believe that (until “Muslims” did the very same to my family a few years ago). I still don’t believe that ultimately Hussain, Muharram and Kerbala are just about sectarian schisms. A supreme act of sacrifice such as that in Kerbala, 680 AD in my view transcends beyond such petty differences.

I have come to learn and understand so much more. Muharram has always been the sacred month. In pre-Islamic days the Arabs stopped their tribal wars and put aside their differences, out of respect for the sacredness associated with the month. Now it is the month, the beginning of the year where with the commemoration of Hussain’s message, self reflection and introspection are central to our lives. Muharram has become an institution for character building and self development. The mere commemoration of Hussain’s message would be useless without changing ourselves and without re-evaluating ourselves, and our values and ideals.

For me, Hussain now symbolises, no, Hussain personifies Human Rights, Justice and Liberty and Truth. The self same truth expressed when a sole man stops a military power in their tracks in Tiannanmen Square. The truth expressed wherever those oppressed stand up for their rights. Kerbala is the battle for universal truth. The same truth we strive for today. Spend a few moments tomorrow contemplating this act of supreme sacrifice for truth.

Har Qoaum keh rahi hai hamara hussain hai
Every nation says, Hussain is ours

Continuation of Hussain's Martyrdom thread

I posted similar views on some other forum and got a very good, balanced reply to it. I think it's worth sharing.

In more abstract terms I see this story as a struggle, really between two orders. Mohammad's main struggle was against Mecca's oligarchy, and Banu Umayyah (Yazeed's family) were on top of that pecking order.

If you look at it from an unbiased perspective (instead of the ch****** Sunni dictum that all sahaaba were good) then Abu Sufiyan's conversion to Islam was clearly a conversion of convenience; in hopes of reclaiming the ascendancy his family enjoyed within the pre-Islamic days. Mu'aawiyah (one of the most cunning power-player in post-Mohammad era) carried that program further. Hussain's struggle - simplistic, quixotic, naive, even childish - was against the ascendancy of the same old wealthy elite, who, he must have thought, converted to Islam at the last moment, and were the first to grab power.

The appointment of Abu Bakr, Umar, and then Uthman as caliphs was a step away from institutionalized monarchy to a kind of plutocracy. It was Mu'aawiyah who reintroduced monarchy by appointing his son as caliph, whom Hussain opposed.

The Shi'ah have the ahaadeeth about Imaamat, and generational succession of leadership which Sunnis do not recognize. The mainstream Sunni contention (as opposed to Shah Baleeghuddin's view) is that *Hussain had a right to power, not because of his blood, but because of his piety. *

Copyright: Terminator

Few points I made in the thread which so conveniently disappeared from here and other forum are:

1- Why these guys flaunt around Hussain and Ali so much? To form a relationship of bloodline to Mohmmad? To come off superior beings?

2- Successors to what? To prophethood? Caliphhood? That doesn't make any sense 'cause it goes against the other teachings of Islam where no one is better than the other based on anything but piety.

3- Even if Mohammad in fact said it, it doesn't make any sense to me. It's seems a very autocrate and monarchist, which is very much against the core spirit of equality as upheld by Islam.

PS-
The other sidenote point that I want to make to the mods and audience on gupshup here is that when any Hindu, Sikh participant uses the word, "Mohammad" without PBUH here on gupshup then it's accepted. But when I omit PBUH then people jump on the wagon. Why so? Why do people assume that I am a Muslim or not? And if I am Muslim I have to use PBUH and if not then it is ok for me to omit? I don't have to justify my Muslimhood-or-Not to follow a naming convention or not.

Re: Continuation of Hussain's Martyrdom thread

*Originally posted by Roman: *
PS-
The other sidenote point that I want to make to the mods and audience on gupshup here is that when any Hindu, Sikh participant uses the word, "Mohammad" without PBUH here on gupshup then it's accepted. But when I omit PBUH then people jump on the wagon. Why so? Why do people assume that I am a Muslim or not? And if I am Muslim I have to use PBUH and if not then it is ok for me to omit? I don't have to justify my Muslimhood-or-Not to follow a naming convention or not.

