HP TouchPad - WebOS

Re: HP TouchPad - WebOS

Are they still available somewhere. I dont mind paying up to %50 above $99 or $149 price.

I had to pull teeth to get 1. Hopefully i’ll score another by next week. Eid gifts!

Ahemm. I am sure from this time onwards LC is going to pay more attention to what I say rather than throwing “Apple Fan boy” label at me :smiley:

$499 tablet ending up selling for $99 dollars which clearly shows that the only way of competing with Apple is to keep your prices much lower than IPAD

TLK: 1
LC : 0

Btw, I am wondering at those wannabee business tycoons who are trying to sell their 16 GB touch pads on craigslist for 300 plus. For $280, I can buy an “as good as new” IPAD 1 from craiglist. Why would I pay $300 for the product that its own manufacture ditched.

Lol, I actually have heard rumors that because of such a good sales week or so HP may decide to start up production again.

I’m ofcourse going to root it and boot Android on it as soon as its available, but so far so good.

A repeat of such sales require the same low price which is only going to validate my point further. :smiley:

We get ur point TLK. Ab bache ki jaan lo ge kya?

yaar. eik to kabhi kabhi LC se behes main victory milti hai mujhay. Ab itne arse baad mili hai to oos pe bhee ap khush nahi dekh sakte mujhe.

:slight_smile:

BTW, as soon as the Android port on TouchPad is complete my iPad is going bye byes. Let me know if you are interested in a “good as new” item.

throw me the price. I want to buy 2 more tablets in near future.

TLK bhai. HP ki marketing team WebOS ko bech nahi paa rahi hai. market main apple nay pehaly hi competition kiya howa hai. HP guys are forced to sell them. I dont see any technical support from HP in near futre for webos.

The same Palm team is still supporting WebOS and will continue for the forseeable future. Its better than Google support. You want a phone number?

i already have android phone, and i dont need to buy webos.

A N D R O I D R O C K C S

I was just saying to not badnaam-o-fy companies, befazool. When one jumps to conclusions like that one sounds like Fox news

how about the new apps? Any tablet is useless in given time if no one is developing new apps for it and I dont see that happening for WebOS. Point in case is Iphone 2g. A pretty useless device for all that matters as there are many new IOS apps that dont support that old phone.

New apps are actually being published as we speak.

then it should be ok I guess

I think everyone has a misunderstanding. HP did a big booboo with their press release last week when they declared to discontinue TouchPad. What they “meant to say” was that they are not going to stay in the business of producing hardware and sell TouchPads. Their intention is to license out the OS to third party vendors. Sort of in the same way that Google is distributing their Android platform (the current bid to Moto notwithstanding).

WebOS is going to go on for the forseeable future. Although the bungling announcement didn’t help the platform any.

HP also announced that they’re getting rid of their PC business. But again that wasn’t their intended message. They are considering various options for the PC business. It could end up being a spin off company and get an entity of its own. One of the pundits suggested maybe they call it ‘Compaq’. :smiley:

TB: congratz on completion 8k and providing valuable input to IT users.

haha man - you need to get your facts right… HP had a firesale because of the CEO announcing their exit from the tablet/PC business… I’ve written extensively on this on Twitter and my blog so we can have a long discussion of whether this was a good decision or not.

I’m still using a $399 Android tablet that I absolutely love and it’s still selling strong (2nd best in sales after the iPad). I also still have faith in the playbook, and still say that an iPad isn’t the holy grail of tablets - it satisfies your needs, but not everyone’s.

Mod News: CyanogenMod 7 (Android) is making a big headway in porting their OS version to TouchPad. They’ve been able to boot the device and gotten the multi-touch working on the hardware already. Target date is mid October for the full fledged version of CM7 for Touchpad.