As you are continously dis-respecting while taking names of Muhammad (SAWW) and His Grand Son Hazrat Imaam Hussain (RA),
As you said Non-muslims comes here and write these respected name without respect and same is YOU doing , tell me WHAT IS DIFFERENCE B/W YOU AND THEM ?
Yes if you are Muslim, then prove it as Allah and His all angels recite drood when Muhammad's (SAWW) name comes!

Re: Re: Continuation of Hussain's Martyrdom thread

*Originally posted by ?: *

As you are continously dis-respecting while taking names of Muhammad (SAWW) and His Grand Son Hazrat Imaam Hussain (RA),

Respect means different things to different people. No offense, but there are plenty of people who have pointed out that writing (SAWW) and (RA) is also a sign of disrespect and one should always write the full thing - Sallalh o Alaihai Wassalam. Now you may not agree to it, but for them you are being disrespectful too.

Point being, that it is us who should be reciting darood when these names are taken, and if someone else is bent upon using the names without any suffix or prefix, it is their own deed and they are responsible for it. You have pointed it out, done your good deed. He has heard you and disagreed. Move on. Lets talk about the topic under discussion. Shall we?

Re: Re: Re: Continuation of Hussain's Martyrdom thread

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

Respect means different things to different people. No offense, but there are plenty of people who have pointed out that writing (SAWW) and (RA) is also a sign of disrespect and one should always write the full thing - Sallalh o Alaihai Wassalam. Now you may not agree to it, but for them you are being disrespectful too.
Thank you I will try to follow it, appreciated,

secondly, I won't follow the topic forward, where people are dis-respecting,
Faisal Bhai don't act here, this is not the first time he uses this attitude, if it was the case I wouldn't have to bother myself and remind him, Have you heared about people who are called Gustakh-e-Rasool ?
take care !

If he really wanna discuss, then do it with full respect as we could, I hope he does NOT call his father by his name, I just assume!
Rab rakha

Point being, that it is us who should be reciting darood when these names are taken, and if someone else is bent upon using the names without any suffix or prefix, it is their own deed and they are responsible for it. You have pointed it out, done your good deed. He has heard you and disagreed. Move on. ...
appreciated !

Point being, that it is us who should be reciting darood when these names are taken, and if someone else is bent upon using the names without any suffix or prefix, it is their own deed and they are responsible for it. You have pointed it out, done your good deed. He has heard you and disagreed. Move on. Lets talk about the topic under discussion. Shall we?

I know what you mean Faisal but our Prophet or His family along with His companions should not be referred as bossom buddies (Naoz o billah). If this site would have been owned by CNN (Cafir News Network) then I could have kept myself quiet to some extent. But if you keep your eyes shut on this matter then you are just nourishing the root cause.

bhaee koi Shia bratheraan ya sisteraan bhi to boleiN. Batayay kay yay itna kiyoN proclaim kartay heiN karbala ko. There are many other martyrs in the history.

Re: Continuation of Hussain's Martyrdom thread

I posted similar views on some other forum and got a very good, balanced reply to it. I think it's worth sharing.

Few points I made in the thread which so conveniently disappeared from here and other forum are:

1- Why these guys flaunt around Hussain and Ali so much? To form a relationship of bloodline to Mohmmad? To come off superior beings?

2- Successors to what? To prophethood? Caliphhood? That doesn't make any sense 'cause it goes against the other teachings of Islam where no one is better than the other based on anything but piety.

3- Even if Mohammad in fact said it, it doesn't make any sense to me. It's seems a very autocrate and monarchist, which is very much against the core spirit of equality as upheld by Islam.

Roman ji,
I do not think that the view you have referenced is abstract. If anything, it’s a view based on historical evidence. Indeed in the aftermath of Kerbala when the prisoners consisting of ladies and young children of the Prophet’s household and the sole male survivor Imam Zainul Abideen were presented to Yazid’s court in Dimishq (presently the Omayya Mosque in Damascus), he taunted them by saying "There was nothing like revelation or prophet hood. On this pretext Bani Hashim wished to befool the people and to rule over them". He said “Victory is from Allah. How sweet revenge is – revenge for Badr and Uhud and for Banu Umayya.”

So for Yazid this was definitely no more than returning to what he would view as his and his family’s rightful glories of pre-Islamic Arabia. He did not believe in Prophet hood. He was taking revenge for battles of the Holy Prophet with Abu Sufyan – the first battles to be fought in the history of Islam. So Yazid’s motive does not really come into the equation, it was a foregone conclusion.

The necessary question is about Hussain. What were Hussain’s motives in taking a stand against Yazid in the way he did, knowing the certain outcome (death) of his doing so? What was his aim? What did he wish to achieve and did he achieve it through self sacrifice? Or was his struggle, in the end, for something he could never achieve?

To answer these questions objectively and without prejudice we have to look back into those forgotten and dark periods of Islamic History we would otherwise prefer to gloss over very quickly (because it shows certain flaws in the system). We have to understand the huge part politics played. The politics of Caliphate, the root cause of differences. To be wholly objective we have to set some standard and apply the criteria to all regardless of rank etc to decide who is/was fit for leadership. That standard has to be neither kinship nor blood but the one quality that is essential for leadership, the quality of knowledge, as stated numerous times in the Quran.

To us, Ali and Hussain are not held in high esteem simply because they are related to the Prophet. We respect them because we believe them to be (as with all of the Imams) Inheritors of Knowledge. Their rightful claim to leadership and superiority is because of their knowledge (piety is based on knowledge). And this is their one fundamental quality no one, friends or enemies can deny.

My apologies for having given only a very very brief outline and sketchy answers. I just don’t have the ability to do justice to such an extensive and sometimes sensitive subject. I hope you can find out the answers to some of the questions.

bhaee koi Shia bratheraan ya sisteraan bhi to boleiN. Batayay kay yay itna kiyoN proclaim kartay heiN karbala ko. There are many other martyrs in the history.

Suffice to say, in revolutionary terms that Kerbala did for Islam and it's reformation what nothing or no one else could.

Continuing with the discussion (I had some free time :D ):

In the historical context, Medina was not the perfect egalitarian society that we all like to believe in so much. Yes, the basic socio-political structure and foundations had been defined by the Prophet of Islam but the ideal creation had not been achieved by the time of the Prophet’s death, which happened only 11 years After Hijrat. The Islamic community was still in its infancy and continuously threatened by wars waged by the enemy, and the people had varying degrees of understanding of Islam, its fundamentals and its principles. To illustrate: Despite the clear ruling that everyone was equal and none had any right above another, there did exist people in Medina who couldn’t bear to see slaves having an equal status. These people were former masters.

Muhammad’s (pbuh) religion was radical. It affected and touched every person, from the oppressed to the oppressor, the weak to the powerful and the poor to the wealthy. It struck at the heart of the tribal socio-political order in place at that time in Arabia. And with its message of slaves and masters being equal, it affected no one more than the wealthy and all-powerful clans of Arabia. Of all the Clans, none was more powerful and influential than the Banu Omayya branch of the Quraysh. Therefore none had greater reason to despise and oppose Muhammad’s message than Banu Omayya.

It was during the bloodless Conquest of Mecca that amnesty was granted to certain individuals of the Omayya family such as Abu Sufyan who waged wars against the Prophet but later (conveniently?) converted to Islam. It was only a few decades after the death of the Prophet that the old orders prevailed and the Banu Omayya dynasty was established by none other than Muawiyah Ibn Abu Sufyan.

We can now ask had there been such a perfect society (including the Companions) in Medina, would the establishment of old orders have come into existence? And most importantly what was the essentially flawed system from which such an establishment (i.e. a Monarchy) came into existence when there was no concept of this system (which was more suited to Caesar and Khusro), in Deen-e-Muhammadi?

Now, leaving those questions aside for a while, let’s discuss the dynamics of Caliphate. How did the Caliphate come about and what was the criterion for becoming a Caliph? Was it really a great democratic system, based upon the consultation of the majority? Or was it, as it seems to someone familiar with history, a great coup occurring at the single most vulnerable time in Islamic History?

Just as the Prophet of God, that noble saviour of mankind was breathing his last in this world, some Ansaars (Helpers) and a few (three actually) Mohajirs (Migrants) including eminent personalities as Abu Bakr and Umar gathered at a place called Saqifah Bani Saidah to decide who would succeed the Prophet. There was no one from Banu Hashim, the Prophet’s family, present at this small out-of-town gathering. Ali, Abbas and the rest of the Hashemites with a few Companions were engaged in the funeral and burial preparations of the Prophet.

Here are the minutes of the meeting at Saqifah - all historically correct:

ANSAARS: We helped the Prophet in his mission. We accepted Islam. We struggled hard for the sake of Islam. So we are entitled to the leadership. We suggest that leadership be given to Sa’ad b. Ubadah (ansaar). [Sa’ad is ill but is still brought to Saqifah]

MOHAJIRS: We are from the same city as the Prophet. We gave up and left everything for the sake of the Prophet and Islam. We are entitled to leadership.

The discussion heats up. The Mohajirs, led by Umar insist everyone pays allegiance to Abu Bakr.

ABU BAKR: Mohajirs were the first to embrace Islam. They were persecuted and tortured by the idolaters but still refused to give up. We (mohajirs) must be the rulers and you (ansaars) the Viziers.

There is a clash between Umar and Hubab b. Al-Mundhir. Hubab refutes Abu Bakr’s claims and says the Ansaar must act to take leadership otherwise it will be taken from them. Umar naturally disagrees and reiterates the claim of leadership of Mohajirs is stronger being the Companions of Muhammad and that they would never accept the rule of Ansaars.

Bashir b. Sa’ad a cousin of Sa’ad b Ubadah addresses his kinsmen stating the Prophet was from Quraysh therefore his successor should be from among them. He supports Umar’s view. Abu Bakr then states his view that allegiance should be given to Umar or Abu Ubaydah upon which Umar replies that Abu Bakr is more worthy of allegiance due to reasons of his being the first to follow the Prophet, his accompanying him in the Cave and also leading the prayers in place of the Prophet.

Abd Rahman b. Awf says the virtues of none in the Ansaar camp can be compared to that of Abu Bakr Umar or Ali. This is taken up by Mundhir Al Aqram and the rest of the Ansaars who shout that they will only give their allegiance to Ali. At this point, seeing the split, Umar asks Abu Bakr to extend his hand and he and Bashir pay allegiance to Abu Bakr. The others follow. Again there is argument between Umar and Sa’ad, who leaves the meeting.

The group proceed to the Mosque of the Prophet and announce Abu Bakr’s leadership. People are told to pay allegiance to Abu Bakr. Because of these affairs, these two eminent Companions could not attend the burial of the Prophet. None of the other well-known Companions such as Talha, Zubair, Abu Dhar, Salman Ubay b Ka’b and Hudhaifa etc were present at Saqifah.

Now, lets say we can excuse the meeting at Saqifah which was taking place as the Prophet was being buried. Let’s suppose and agree with our Sunni brothers and sisters that despite all the mutawaatir hadith and narrations, the Prophet had not appointed a successor during his lifetime and that Ali had no natural right to leadership and successor ship. We will ignore the fact that neither Abu Bakr nor Umar upheld the consultative method when each appointed his successor at his deathbed. We won’t ask on what merit their successors were appointed. Instead let’s see who was more entitled to leadership based upon the criteria set at the Saqifah “consultation”. The criteria was NOT who had most knowledge because if had been, who could deny Ali the claim to leadership when the Prophet had stated numerous times “I am the City of Knowledge and Ali is its Gate”. The single criterion set was that of closeness in relationship to the Prophet. Even in this respect, Ali comes foremost. Even based on this weakest of weak criteria for entitlement to leadership, Ali is way ahead of others.

Ali knew as did everyone else his right to leadership had been trampled upon. He expresses his feelings about this in his famous sermon of Ash-Shiqshiqiyya in Nahjul Balaghah – the collection of Ali’s sermons, letters and words of wisdom. His rightful inheritance (by whatever standard used) was snatched from him and yet he didn’t take a stand to fight to regain what he thought of as being rightfully his, except for not giving his allegiance. After the murder of Uthman, people came to Ali for leadership. Ali refused. They forced him to accept their allegiance, making Allah a witness between them.

It was during his Caliphate Ali had to contend with Muawiyah ibn Abu Sufyan, who during the Caliphate of Uthman had been made governor of Syria and now ruled it as his own independent kingdom, refusing to give allegiance to Ali. Muawiyah revolted against the Caliph Ali and fought battles against him such as that of Siffeen in which prominent Companions like Ammar b. Yassir were killed. It was during this era Ali moved his centre of governance from Medina to Kufa, Iraq. As Dr Shariati states at this time, “Ali was all alone”. From one side he was facing attack from Muawiyah and the other was dissension from within his own ranks, from the Kharijites, the same people had forced their allegiance upon him and now accused him of being a disbeliever (naozobillah). In the end it was a Khariji, Ibn Muljim who murdered Ali while Ali was engaged in prayer.

Muawiyah declared himself to be the Caliph and declared the year to be the Year of the Jama’ah (Year of Majority), coining the word Ahl As Sunnah wa’l Jama’ah meaning the Party of the Majority and considered Shias (Followers) of Ali to be rivals. He however knew after Ali the rightful claim to leadership was Hassan Ibn Ali’s. He knew too that a majority of people recognised Hassan’s legitimate claim to leadership and therefore wrote a peace treaty which Hassan accepted with conditions. One of the conditions was that Muawiyah could not declare his son Yazid as his successor. Hassan was subsequently poisoned in Medina. Hussain the brother of Hassan and son of Ali also lived in Medina, the city of his Holy Grandfather. It wasn’t long before Muawiyah knew he was on his death bed. In deliberate contravention of his treaty, he appointed Yazid as his successor. And thus from the inherently flawed system of Saqeefah, Yazid b. Muawiyah b. Abu Sufyan of the Omayya lineage became the Caliph, the “Ameerul Momineen” of the Muslim nation-states. A lamentable state of affairs, a black day in the history of Islam.

continued...

Muawiyah was an accomplished and shrewd politician. Before he died, he sought and was given the oath of allegiance of well-known and influential people (with the exception of 4 of the most influential people) to his son Yazid. However he did instruct Yazid NOT to ask for the oath of allegiance of Hussain ibn Ali and not to pursue the matter of Hussain’s non-allegiance. Muawiyah correctly foresaw the end of the Omayya dynasty as the consequence of asking for allegiance just as he knew for sure that by not demanding allegiance, Hussain would continue to live quietly, imparting his knowledge in Medina as he had done so in the years after his brother Hassan’s death, during Muawiyah’s rule and that he would not take any stand against them. We can reach the conclusion that had Yazid not threatened and forced Hussain for allegiance, perhaps Hussain would not have taken a stand against him.

Why was the allegiance of Hussain so necessary for Yazid? This oath was customary to show one’s acceptance of the legitimacy of the ruler. It was binding contract. If anyone broke the agreement after taking the oath they were dishonourable and traitors. Hussain as the rightful successor of the Prophet would not, actually could not accept and give his stamp of approval to the leadership of someone so vile as Yazid who flaunted his disregard for Islamic laws and beliefs and who indulged in indecencies and every haraam act openly, presenting every haraam as halaal and finally having the nerve to claim to be the rightful Caliph, the Leader of Muslim Ummah. Yazid stood for everything that was against Islam.

As soon as Muawiyah died, Yazid told the Governor of Medina to demand allegiance from Hussain and if he refused, to have his head. Hussain asked for a day’s leave. The following night, the 28th of Rajab, Hussain with the women and children and men of his family, the Banu Hashim left Medina for Mecca. He stayed in Mecca for 4 months, until the month of Hajj where he got news that Yazid’s mercenaries, disguised as pilgrims were sent to kill him. To avoid his blood being spilled in the most holiest of cities he left Mecca on the day of Hajj and proceeded to Kufah where people were insisting they needed him and were ready to accept him as their leader. He sent his cousin Muslim b Aqeel as his deputy to Kufah. Yazid through his Governor Ibn Ziyad declared a state of curfew in Kufah and murdered Muslim.

During this time, Hussain and his caravan had reached the desert land of Ninevah/Kerbala, some 70 miles from Kufah, in Iraq where he was intercepted by Yazid’s army of 10, 000 led by HuR (who on the 10th of Muharam defected to Hussain’s small camp). Hussain was informed he could not travel to Kufah and he could not return to Mecca or Medina. It was to be either his allegiance or his head. For the following days reinforcements of Yazid’s army kept on arriving. Hussain had not come for battle and this is proven by the fact that he brought the women and children of his family with him. If a person has the intention to go war, he brings armed men, not women and children. Hussain took every chance to inform the people about the truth of the Prophet’s message. He reminded people of his Holy and noble lineage because these Muslims had regressed to the extent that they only recognised the pre-Islamic Arab way of leadership based upon tribal and family ancestry and didn’t recognise his claim to leadership on the basis of his knowledge and piety. Even the fact that Hussain’s 18-year old son Ali Akbar was the exact copy of the Prophet in mannerisms and features didn’t move these Muslims and by slaughtering Ali Akbar they symbolically slaughtered the Prophet and destroyed his message.

So was Hussain’s fight just for the glories of the crown? Was his stand against Yazid just so that he could get the leadership of the Muslims which was rightfully his, when earlier both he himself, his brother and father had NOT fought for it? In the light of historical evidence presented, it seems utterly naïve, foolish even to think that Hussain’s struggle was for power, for something which for him was beneath his dignity. Hussain didn’t have to fight for leadership when he WAS already the recognised and undisputed leader. It was just that those who claimed to be the leaders felt they had to struggle against and kill Hussain to get their 5 minutes of corrupted power.

The ONLY reason Hussain stood up to fight Yazid at Kerbala instead of giving his allegiance was, to save the Message of his Grandfather, the Holy Prophet of Islam, to save Islam in its original form. This was not only the Message of the Prophet, this was the Message of Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus…the message of the 124, 000 Messengers (peace be upon them all) who were sent throughout the course of Human history for guidance. It is for this reason when we Shias read Ziyarat, we bear witness that Hussain was the successor of Adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, Jesus and Muhammad (pbut) and the guardian of their message, which has always been the same. This is the real and actual significance of Kerbala. Kerbala was the benchmark for humanity versus inhumanity. But ultimately it was the battleground between Believers, who stood for the Message of God and Disbelievers who stood against. By accepting temporary defeat and annihilation, Hussain ensured the message lived on.

At the next stage, it was the elderly and bereaved but spirited sister of Hussain, Zainab and his son and successor Ali Zainul Abideen (4th Imam, also known as Sajjad) who as prisoners with rest of Hussain’s womenfolk and children (Zainul Abideen was the only male survivor), taken from Kerbala to Kufah, the court of Ibn Ziyad and then from Kufah to Damascus, the court of Yazid, used these courts as platforms to remove the misconceptions of the people and to continue the propagation of the Message. In the streets and courts of Kufah, where she once lived, where her father Ali once ruled, Zainab with her powerful and moving speeches stunned the people who had come to witness and to throw stones at the parade of prisoners who they had been told were “traitors” and “the enemy of the state”. Such an effect did she and her nephew have that Ibn Ziyad fearing imminent revolt of the people sent the prisoners to Yazid, in Damascus. Yet again Zainab and Sajjad in Yazid’s court continued to spread the truth and called Muslims to Islam. People were shocked to realise the Grandson of the Prophet had been killed, the Household of the Prophet wiped out and that too in such a brutal manner. They could not understand how this tragedy could have happened.

In the short run this had the effect that Yazid couldn’t keep them prisoners for long and released the ladies children and Zainul Abideen, allowing them to return to Medina within 6 months to a year (some reports state it was earlier) due to the huge public pressure and outcry. Zainul Abideen spent his remaining years in devotion and worship and in educating people through prayer. His book of prayer compilations is known as Sahifa Sajjadiyya.

In the long run there were shock waves throughout the Ummah which was jolted from its slumber and apathy and waves of revolts took place under the slogan of avenging the murder of Hussain. This effectively sealed the fate of Banu Omayya and led to its downfall. Under the same slogan of “the Caliphate belongs to none but Hussain and the Prophet’s Family”, the Banu Abbas (Abbasids) rose to overthrow and challenge the Omayya claim to leadership, staking their own claim, again whilst knowing full well the rightful leadership was someone else’s. While the Omayya and Abbasis were locked in the power struggle, the rightful leaders, the 5th and 6th Imams, Mohammad Al Baqir and J’afar As Sadiq, relatively free from the interference of rulers established and educated at the great Dar-ul-Uloom the first Centre of Learning in Medina, with subject such as Mathematics, Science, Optics, Philosophy, Theology Usool etc of which J’afar’s famous students and luminaries include Malik b Anas, Abu Hanifa, the founder of Hanafi fiqh and Jabir b Hayyan (renowned as Geber in the Weat), the famous scientist and from whom Algebra is derived.

Once the Abbasids had established themselves as “Caliphs”, they turned their attention towards the real inheritors and leaders of the Muslims and feeling threatened by their presence, persecuted them and their followers with keeping close guard, house arrests, long periods of imprisonments etc so much so that from the 7th Imam to the 11th, all were killed in one way or another on instructions of Abbasid Caliphs.

From Zainul Abideen to the 11th Imam Hasan Askari, none revolted or backed any revolt among the many (of these independent revolts later led to the establishment of the Fatimid dynasty in North Africa, including Egypt) which were occurring as a dominoes effect sort of backlash to the events of Kerbala. They always commemorated the death of Imam Hussain at Kerbala during Muharram and always busied themselves with the task of teaching and imparting knowledge of Islam and always followed the Character of the Holy Prophet and upheld his Sunnah. True to their inheritance, they were always THE most knowledgeable and authoritative persons of their time. Once again all this goes to prove that Hussain’s stand at Kerbala was for something much more than to simply try and get back his rightful inheritance of leadership from Yazid.

SHIA NON-POLITICAL HISTORY:

Intertwined into the political mesh is the history of the Shia or Follower of Ali. Throughout history rulers and Caliphs have felt threatened by them. The cruel oppression of those who those upheld the rightful claim of leadership to be Ali’s and his descendents is no less significant in making history and its relevance today cannot be denied.

There’s a proverb in the Persian language something along the lines of “Either avoid meeting a Sayyad on the street or say your goodbyes for you will never be seen again”. It was a superstitious proverb but with a basis in reality. Under the years of oppression it was generally considered bad luck to meet a Sayyad. For Sayyad’s were the descendents of Fatima, through the Imams (Hassani, Zaidi, J’afari, Rizvi, Kazmi, Naqvi :blush: to name a few) and were naturally considered to be Shias. They were persecuted and killed relentlessly. Therefore if anyone had contact with them, they too automatically became suspect in the views of the ruling authority.

These were the periods and circumstances in which Taqiyya was practised – hiding their true faith in order to survive. The effect of taqiyya, especially for Sayyads was that for those who were originally Shia, their generations became Sunni, although some probably carried out Shia specific practices as family traditions only. Even in my own family, just three generations away my great grandfather, a simple zameendaar, alongwith his family were practising Hanafi Sunnis although every year they did commemorate Muharram with matam and aza e Hussain. I suspect this was a traditional practice, retained from earlier generations. Even today, Sunni Sayyads will have an overwhelmingly Shia or Shia-influenced backgrounds.

Shia theology and philosophy was revived and flourished again when the Safavid and Qajar dynasties in Iran accepted and adopted the Ja’afri (Twelver) Shia School of Thought or Madhab as the official state faith and incorporated it into their already rich cultural and traditional background. Arts, literature and dramatics, already the hallmarks of the advanced Persian society now incorporated Shia ideology.

When Iranian Monarchs moved into the Subcontinent, there was an exchange of ideas, cultures and customs and of Shia-influenced ideology. By the 17th to 19th Century, Hyderabad-Deccan and especially Lucknow were firmly established as centres of Shia learning and theology, rivalling those in Iraq. Again Shia faith was included and expressed in literature, culture and local adaib with people like Mir Anees who mostly wrote religious poetry Marthiyah and Nohas exemplifying excellence, as did Ghalib even though his poetry wasn’t too religiously inclined. In Punjab, some Shias/Sayyads that were either exiled or in self-exile in the vast wild Punjabi lands mostly around Multan preferred the simple Sufi-dervaish-malang lifestyle. They imparted their faith using local channels, especially Punjabi poetry, which the locals could pick up with ease and with a lot of references to the “5 Panjatans”, “the rightful 12” and the “purified 14”.

Beautiful piece of writing , amazing :k:

Thank You for sharing